We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cycling weekend”
Review of Hotel Isaacs Cork

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Isaacs Cork
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cycling weekend”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my partner. I found the front of desk staff to be friendly and helpful. The courtyard outside of the hotel was lovely. The bedroom was to hot and shabby. I opened the windows only to be awoken be the street activity and noise. The main thing this hotel had going for it was location.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Thebiker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIsaacsGreenes, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Thebiker50, thank you very much for your considered review. I will pass your compliments to the team. Happily we are undergoing a refurbishment in the near future which will offer a new standard of comfort to our guests. We are a center city location so understandably traffic can be an issue, we have also a good selection of rooms to the back of the property and overlooking the Courtyard and Waterfall which are equally popular. We asks guests to lets us know their preference when they book and we will endeavor to offer quieter rooms when bookings allow. Thank you
Arthur Little
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    354
    149
    53
    30
See reviews for
135
368
67
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

You will love Hotel Isaacs in Cork. It is all and more that you could expect from a central location on a busy street among redbrick buildings. Some may find it noisy, but I love the city sounds and the bustle of early morning in a city.
Rooms were air conditioned and spacious, good toiletries, and a wonderful breakfast where the served you toast and a quality cooked breakfast with a great buffet choice. And there is a waterfall viewed through glass into a picturesque yard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank storym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIsaacsGreenes, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear StoryM, Thank you for your review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Our delightful Victorian building was built at the end of the Nineteenth Century and harks back to a great period in Cork architecture.
Arthur Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at Hotel Isaacs for 2 nights on 21/07/2014. We arrived early and a clean room was available so we could check in at 9am instead of the usual time of 2pm! Clean, well decorated rooms, very comfy bed and there is what appears to be an air con unit in our room 215 which was extrmely apprciated in the muggy weather! Location is perfect for cork city centre, everything within walking distance! Hotel staff were very helpful and could answer any questions we had regarding Cork. Wi-fi was available in the lobby but not in rooms. Breakfast was good but we only had breakfast one morning as there are so many other places to eat locally. Would definitly stay at the hotel again when visiting Cork :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmzy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIsaacsGreenes, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hello Emmzy27, Thank you for your thoughtful review. We look forward to seeing you back for a City Break in the future.
Arthur Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayo ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed one night while attending Neil Young concert. Very dissappointed with our initial room, badly needed a refurbishment. Staff switched us to another room which was nicer but was opposite the resturant kitchen.... very noisey the following morning as dustbins were being moved at about 7 am. Good breakfast freshly cooked. Staff on reception were friendly. Lovely waterfall outside and a nice area to enjoy a drink. Paid 99 euro plus 16 euro for breakfast... a little overpriced as the hotel does need a refurbishment generally. However the room was clean with a good shower and the hotel is fairly central.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurseyMayoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIsaacsGreenes, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hello nurseyMayoIreland, Thank you for your considered review. We really appreciated you letting us know that your first room didn't meet your requirements and were able to offer an alternative. A refurbishment is planned for the coming year.
Arthur Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location. You can walk to the bus station, train station, shopping center and most restaurants. It's across the street from the Everyman theatre, which was a good place to see a show. They should provide free wifi though. We paid 5 euro a day. That should be included in your hotel price/ the rooms are stuffy and need a fan or ac. If you're on the restaurant side expect it to be loud until 11pm

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halifaxjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIsaacsGreenes, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear halifaxjb, thank you very much for your review. Happily we are undergoing a refurbishment in the near future which will offer a new standard of comfort to our guests. We offer free WiFi in public areas and the first 20 minutes are free for each device in the bedrooms. Our guests love the access to Buses and Trains and of course the Airport is only 10 minutes away in a Taxi.
Arthur Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the start (2 nights) and end (1 night) of our two week holiday to tour Southern Ireland ... 1st impressions : a run down hotel on a busy road in a run down area of Cork. No Guest car parking at the hotel - but secure parking available down the road. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout, but the décor and furniture in Reception and in our rooms was well worn and in need of refurbishment.
We were surprised / disappointed to discover that our first room (213) was a room for the disabled, as no warning or explanation had been given for this - but the sheets / pillowcases and (old fashioned) bathroom were clean (the skirting boards and radiators, etc. were covered in dust but weren't so important to us) so we accepted the room would be ok. However, we were disgusted to find what appeared to be semen stains on the bed throw - and were pleased that the domestic staff were able to change this straight away.
Breakfast in a nice setting was generally very good - the buffet breakfast was excellent and the full Irish was great - apart from one morning when it was very greasy.
We found that the location was excellent ... a five minute walk into the City centre, nice fish and chips along the road, friendly pub opposite and an excellent restaurant (Isaacs) next door.
Our 2nd room (110) ... at first appeared to be a nicer room then our first, with clean sheets / pillow cases and (modern) bathroom - however, we couldn't believe that there appeared to be semen stains on the bed throw again ! (quickly discarded) We also noticed the room was warm (the weather was warm / humid) and there was a food odour - therefore we opened a window to let some air in ... the second window sash was broken, so couldn't be opened ... before going out for the evening. On our return, the room was very hot with a strong smell of cooking and we could hear noisy fans operating in the near vicinity (until approx.11.45 p.m.) - we realised that our room was above the neighbouring restaurant. Had it not been late and our cases unpacked and we were only there for one night, we would have contacted Reception and asked to be moved. So we went to bed with the window open, which meant that we also had to put up with the noise from the busy road outside ... as you can imagine we did not sleep very well and couldn't wait to check out.

Room Tip: Avoid room 110 like the plague !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIsaacsGreenes, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hello SteveG, thank you very much for your considered and helpful review. Following your troubling comments we have implemented additional room checks and training for our housekeeping team. We are undergoing a refurbishment in the near future which will deal with many of the issues identified in your review. We are a center city location so understandably traffic can be an issue, we have also a good selection of rooms, some air-conditioned, to the back of the property and overlooking the Courtyard and Waterfall which are equally popular. We asks guests to lets us know their preference when they book and will endeavor to offer alternatives when bookings allow. Thank you for your comments on our breakfast offering and staff.
Arthur Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
376 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is very close to the city center, in a nice old building with some interesting touches such as the waterfall by the restaurant.
The receptionist was very friendly. The room was an OK size but badly needs some refurbishment. The desk chair had strips of vinyl hanging of and some exposed pieces of metal on the side of the mattress, though it was still comfortable.
There was a lot of traffic noise early on, but this is a hotel close to the city center. Maybe it's best to ask for a room at the back.
Breakfast was just acceptable, badly cooked eggs

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIsaacsGreenes, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Simon M, thank you very much for your thoughtful review. I will pass your compliments to the team. We are undergoing a refurbishment in the near future which will offer a new standard of comfort to our guests. We asks guests to lets us know if they have a room preference when they book and we will endeavor to offer alternative rooms when bookings allow.
Arthur Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,421 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,009 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
720 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isaacs Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isaacs Cork

Property: Hotel Isaacs Cork
Address: 48 Maccurtain Street, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isaacs Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Isaacs & Apartments Cork, a unique gem of a hotel in Cork city Centre with an enviable location - recently refurbished (2016) only a short walk from the train and bus stations and the main shopping and financial centre of Cork. Hotel Isaacs is the perfect choice as a base when visiting Cork city, county and County Kerry. We have some fantastic special offers for you when you book direct also offering two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Isaacs Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Cork
Isaacs Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing