We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious, clean rooms and great staff”
Review of Hotel Isaacs Cork

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Isaacs Cork
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean rooms and great staff”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here for four days in September. We had a double room, 215, which was a handicapped accessible room facing the street. It was huge with two story ceilings, a large bathroom and huge closets. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. I saw comments that the TVs were too small which I disagree with, but in so large a room, one could want for a larger screen if one were picky.
My daughter had a separate single room (103) which was small but clean and had a good bed and good shower (no tub).
Front desk staff were extremely helpful with local directions and recommendations. Breakfast was good and the wait staff were very friendly and pleasant. We did not have dinner in the hotel but we did enjoy the bar for some after dinner drinks on several nights. They quickly got to know our drinks.
Parking in Cork is a nightmare but the hotel has a lot about a block and a half away. To open the gate one has to have a "clicker" obtainable from the front desk which you then need to return right away. To get the car out you have to redo the process of requesting the clicker, getting your car, then driving back to the hotel to drop it off. It's not as easy as typical US hotels, but it really wasn't that big a deal AND if you've tried to park anywhere else in Cork, you realize how good you've got it.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again, if I was in Cork.

Room Tip: The Cork Airport was built on a hill that is prone to heavy fog. If you have a tight schedule to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glon Drack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    345
    147
    53
    29
See reviews for
133
358
65
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend and were delighted with the hotel.

Isaacs Hotel is very central and you can walk to all of the major sights and places to visit in Cork City. The downside to being central is that car parking is a two-minute walk away in a gated and locked local churchyard - not a problem for us.

The staff all over the hotel were warm, enthusiastic and welcoming and the rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped.

Greene's restaurant was excellent for both dinner and a hearty cooked breakfast the following morning. Lots of other lovely touches all around the hotel but the charm of the staff was definitely one of the high points.

This hotel is a three star venue, pretends nothing more but surpasses its rating on most counts. Accordingly I would rate this hotel as the best value accommodation in Cork City. We shall definitely use it as our Cork base in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinEyeforDetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

we have stayed in Cork previously and really like the compact size of the city. We chose this hotel as we noticed the waterfall last time we were over. the hotel is ideally placed for sampling the bars on McCurtain Street, walking into town for shopping or sampling the pubs on Oliver Plunkett Street or its a really easy walk to the train station where you can head further afield. We caught the train to Cobh which was really pretty. We didnt have breakfast at the hotel but we did eat in Greenes one evening which was delicious. All in all i would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynsanddeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

If you are not expecting luxury and just want a well-located, value conscious hotel, this is a good choice. The rooms are clean and reasonably comfortable. The staff is friendly and the small courtyard in front of the hotel is charming. Cooked breakfast (not included) is good; the continental buffet is a little sparse. The restaurant for lunch outside was nice; dinner was a bit disappointing. You get what you pay for - and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artprof13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Hotel has an amazing courtyard with a waterfall-a nice relaxation after exciting diverse Cork. We heard the Greenes Restaurant at the Hotel is already really good though unfortunately we didn't get a chance to check it out. The rooms are pleasantly spacious, the hotel staff is friendly and helpful and there is plenty to do around the Hotel. The tourist info is also not too far away and the main bus terminal is a 5 minute walk. The only downside to this hotel was that for a queen bed, we received two double beds pushed together which was slightly inconvenient I am not sure if other rooms were different, we were simply too tired from exploring to try to mitigate the situation. Otherwise, would suggest the hotel for it's good location, pleasant ambiance, spacious rooms and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The entrance is under an arch and the waterfall is very unexpected but beautiful. Our room was spacious and quiet for such a central location - five minutes walk to Patrick St. Clever parking arrangement with a nearby church. We left the car there all day for €5. The restaurant was full - you would need to book at the weekend - but we had a lovely meal at Isaac's Restaurant which is attached to the hotel but bizarrely has no connection to it. Lovely breakfast, the coffee was plentiful and very good. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GobnaitOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

As a stopping spot before heading south to visit family, this property was a pleasant surprise. Our accommodation was in the hotel. Knowing that the property is Victorian-era, we expected the tiny lift, and "older" bathroom. Check-in was very smooth, and our room spacious, with a small foyer separate from the sleeping space. The bathroom, while quaint, was large and bright. Bath surround needs an update, and had we planned a longer stay, would have mentioned something to the housekeeping staff. Close to city center. The bus and train stations are 10min. walk away, but we had "a few" bags, and taxi fare was only 5E more than two bus fares.
A very lovely dinner at Green's, the attached restaurant, was a highlight of our stay. We had breakfast next day at a nearby pub.
Would definitely stay again. For a rate of <70E per night, this was good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isaacs Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isaacs Cork

Property: Hotel Isaacs Cork
Address: 48 Maccurtain Street, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isaacs Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Isaacs & Apartments Cork, a unique gem of a hotel in Cork city Centre with an enviable location - recently refurbished (2016) only a short walk from the train and bus stations and the main shopping and financial centre of Cork. Hotel Isaacs is the perfect choice as a base when visiting Cork city, county and County Kerry. We have some fantastic special offers for you when you book direct also offering two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Isaacs Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Cork
Isaacs Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing