We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little caution”
Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garnish House
Ranked #3 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2007

I have stayed in Garnish house previously and have recommended it as a good destination in Cork city.Now I would not be as quick to encourage you to book here.
I phoned to book a single room for one night and was astounded to hear that the cost was 85 euros.However I had stayed here two years ago and was impressed.Not any more.On arrival I was taken to a house not just next door but we had to cross a major road.I was expected to walk back to Garnish house for breakfast and not even an umbrella if it was raining.
The room was ok.Just what you would expect in any b and b today.There was one flaw however no bath.Very poor value for 85 euros.In addition the house is not staffed and this left me feeling very insecure.
Breakfast was indeed lovely.But I wonder at all the rave revues about the breakfast just how much can you eat at one sitting ?
I will be looking for better value when next in Cork. This is one woman who has had enough mauling at the paws of the celtic tiger.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank society
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,161 - 1,167 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2007

What a terrific guest house, just a few minutes walk from the center of Cork! We were greeted upon arrival with hot tea and a big basket of scones, muffins and biscuits. Everything we wanted to see, restaurants, museums, parks, etc. were never more than 10-15 minutes away on foot. Breakfast each morning was an experience not to be missed. Definitely go for the porridge and irish whiskey or Bailey's to get things started -- Our room was great, just above the kitchen so we were greeted each mrning by the smell of fresh baked bread. Comfortable beds, nice linens, spacious bathroom, A+ staff helping make sure every detail was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CenterCityPHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2007

We traveled all around Ireland for a week and found that the absolute sweetest people were definitely those at the Garnish House. They welcomed us with yummy tea and scones upon our arrival and we stayed in cozy rooms with comfortable beds. The food served in the dining room is wonderful, with the best and most courteous service. The location of the hotel is just a short walk to the hotbed of activity in the city center. We were traveling by car, so the free and easily accessible parking at the hotel was convenient. The hospitality we experienced at the Garnish House will be among our fondest memories of Ireland, and I would definitely recommend a stay there to anyone traveling to Cork.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmoksha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2007

When we arrived we were greeted by a Marcel. He was very charming indeed. A food spread layed on for us made us feel like royalty. We were shown to a room which had the feeling of a 5 star hotel and your own home all wrapped into one. Amazing. When we met the propritor Johanna we felt like we were greeting an old friend. We needed some help in finding stuff around Cork and surroundings and we were always more than helped by the staff. The only down side to the whole place was that there was a member of staff who seemed to be preoccupied whenever we needed assistance. He seemed to be more interested in his cellular phone than being mannerly to us. He had blondie spikey hair. Apart from this the place was real quality. Great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DaveNyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2007

I agree with the comments about warmth, hospitality, excellent breakfast, welcoming tea. But the room I drew was unspeakably small. The bathroom door hit the foot of the bed when I tried to swing it open. When my suitcase and I were inside, I could barely see any exposed flooring.

Because everyone was so nice, I'll attribute this disgraceful renovation to prior owners. But I have to deduct a couple of stars for an establishment that doesn't give an apologetic preamble to a guest before showing this room. The management seemed to think it was good enough. Not.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinterBreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2007

I loved this place. After a night of partying and a long day of bus travel from Galway to Cork, definitely enjoyed being greeted by the charming Marcel with a fresh basket of scones, muffins, and chocolate cake plus hot tea (and all for one person!!). I stayed in one of the adjoining buildings and loved my studio room - it was huge, clean, and complete with a kitchen facility as well. Great water pressure in the bathroom...As an fyi, the University of Cork is conveniently located across the street and is definitely worth a walk around - beautiful campus. The Garnish House is a quick walk to the center of town - 10 minutes, tops. And a convenient and cheap internet cafe is located right on the street heading into town, too.

The breakfasts were absolutely incredible. Best Irish breakfast in the world...a huge selection of choices to make in addition to an enormous spread of muffins, breads, berries, scones....wow. Very impressed. Delicious scrambled eggs, pancakes...and just when you thought you had finished, the kitchen staff pleasantly comes out to offer you a taste of more food, like yummy hot potatoes covered in cheese. I never bought more than one meal a day while staying in Cork city because I was always so full from breakfast. So amazing.

The owner, Mrs. Lucey, is such a sweetheart and she greets all of her guests in the morning, individually going around to tables at breakfasts to answer questions about day trips and make sure that everyone is enjoying their meals and rooms. She's so kind and helpful. I really, really enjoyed staying here and would definitely recommend it to anyone - families, singles, couples....just a lovely place that will long be remembered. I would love to return one day -- sooner, hopefully, rather than later. : )

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kawg411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

Had a great experience in this place last month....a hotel where food is definitely the big attraction....even before you check in, one of their unbelievably friendly staff will escort you to the lounge and present you with a platter of homemade cakes and scones with clotted cream. Breakfasts consist of the usual selection of juices and cereal, as well as a great range of yogurt, fruit and pastries.... The big draw is the homemade porridge that comes with a shot of either Baileys or whiskey, then follow that with a cooked breakfast of your choice - any type of eggs are available and The Full Irish is pretty great...complete with white and black pudding....to end proceedings expect to be presented with a plate of pancakes and syrup....perfect to kick start the day in Cork or to soak up the Stout from the night before.
The hotel is in a good location, 10 minute walk from the city centre and with good shops, restauraunts and pubs on the same street. The rooms are clean, basic, comfortable....if you're lucky you'll get a jacuzzi in your bathroom. The staff are all very accomodating. All in all, well recommended

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Probson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,656 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
812 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Address: Garnish House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: £55 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garnish House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing