We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of Attention”
Review of Hotel Isaacs Cork

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Isaacs Cork
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed one night for a concert. The Hotel does need some updating/renovation as it is looking tired and a little tatty around the edges, the carpets, shower and decor need replacing however, we still loved it! The staff were lovely, service and attention good and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was fabulous and the location was excellent. We were very lucky with the weather so took advantage of the amazing feature outside (the waterfall) which was a fab place to 'chillax' with afternoon coffee and scones. The award winning Greenes Restaurant attached was outstanding (reviewed separately) We will return and will recommend to others but believe that it will only get an 'excellent' once the worn-out furniture and fittings are replaced.

Room Tip: We stayed in room above the waterfall and it didn't disturb our peace and quiet at all
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KpW08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur L, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

KpW08

Thanks for your review. Our refurbishment starts in the next few months which will upgrade our offering and guests experience.

Arthur Little
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Isaacs Cork
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 923 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

So we stayed here for one night for a concert, the staff where fab and very friendly....the food was really nice and good value aswell.
Will deffo be staying again and will be recommending it to people.
The fountain area is sooo relaxing...its just nice to stay in a place with a nice and friendly atmosphere :)
Well done...more standards than a few four star hotels we have stayed in x

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank muffinbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur L, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thanks Muffinbean!

Arthur Little
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights whilst visiting Cork to see a band at the Marquee. Ideally placed with easy access to bus station and train station, both about 5/10 mins walk. Room was clean, but a few scuffs, scraps and marks on the walls, but had a great stay non the less. Slept very well, not noisy at all, even had air com which was a pleasant surprise. Ate in the attached restaurant, excellent good both for breakfast and dinner. Staff at reception very helpful. Would happily stay here again

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank KEA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur L, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thanks KEA123!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for a two night break on a room only basis. The location is excellent, a few minutes walk from Patrick Street and there are lots of pubs and places to eat on the same street (this is also the street where the music shop that Rory Gallagher bought his first guitar was located). The staff are friendly and attentive. The rooms are good, an extremely good size. The courtyard and waterfall are lovely, very unusual. The car park costs six euros per night, the only problem with it is that you have to go in to the hotel when you arrive to get directions and a buzzer for the car park gate which is a nuisance if there is no parking on the street. The lift is very small but this is probably due to building constraints. The mattresses need to be replaced and the peeling leather chairs let the rooms down awfully which is a shame as they are perfect otherwise. I don't know why the hotel would leave something as simple as this wrong. There is an award winning restaurant attached that we didn't eat in it but we got our drinks from it's bar and the staff were very attentive. I would also recommend Dan Lowreys pub across the road for drinks and food! I'd stay here again for a good deal as it is so conveniently located.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank absolutetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur L, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thanks absolutetruth!

Chairs have now been refurbished, rest of property to follow.

Arthur Little
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having never stayed in Cork before, I had searched the hotels that friends had stayed in on previous occasions. Their recommendations had no availability so we opted for Hotel Isaacs on Mac Curtin St. The exterior is quaint but that vista on entering where you see the water cascading down the rocks is so unexpected. The hotel has character as it seems to be hewn out or rock and old buildings and has a lovely cobblestoned entrance way making it look very continental.
The receptionist were very friendly and efficient. On their advice we used the hotel car park in an adjacent church which worked better than leaving it on the street . Our twin room was very comfortable, quite spacious with a good shower. We thought that we would have a noisy night as our room was were directly over the main entrance on the first floor but we were not disturbed . The night porter was very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simartanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear simartanna

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Isaacs Hotel & Apartments – your comments are greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Isaacs Hotel & Apartments in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Brian Harrington
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable 3 night stay at this hotel. Stayed in the apartment number 9. A very high standard throughout. Thoroughly cleaned everyday by friendly staff. Spacious and modern. Quiet at night and with modern amenities. Beautiful waterfall at the front to welcome you. Thankyou for a great stay in Cork. Recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Simon B

I refer to your recent stay at Isaacs Hotel & Apartments and to your feedback which you kindly shared with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we are very grateful to you for your very complimentary feedback which is so nice to hear.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Isaac’s Hotel & Apartments again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Brian Harrington
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for one night for the Irish Open in June. Thankfully it was only one night. Located down a small cobbled walkway with a pretty waterfall at the end, my expectations were dashed on entering the hotel. It is very much in need of an update, dated curtains, carpets & furnishings in the lobby area and a lift out of the dark ages. We had a room on the top (3rd) floor. Being a fairly warm weekend, the room was absolutely sweltering. There is no in room aircon (or heating for the colder months) and the sash windows only open a small amount so there was no fresh air. The room is very basic, nothing special, cheap looking furniture, large dated TV. An old hairdryer fixed inside a drawer (who would want to steal it anyway?!), a tiny ironing board fixed to the wall in the most awkward of places. The board is not even large enough to iron a shirt without half of it hanging on the floor. The table in our room was broken and the carpets were in need of a good clean. On entering the bathroom, I was horrified to see black mould behind the taps, mould around the bath that had sealant over the top of it to hide it, a grubby toilet that looks like it's never seen a bottle of bleach and a yellowing shower that I wondered whether I would be more dirty afterwards.
Now I realise why the smiley receptionist asked for the money on check in. €145 of my good earned Euro's. And that wasn't including(sub-standard) breakfast (€10 each), parking (€6) (offsite in a church car park), Wi-Fi (€5 for 24 hrs) (but lobby/bar guests get Wi-Fi for free, how does that happen?!). It is an outrageous cost for a sub-standard hotel. I have paid the same room rate for hotels that could teach this 'hotel' a lesson. It's more like hostel accommodation but I don't know how any traveller would ever afford it. It is far too overpriced for what it is, €100 too much. The receptionist was "sorry we felt the way we did" but really couldn't respond or comment on any of the points we raised and was basically paying lip service.
Stay here at your peril.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest Julia R.

I refer to your recent stay at Isaacs Hotel and to the subsequent feedback which you have kindly provided – Thank You for taking the time and effort to provide such detailed feedback.
Please accept my sincere apologies to you for the manner in which your accommodation was presented. The items which you have raised are simply unacceptable and I assure you that they have been dealt with in order to prevent a similar reoccurrence.

I am also disappointed that despite you raising the matter on check out that we failed to take the appropriate action at that point. By way of information, we have commenced work to refurbish a number of our bedrooms and I have no doubt that this will greatly lessen the number of experiences as you have just described.

We are very anxious to demonstrate to you that what you experienced on this stay is far from the norm at Isaacs and would ask you to please contact me directly at your convenience.
Once again, please accept my sincere apologies to you and my thanks to you for highlighting the matter.

Sincerely,
Brian Harrington
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,562 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,112 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isaacs Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isaacs Cork

Address: 48 Maccurtain Street, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Price Range: £67 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isaacs Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Isaacs & Apartments Cork, a unique gem of a hotel in Cork city Centre with an enviable location - recently refurbished (2016) only a short walk from the train and bus stations and the main shopping and financial centre of Cork. Hotel Isaacs is the perfect choice as a base when visiting Cork city, county and County Kerry. We have some fantastic special offers for you when you book direct also offering two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Isaacs Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Cork
Isaacs Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing