We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitality and catered for everyone”
Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garnish House
Ranked #3 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The hospitality here is second to none and the breakfast was better than any evening meal. We were stuffed leaving here. There was so many different types of eggs and hot breakfasts. It was amazing!!! You wouldn't get this breakfast in a 5 star hotel. One of our party was a celiac and the hostess made her gluten free pancakes, porridge and bread. The hostess was just so friendly. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank conanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

Our family of 5 had a wonderful stay at the Garnish House. Rooms were absolutely spacious. Bathrooms were fine, everything was sparkling clean. The house is set up in wings, so we didn't feel like we had to whisper so as to not disturb other people. We were welcomed with a wonder tea spread in their front room, and had a chance to re-energize before we got on with our day. Enjoyed what can not be overstated as the best brownies and fruitbread ever! Breakfast was also fantastic, although not as fast as some other b&bs. Would gladly come back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathy E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We were welcomed with tea and scones, even if it was after 5 pm, so we thought "What a great place!", but we found that our room was in the annex, 100 meters far; we were at ground floor, in the back of a private house. It was like a mini-apartment, but very small and the sofa-bed in the kitchen was so uncomfortable that it wasn't possible to have a good sleep. The breakfast was one of the best we had, with a lot of different choices, everything of high quality.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank albus09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We got a free upgrade to one of the small apartments, which was super for having a kitchen for my highly allergic husband. The people here are sooooo kind - and understanding when frazzled tourists arrive - they put you in the lounge and bring you tea (and/or coffee) and scones, and the world is suddenly better. The breakfasts - amazing. Porridge with the usual - or with Bailey's or whiskey, followed by omelets or the Full Irish Breakfast, followed by pancakes or waffles... And tea/coffee. When you leave here, you are ready to take on Ireland! On our last day, we got a 4 am wakeup call, they called a taxi, AND they gave me tea and scones before we left. This was the best of a great bunch of B&Bs we stayed in on our trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We just spent five nights at Garnish House B&B and it was awonderful experience for my grandaughter who accompanied me to Cork City. We were treated to tea, scones and cake on our arrival by a very friendly Marcel. Our large room was very nicely decorated and clean. The breakfasts were just out of this world and certainly more than the average person is used to. The delicious bake goods are made right on the premises.
All the staff were so friendly and could'nt do enough for you. Dorothy was especially kind.

Room Tip: Third floor room at the back was especially quiet and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A number of us stayed here for a conference at the university. We were welcomed with tea and scones and the warm, genuine greetings and hospitality continued throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. While the accomodation in Garnish house is modest, as you would expect in a B&B, the hospitality is better than any five star hotel . Even when we had checked out and returned to collect our bags, we were able to sit by the fire in the living room and were offered more tea and scones, fruit cake and bread. Thank you for making a stay away from home feel so comfortable.

Room Tip: If you need a room for two, ask for a larger double. Tell them if you have special requirements, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Garnish House was recommended to me by friends who stayed here a couple years ago. We spend one night here before picking up our friends who were flying into the Cork Airport. We arrived a little after 6pm and were greeted by a very friendly staff member who provided us with a delicious spread of baked goods and hot tea. My husband loved the fruit cake and I enjoyed the warm tea since the weather was a bit chilly. We had a nice chat with some other guests in the sitting room before being shown to our room. We ended up in a family room, even though there was just the two of us, so we had a double bed and a single bed and a couch with a fairly large bathroom. The room was on the third floor with a view of the main road. The furniture in the room was pretty old. The WiFi was not very good and was barely able to browse normal websites or check email. The phone line to our room did not work properly and we were not able to receive a call from the friends we were meeting the next morning. The phone line appeared to be dead, and the person who spoke with my friends did not seem at all concerned about addressing this issue or putting us in contact with our friends. The toilet took a very long time to refill the tank which was annoying when trying to sleep. The breakfast was exceptional and I can see why this place gets so many good reviews! The service at breakfast was great! We started with porridge with whiskey and porridge with cream and honey which were very tasty! My husband got the traditional Irish breakfast (half size) and it was still a very large portion. Especially with the amount of fresh pastries and fruits. I got eggs with cottage cheese and chocolate banana pancakes and both were fabulous! Even though I did not think the room was super great, the breakfast evened things out. I'm not sure how this place compares to others in Cork, so perhaps it is as good as it is rated.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank raenstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,655 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
811 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
Clarion Collection The Montenotte Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Address: Garnish House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: £54 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garnish House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing