We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?”
Review of University Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
University Hall
Ranked #5 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Cork
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The staff are beyond helpful, the price is unbeatable. Yes the room is sparse, but it's a room, private bath, shared kitchen, super affordable. The staff apparently doesn't understand the meaning of the word "no." Ten minute walk to downtown, one minute from a bus stop.

Room Tip: Ask for flat 3 or 4, away from the front door which is kind of loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed there for two nights and would not recommend this place for solo travellers. I shared the flat with a married couple who occupied the living area in the evenings and they made clear they didn't want to be disturbed when watching tv, so I could not really use the living area. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful - thanks again for your help with the bus ticket - but it took more than four hours to get clean bedding because the bed had not been made before I arrived which was quite disgusting with other people's hair on the linen. And I had to make the bed on my own, nobody helped me with that. Although the bathroom was quite clean the toilet would have needed a good cleaning, all in all it seemed they did not spend too much time on housekeeping. It's reasonable accomodation when travelling with a large family or group, otherwise maybe you should spend some extra Euros on a B&B or hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doubletrouble10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Had a lovely few days in Cork staying in the Cork University halls of residence. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to self cater and do your own thing. Yes, they are basic flats without much character accommodating different numbers of people but would be perfect if travelling in a group. I went solo but my sleeping room was huge with a comfy double bed and very spacious bathroom and shower. There was quite a lot of traffic noise from the busy road which my room faced but this wasn’t a problem as I am a heavy sleeper though if not, I think this would bother some people. The communal living area (which was shared by one other room in my apartment) had a comfortable seating area, dining table, TV and fully equipped kitchen – microwave, full cooker with grill and oven, toaster, kettle, large fridge/freezer and plenty of cooking utensils and pots. These halls are a bit out from the centre of the city but the 208 bus stops right outside and it’s only a 10 minute ride into town – would recommend a day ticket for €4.60 – or you could walk (about 20 minutes). I had a problem with the lock on my door one night and the very friendly staff attended to it straight away. Overall, I thought this accommodation was great value for money at €35 per night and my only “complaint” is that it’s only open in the summer. I’ll just have to wait till next year to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BogsideBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Good value accommodation. Just what I was after. Basic but clean and contained everything I needed. Towels and bedding were provided and bed very comfy. I didn't pay for the breakfast so I can't comment on that. The kitchen comes fully equipped with utensils, crockery, pots and pans as well as complimentary tea and coffee. Campus very quiet as University holidays are currently on. 30 mins walks into town. Ensuite bedroom. Would definitely recommend. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelyharry12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Stayed here over the August Bank Holiday. Very reasonably priced and delighted to be upgraded from our original 3 bedroom booking due to problems with a burst pipe.
The apartments are ideally located near the city centre and also reasonably close to the motorway. Bedrooms are basic but most are en-suite. Kitchen facilities are adequate with all requirements there for cooking.
Beds are very uncomfortable. Only one bedroom has a very small double bed, all other rooms are single beds. A 4 bedroom apartment sleeps 5 people maximum. Campus can be quite noisy with drunk students falling around at 3 and 4 in the morning. Seems to be little in the way of supervision of the buildings at this time. We were given the keys to an already occupied apartment when we arrived then eventually upgraded to larger apartments only to be moved the next morning to what was our original apartment!! Dissapointed with this and the staff's lack of concern about it as all this messing around consumed about 4 hours of our very limited holiday time.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less likely to disturbance from revelling students.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ferrari1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Funcional con buen relacion calidad precio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cesar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Country House B@b
#9 of 21 in Cork
3 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Hall

Address: Victoria Cross, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Sunday's Well
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Cork
Price Range: £154 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UCC University hall is a beautiful development, built in 2006 and comprises 3,4 and 5 bed modern ensuite apartments. They are all only a 10 minute walk from University College Cork, and a short bus journey from Cork city centre. The complex can cater for groups up to 180 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your University Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing