We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“right price nice individual rooms”
Review of University Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
University Hall
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Cork
Entroncamento, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“right price nice individual rooms”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just stayed here for 2 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment. It was perfect for us as I wanted kitchen and laundry facilities. We had apartment 221... and it was great as we heard no sounds. The view was fantastic. Everything was clean and worked. Room with lot of space.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vascomcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
1
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The apartments were fine, no real complaints, beds were comfy, staff were friendly, location is good. Wouldn't suit romantic weekend away, but perfect for friends goin away together. Overall grand experience. The photographs on booking web site must be old photographs as the apartments are not as new as I seen.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We recently stayed here on a family & friends trip, 5 adults 3 kids.
5 bedrooms in the apartment we stayed in, they were all spotless, each with a window so it was as airy as you would like.
The kitchen/living room area was plenty big with all appliances functioning well.
This was a great idea to stay here as it meant we were all together and the kids could play together without any hassle.
The apartment was quiet and very comfortable, staff were very friendly.
This was an unbelivably inexpensive night away and we were sorry we hadn't booked it for the 2 nights we were in Cork as we couldn't get a refund from the hotel we had booked into the night before we stayed here.

I would stay here again & again.
Really nice chinese take away around the corner too which was delicious and inexpensive.
A supermarket on the corner which was very handy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murty25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The staff are beyond helpful, the price is unbeatable. Yes the room is sparse, but it's a room, private bath, shared kitchen, super affordable. The staff apparently doesn't understand the meaning of the word "no." Ten minute walk to downtown, one minute from a bus stop.

Room Tip: Ask for flat 3 or 4, away from the front door which is kind of loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed there for two nights and would not recommend this place for solo travellers. I shared the flat with a married couple who occupied the living area in the evenings and they made clear they didn't want to be disturbed when watching tv, so I could not really use the living area. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful - thanks again for your help with the bus ticket - but it took more than four hours to get clean bedding because the bed had not been made before I arrived which was quite disgusting with other people's hair on the linen. And I had to make the bed on my own, nobody helped me with that. Although the bathroom was quite clean the toilet would have needed a good cleaning, all in all it seemed they did not spend too much time on housekeeping. It's reasonable accomodation when travelling with a large family or group, otherwise maybe you should spend some extra Euros on a B&B or hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doubletrouble10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Had a lovely few days in Cork staying in the Cork University halls of residence. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to self cater and do your own thing. Yes, they are basic flats without much character accommodating different numbers of people but would be perfect if travelling in a group. I went solo but my sleeping room was huge with a comfy double bed and very spacious bathroom and shower. There was quite a lot of traffic noise from the busy road which my room faced but this wasn’t a problem as I am a heavy sleeper though if not, I think this would bother some people. The communal living area (which was shared by one other room in my apartment) had a comfortable seating area, dining table, TV and fully equipped kitchen – microwave, full cooker with grill and oven, toaster, kettle, large fridge/freezer and plenty of cooking utensils and pots. These halls are a bit out from the centre of the city but the 208 bus stops right outside and it’s only a 10 minute ride into town – would recommend a day ticket for €4.60 – or you could walk (about 20 minutes). I had a problem with the lock on my door one night and the very friendly staff attended to it straight away. Overall, I thought this accommodation was great value for money at €35 per night and my only “complaint” is that it’s only open in the summer. I’ll just have to wait till next year to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BogsideBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Good value accommodation. Just what I was after. Basic but clean and contained everything I needed. Towels and bedding were provided and bed very comfy. I didn't pay for the breakfast so I can't comment on that. The kitchen comes fully equipped with utensils, crockery, pots and pans as well as complimentary tea and coffee. Campus very quiet as University holidays are currently on. 30 mins walks into town. Ensuite bedroom. Would definitely recommend. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelyharry12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,510 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,168 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
756 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Hall

Property: University Hall
Address: Victoria Cross, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Sunday's Well
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — University Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UCC University hall is a beautiful development, built in 2006 and comprises 3,4 and 5 bed modern ensuite apartments. They are all only a 10 minute walk from University College Cork, and a short bus journey from Cork city centre. The complex can cater for groups up to 180 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your University Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing