We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spent Just a Short Time There”

St. Peter and Paul's Church
Ranked #11 of 148 things to do in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
315 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Spent Just a Short Time There”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Some people like cathedrals and others think they all look alike. I like to visit cathedrals and see the artistic touches that the artisans created through out the ages of each cathedral's existence. St. Peter & St. Paul's cathedral held many beautiful carved wooden angels which I thought were very nice. Of course, each cathedral has is own large stained glass window and its own unique pipe organ. SP&SP was no different, and it was still a treat for me to see the stained glass and organ pipes.

Because we arrived into Cork quite late in the day, our tour of the city was abbreviated, as was the time we spent in SP & SP cathedral. We were only inside the building about 10 minutes. I would like to have stayed about a half hour to get more photos. My rating might be higher if I had been able to stay longer and see more.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank klkks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    49
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

It really is a must on a visit to Cork If you happen to be there on a Sunday Mass is celebrated in Irish and also in Latin

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank edBarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork,
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Although they wer just locking the gates they agreed to open for just a few minutes. A half hour later we had to remind them that we were holding them over their normal hours. They smiled and showed us more and gave us a booklet for which there is normally a charge. The architecture and the woodwork should not be missed if you are in the area. I love going there and I bring all my visitors there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nicest church in Cork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Anybody with an interest in churches should not leave Cork city without a visit. It has no grand entrance but once ionside one will be amazed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MKxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“St Peter & Paul's church-just off Patrick St(main street), Cork”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

It is surprising to see it for the first time ...a relatively modest exterior of Cork white limestone and Cork red sandstone-the city colours) right in the center of the city.............................it is a beautiful mid Victorian Catholic church with excellent carved wood figures all the way to the elaborate alter. An airy cool interior

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Celtq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Peter and Paul's Church also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to St. Peter and Paul's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing