We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 Days in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hayfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Baytown, Texas
Level Contributor
185 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“7 Days in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We arrive at the Hayfield Manor Hotel in a car. We were meet by the door man who made you feel very welcome to hotel. The service at the front desk was very good. Our room was not available yet since we arrived early. The hotel grabbed the bags labeled them informed us they would be in our room later when we returned. The grounds are beautiful with al the flowers and trees.
We had breakfast the next morning and it was cooked to order. There fresh fruits and breads were very tasty.

The location is a little walk to town but not bad. The area is safe very easy walk. You can also catch a bus near hotel to town also. There is lots of signs to assist when walking in the city of Cork
The hotel is beautiful inside also

Room Tip: The room we stay in was on left side of the hotel we had very quite room no problems. If there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texantraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest texantraveler42,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently, and thank you also for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am pleased to read that you felt very welcome on arriving to Hayfield Manor; we like to ensure that our guests feel like our home is there’s during their stay. I would like to thank you also for your lovely comments regarding our hotel grounds. I am thrilled that although we are located in the city, once you drive through the gates the city is soon forgotten.

I very much hope that I shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,299
    344
    94
    27
    15
See reviews for
558
1,456
71
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This wonderful hotel is hidden in the middle of cork city, when we arrived in this homely reception area we were greeted by a lovely lady she checked us in and our room was stately decorated and lovely amenities. We have been coming to Hayfeild for a number of years and love the changes over the years. Beautiful hotel looking at dates to return.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bawnnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest Bawnnew,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review, and for choosing to stay with us recently.

It is always a pleasure to welcome back valued regular guests such as yourself and to continuously receive such wonderful reviews from you. Without the support of our regulars we wouldn't be able to continually strive to exceed the expectations of our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor for many more visits to come.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hayfield Manor while on a golfing trip. I was very impressed by the quality of the accommodations and especially by the service. All of the employees were extremely courteous and professional. I am use to modern large hotels in the big cities. Hayfield Manor was something different for my group. I especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet and also sampled the lunch and dinner. Our stay was flawless. And I have to mention the free wi if was fantastic. I was able to stream live baseball games while in bed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank paulcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest paulcoop,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and for indeed choosing to stay with us recently at Hayfield Manor whilst on a golfing trip.

It was delightful to read through your review. I am pleased to read that although our hotel wouldn’t be to the same criteria to which you are accustomed to, you thoroughly enjoyed your break all the same.

I hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor again, hopefully in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

What an amazing stay! We stayed at Hayfield Manor based on the TripAdvisor rating, and could not be more pleased. The staff was outstanding, and went out of their way at every turn to make sure our stay was comfortable and memorable. We were traveling with another couple, and the men arrived very late (after midnight) on the day we checked in. They went above and beyond to get them a light (very delicious) meal from the kitchen even at that late hour. I would definitely recommend anyone visiting Cork to stay at this lovely, well-maintained, wonderful hotel and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guest Pat E,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing to stay with us at Hayfield Manor and also for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am delighted to know that you could not have been more pleased with your recent stay with us. I would like to thank you kindly for your high praise of our team; it is exceptionally rewarding to receive such high recognition.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed in Hayfield Manor Hotel as we toured Ireland. During our trip we stayed at several properties and Hayfield was one of our favorites. Our stay there could not have been better. The hotel is lovely, very comfortable and very well maintained. The staff is professional, attentive and friendly. Our room was clean, well appointed and very spacious. We had dinner one evening in the Orchid restaurant and one evening in Perrots Garden Bistro. The Orchid restaurant is fine dining without being stuffy. The atmosphere in the restaurant is elegant but relaxed. Our meal in the Bistro was casual and simpler, but very well done. Both meals were delicious, the prices were very reasonable and the service was excellent. We liked the location of the hotel, near to city sights, but tucked away from the noise and busyness of the city. The hotel has a lovely spa and garden and plenty of places to relax and read or visit with friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaandElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest EmmaandElle,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing to stay with us recently at Hayfield Manor and also for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay so immensely. Thank you for your very kind praise of all aspects of our hotel. I am delighted to know that Hayfield Manor was one of your favourite locations during your stay in Ireland.

I sincerely hope that should you return to Ireland, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Irland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast offer for one night. The hotel is located in the treelined hills of Cork city so you feel as though you are in the countryside. It is a beautiful hotel that feels more like a country manor. The service is exceptional, the bed was like sleeping on feathers. We spent our afternoon lazying about and taking advantage of the pool and outdoor hot tub. Followed by a delicious and romantic dinner and cocktails in the bar. The next day we feasted on a hearty breakfast of locally sourced produce. We left feeling revived and completely relaxed.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAM2180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest SAM2180,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review our hotel.

It was a pleasure to read through your review. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our hotel, especially our service, location and cuisine. It is always a pleasure to receive such wonderful recognition from our guests.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor again, hopefully very soon.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel based on a recommendation from the Irish Independent and the reviews I read on Tripadvisor. I was expecting there to be a large walled garden based on the reviews, however, there was not, it was tiny - tiny but nice at the same time. The location does not allow it to be bigger. The hotel itself is lovely and looks so pretty on the outside and indeed it is pretty and opulent on the inside. I stayed in a junior suite so I was really expecting it to be breath taking and it really was not. It was larger than a normal room and within the same area was two steps up where there was a table and two chairs. With the exception of the two steps I cant see what would be different from other rooms. Oh bed was fantastic. There was also a coffee machine that you had to set up. The room was nice but nothing spectacular.
What was spectacular though was the service and the attention we received. From the second we pulled up- we were waited on- valet parking and luggage taken- nice touch. Shown to the room and within a few minutes a call to make sure all was ok. Service at dinner and drinks was very good. Dinner itself was a tad disappointing- we had it in Orchids restaurant and I wish we went to the bistro instead. I had scallops, duck and passion fruit mousse. My friend had salmon, pork belly and cheese board. The one thing i could say was truly lovely was the cheese board. I found the meals to be extremely small. Breakfast on the other hand was lovely.
The spa area was very nice, the pool lovely and the hot tub outside was lovely. Towels were not plentiful and we had to wait for someone to come to reception to get a towel as ours got wet. This was rather annoying - we actually had to use the phone to get someone to come to us. Perhaps they had left out enough towels but with ours getting wet they probably thought they had left out enough.
Overall, a lovely hotel in the city but I cant help but wonder if it's style over substance. If this hotel was half the price it would get 5 stars as I wouldn't have expected so much but because of it's price tag I was expecting great things.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view- my room was looking at roof tops despite it been a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear mjc_10,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review our hotel.

Firstly I was delighted to learn that you were pleased with our service, our décor and our spa facilities. I will be certain to forward your kind words to the entire team, and I am sure that they will be delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay overall.

I was quite disheartened, however, to learn that you were not so pleased with your junior suite. We have a number of junior suites in the hotel, and no two are exactly alike in style, as each is individually designed and decorated, although I would like to clarify that each junior suite would have additional amenities including a Nespresso machine and a separate relaxation area which are not standard in our Manor or Superior rooms. Had we been aware of your dissatisfaction at the time, we would have been delighted to offer you an alternative that was more to your liking, and I do apologise sincerely for any inconvenience caused.

I am also very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of our walled garden. As we are located in the city centre, we are regrettably not in a position to extend our grounds at present. We are however always delighted to recommend the lovely grounds in the University next to us to any guests who wish to take in a scenic stroll, as well as other walks around the city. I am very sorry indeed for your disappointment, and I do hope that it did not detract from your overall opinion of our hotel.

I would also like to apologise for your disappointment in the quality of your meal in Orchids Restaurant. Please be assured that I will be meeting with our Head Chef to discuss your feedback, and I hope that on your next visit you will see a marked improvement in our cuisine.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor again in the future, and I would be most grateful if you could contact me directly when you plan to return to Cork, so that I can personally oversee your visit and ensure that you receive the full five star standard of service for which we are renowned.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayfield Manor Hotel

Property: Hayfield Manor Hotel
Address: Perrott Avenue | College Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cork
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#1 Family Hotel in Cork
#1 Green Hotel in Cork
#2 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hayfield Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located alongside the historic University College Cork, Hayfield Manor is set on a backdrop of two-acre of beautiful mature gardens and is just a pleasant stroll to the heart of Cork city. The charming coastal towns of Kinsale and Cobh and the world famous Blarney Castle are a short and scenic journey from the hotel. Residents of Hayfield Manor experience true Irish hospitality with staff dedicated to providing individual & memorable service along with every modern comfort. Spacious bedrooms have been individually designed with elegant marble bathrooms and relaxation space. Residents enjoy exclusive access to The Beautique Spa. The hotel offers two award-winning and distinctive restaurants: Orchids Restaurant specializes in fine Irish cuisine served with great sophistication and the vibrant Perrotts Bistro features Mediterranean and worldwide specialties. No stay in Cork would be complete without sampling the cuisine and levels of service that have earned Hayfield Manor a raft of accolades and titles including the Conde Nast Traveler Gold List, Hotel & Catering 5 Star Hotel of the Year, Georgina Campbell's Ireland Hotel of the Year, Irish Golf Hotel of the Year, AA Irish Hotel of the Year as well as an RAC Gold Ribbon Award for Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hayfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayfield Manor Cork
Hotel Hayfield Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing