We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Choise”
Review of Hotel Isaacs Cork

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Isaacs Cork
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Choise”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile


No Parking at the hotel, we had to go 300m to Church's Parking and the fee was not included in the price, not as Showing at the time I've booked. Parking is not free as seen as facilities of the "hotel" if I can Call like that.
The lift is really, really old, I was really glad they give a first floor room, the lift doesn't looks like safe... Anyway. We get in to the room and the lamp room was broke, we asked for a new room, but instead they send a guy with a stairs and a new lamp. Awkward situation in a hotel room, picture this, me my boyfriend and a guy in a stairs fixing the lamp in the middle of the room.
The pictures on the website was totally fake, the room was really old, and for the price I paid I was expecting something good at least.
I tried to connect the internet in the iPhone and iPad but the signal was so wick, to connect the first time I had to open the door of the room walk down in the hall. Ok, connected, but when I closed the door and sit on the bed 'no connection' for all night long.
The experience was horrible, my first time in Cork and the hotel was so disappointed. For this kind of service offered and 'facilities' was really expensive, if I had book a hostel I'm pretty sure that I've had got a better service for less money.

The only nice thing there was the receptionist, Valentina, she was really care and helpful.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Emily F,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We were sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We were suprised to hear the wifi didn't work. It was unfortunate that the ceiling bulb went as you went to your bedroom, however, as soon as it brought to receptions attention, maintenance was sent up to change the bulb. We couldn't move you to another room as the only room we had left that evening was a single room. We are genuinely disppointed that you didn't enjoy your stay with us as we do our best to ensure all our guests feel welcome and enjoy their time with us. If you would like to discuss this further please feel free to contact me on sylvia@isaacs.ie. We appreciate both good and not so good reviews as this helps us improve our standards and customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    345
    147
    53
    29
See reviews for
133
358
65
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel Isaacs on a week day. The room was very comfortable. The only problem was the bar on the first floor. When people went outside to smoke the noise seemed to be coming from the other side of the window glass. It was raining off and on and then it was peacefully quite until it stopped.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Catherine M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy that you found your room comfortable and the location good but were sorry to hear that there was noise outside the bar area where people were smoking. We have discussed this with our team and are trying to find a solution. I hope you had a safe trip back and hope to welcome you back to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed last weekend, location. Perfect. Room. Good. Food. Good. Hotel is located just a 5minute walk from city centre, plenty of shopping available also all the attractions of cork. Small outside area with relaxing waterfall, pleasant area for sitting, even in the rain. Had dinner in Greens next door, this also very good. Enjoyed our stay very much. Will go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Mnoone,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed our stay with us and that you also enjoyed a lovely meal in Greenes Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in room 101, a large room with en-suite shower room, TV, iron and hair-dryer and safe all included. Large glass wall/window in room to corridor - unusual and mainly not seen as curtains had to be drawn for privacy, but not a huge problem. Room can be coldish in the early afternoon, and like a sauna overnight. Took awhile to work out the right setting.
Room 101 is right next to the lift and over the receptionist area, so can be noisy - take earplugs. Breakfast is not included, can get this at Greenes next to the hotel but I would suggest that breakfast at Gallaghers at the end of MacCurtain street is much better value.
Staff are excellent, helpful and hotel is clean and well appointed - would stay here again - but would ask for a different room. Great location for a weekend in Cork, and very good value if you book on-line.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Iliad33
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and apologies for the noise. You can also book directly with us to get a great deal, and to accommodate any requests. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the apartments next to the hotel. They are one of the few apartments available on various days so you're not tied into a week Saturday to Saturday. They were reasonably priced, with daily cleaning services, in the heart of the city. The only downside was there was no lift and we had to carry our double buggy up to the second floor. We had a fabulous time and will be staying there again on our next visit to Cork.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Deirdre R,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the apartments and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We landed in Cork on a Sunday night for a work gig on Monday, and decided we had to treat ourselves. Isaacs didn't let us down, two ribeyes with trimmings filled the hole. The grilled portobello mushrooms were better than the steak. Maurice had his medium rare, but I went with medium which I reckon was better for the cut. Place was quiet, but, hey, its Cork on a Sunday

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GregRDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with 3 friends for a night out in Cork city. We could not fault the hotel for price, location, staff, food and good service. We Had two twin rooms and one was located facing the street but it didn't interfere with us at all. The other room was fairly newly decorated with a lovely new bathroom. Our dinner in Greenes restaurant was lovely and they also offer 10% off full bill for guests staying in the hotel. Parking was very nearby but be aware that you must take an immediate turn right for the church after you turn off from Maccurtain street!!! It's a one way street and a long way back around if you miss the turn off!!! Looking forward to staying again soon..

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dicork2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear DiCork2010,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,363 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isaacs Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isaacs Cork

Property: Hotel Isaacs Cork
Address: 48 Maccurtain Street, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isaacs Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Isaacs & Apartments Cork, a unique gem of a hotel in Cork city Centre with an enviable location - recently refurbished (2016) only a short walk from the train and bus stations and the main shopping and financial centre of Cork. Hotel Isaacs is the perfect choice as a base when visiting Cork city, county and County Kerry. We have some fantastic special offers for you when you book direct also offering two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Isaacs Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Cork
Isaacs Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing