We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel that is a great value”
Review of Hotel Isaacs Cork

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Isaacs Cork
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Our budget was mid-range and we found this hotel via all things that are the internet. Gotta say - We loved it! From the first telephone contact with staff until when we said good-bye our stay was just delightful!


The staff were wonderful - with a big shout out to Jeremy who was FANTASTIC to us - making sure every thing in our room was right, our days in Cork and the surrounding area were exciting, our dinner and evening choices were wide and varied and even that our clothes were sent out and returned from the laundry. He always made us laugh and gave us ideas of places to go and see that we had not known of or thought to visit. The hotel had every bus line, train and coach information right on hand to include time tables, cost and where they would pick us up and how to get to the pick up spot, And loads of information, to include personal accounts, of all the surrounding sites to see and places to visit. Just stellar.

From the moment we walked up to this enchanting courtyard with the patio tables nestled under a cascading waterfall we were charmed. Then dinner at Green's restaurant came that first night - it was incredible. We were seated at the window over looking the waterfall. The food was some of the best we have had; the Chef is renowned as one of Cork's best. The lovely, elegant bar just off the lobby next to Greens was also a great place to unwind after all day site-seeing and before the pub crawls.

And then there is just that - the pub crawls, the locale. Right out the front door and just several steps in each direction were 5 pubs we loved! All of which had their different flavors and styles, all of which on one night or the other (and in one case every night!) had local musician's playing Irish music and singing Irish songs. An utter delight. Also just outside the doors of Isaacs and a half a block to the right is a car rental business, a market, a FANTASTIC coffee house, a phenomenal dinner bistro (Star Anise) and a killer art/craft and fabric store (3 floors of art supply delights!). We could have just never left this block ---- but we did!

We were two, single mid-aged women visiting Ireland and as such shared a room that had two twin beds. Our room was clean, looked down upon onto the waterfall courtyard, wifi available, in-room safe, hair dryer, coffee, TV/cable, ample drawers and closet and hangers, extra pillows and blankets. AND hotel clients have access to the large fitness center and indoor swimming pool across the street - (as a swimmer, I loved that!). All the comforts of a nice home base. Was it a 5 star Ritz hotel room? No, but we did not book a 5-star Ritz hotel room because our budget was not of that caliber. (It bugs me when reviewers complain about not getting 5-star accommodations when they didn’t bother to book or pay for 5 star – ugh!). We got great bang for our buck here. In fact we think it was a fabulous hotel and an exceptional value.

We WILL return to Hotel Isaac - no need for us to look for any other place to stay while in Cork City.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nasquilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is a nice hotel with friendly staff. I think it has disimproved since a visit last year. Windows in room were grubby and to park the car you had to park, go in and collect the key, drive around to the church carpark then return key. You have to go through the same rigmarole when you want to drive your car back out. There must be a better system in this day and age. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drjackyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights over weekend. Best of all its only a 5 min walk from main train station (Kent) and across the bridge from the main bus terminal (both are 5 min walk between each other). Receptionist very nice as most Irish are. Room 108 was big with double and a single bed which I was not expecting. The rooms looks a but dated now but it has lots of character. They really should replace those big tv's with some LCD flat screens which would make a big difference.
My room was facing the side of the hotel so I did not hear any noise from outside. There is a hotel opposite as well as a theatre and a nice pub - very friendly staff.

I didn't bother with having breakfast as I prefer to go to a cafe and its cheaper too. The hotel should just include the breakfast with the price as most hotels in Europe do this.

The hotel is just across the bridge where all the main bars are. I didn't hang around the city centre much as I was in Cobh for both days (recommended!). Cork City is just like a mini Dublin with a river running through both cities - in fact I could not tell the difference, both have lots of pubs and main shopping centres.

Overall I would recommend the hotel for its proximity to everything and the price is very reasonable for what you get.

Tip from airport - Take the local Bus outside the airport exit - only 8 euro return and it drops you off at either the main train station or bus terminal both are only a 5 min walk to the hotel. A taxi costs approx 15 euro to the city centre.

Room Tip: Room on the side of hotel - room 108 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here Dec 2011 for an anniversary treat, the hotel was a bit disappointing, great location but the rooms had a few problems. The biggest problem for us was there was hardly any heating in rooms and in December we found it very cold! we complained to front desk as our radiator not working. We went out for dinner and was told it would be fixed on our return. We we entered room the curtains, which had been covering the radiators had been piled onto the windowsills and the radiator was barely warm! so they had put a mobile radiator in the room, positioned right next to the bed, we found this very unsatisfactory not to mention a health hazard! they didn't have another room to move us to, so we had to put up with it. I forgot to mention that I had emailed the hotel prior to our arrival asking for a nice room as it was our anniversary and we were promised a room overlooking the waterfall, this never materialised either!
We ate in the hotels restaurant on the first night and we were taken to a table right next to a radiator, not sure if it was coincidence, as I had complained about the heating? but the meal was good anyway. The second night we managed to eat in the Isaacs restaurant next door which is not actually part of the hotel, so you have to book there separately, try to book early as always busy. the food there was very good and cheaper than the hotel restaurant, so I would recommend you try there first.
Overall we had a good trip, if the heating had'nt been an issue we would have given the hotel a higher mark, but felt this spoilt our stay somewhat.
If I was going back to Cork I would probably book another hotel.

Room Tip: If staying in winter make sure the radiators are working!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOJO46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just returned from a family trip to Cork staying in an apartment and hotel room in the Hotel Isaacs. Whilst booking i was in correspondence with the receptionist Jeremy and he was very helpful and couldn't do enough to ensure my requests were met. The hotel and surroundings are nice and the waterfall is a novel feature. The hotel room we had was spacious and full of character. The apartment we rented was spacious but shabby and the noise from the traffic and nightclub across the road is unbelievably loud at night, When i mentioned this at checkout i was met with a shrug (not from Jeremy but another receptionist). I think they would benefit from investing in some double glazing! We dined at Greenes Restaurant the first night and although the food was good, the staff were extremely unfriendly and unwelcoming. From the website it is not clear that there is a horel restaurant also (as the front, Greenes is at the side) and this was a much better dining experience,. All in all it was a nice break but not sure i would recommend to anyone who wanted to get a nights sleep (although maybe Easter Saturday night was particularly raucous)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqui N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

A group of us stayed here for mine and a friends stag weekend. The hotel has traditional rooms or apartments. Our apartment had two doubles, two bathrooms and a lounge all for 200 quid for two nights. It's not fancy but if you're looking for somewhere clean, with decent service and a decent restaurant then look no further. The location of the Isaacs is also great, decent pubs nearby and only a ten minute walk into the centre of Cork.

Recommended.

Stayed: March 2012
3  Thank marlonbunyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Oodles of charcater, excellent value and wonderful staff...I love this hotel. It's reasonably price; sure some of the rooms have seen better days, but with the cost of the room and location I will never complain. They were very helpful to our group.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarleth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,589 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,129 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isaacs Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isaacs Cork

Address: 48 Maccurtain Street, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Price Range: £68 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isaacs Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Isaacs & Apartments Cork, a unique gem of a hotel in Cork city Centre with an enviable location - recently refurbished (2016) only a short walk from the train and bus stations and the main shopping and financial centre of Cork. Hotel Isaacs is the perfect choice as a base when visiting Cork city, county and County Kerry. We have some fantastic special offers for you when you book direct also offering two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Isaacs Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Cork
Isaacs Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing