We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most enjoyable”
Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garnish House
Ranked #3 of 60 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

lovely welcome room ready hours early as we landed 8am so bags unpacked away we went room clean tea coffee available shower tv heating was on timer room kept tidy staff helpful and the breakfast was tremendious and only a light meal was needed until dinner if in corkn again first place we will look at

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philipstretton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of Garnish House. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Garnish in the near future.

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,396)
There are newer reviews for Garnish House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed for two nights over a weekend recently while attending a conference in UCC which is across the road. Everything about Garnish House was excellent - room, breakfast , friendly staff. On arrival , it was an unexpected and most welcome treat to be offered tea and scones, ( which for my convenience was brought to my room). On the day I was leaving, I had to wait around for some time after checking out and again further generous hospitality was extended to me.
Parking nearby was important to me and the lady of the house, Joanna, was so helpful with this and in every other way also. Having met and spoken with her, it is no surprise that Garnish House is as good as it is - I cannot speak too highly of it and have no hesitation in recommending
It to family, friends and colleagues.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Aileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you sincerely for your most kind words about your experience staying here at Garnish House, which I read with delight.

With our on-site parking and our proximity to University College Cork (we are directly opposite the main UCC gates on Western Road, as you know), we really are the ideal choice for those with business on campus, and with the city centre being a ten-minute walk away, you're close enough to explore the wonders of Cork too.

We hope to see you at Garnish House again in the near future. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Recently stayed at Garnish House in Cork, our room was comfortable and not too expensive, we stayed here for two nights 12 and 13 of November 2013 to attend a conference in UCC. It is literally on its doorstep ! Great value, and great food. We were welcomed with tea, coffee, cakes and scones. The staff were friendly and make you feel at home . The breakfast is lovely we plan on returning next November and have no problems recommending it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay in Garnish House.

Our aim is to make every single guest feel at home here at Garnish, so we were delighted to read that that's how you felt. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back next November -- we'll make sure the scones are ready for you!

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Myself and my mother stayed at this Bed and Breakfast for one night and I must say it was a very pleasant surprise. I normally stay in hotels however this guesthouse was recommended and I decided to give it a try. I will definitely return!! The Breakfast was amazing, the best I have ever experienced! Upon arrival myself and my mother were greeted at the front door and offered tea. We were brought into a lovely room with a fire and served tea with scones and buns, it was unreal! Service was excellent, staff were very pleasant and helpful and we also got a room upgrade. It was a perfect stay, I could not fault anything about this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you sincerely for your lovely review of Garnish House, which my staff and I read with delight.

At this time of the year, our welcoming afternoon tea service is indeed best enjoyed in the cosy Garnish sitting room, where a warm fire and cushy chairs await our arrivals -- the perfect start to a wintry visit to Cork! Likewise, the Garnish breakfast is the best way to start a winter's day, with our most famous menu item -- porridge prepared with Bailey's -- will warm up the coldest morning.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you both back to Garnish House in the near future.

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

No, this B and B is not four star, but they don't advertise as such. It's more like, as another reviewer wrote, a boutique hotel than a family B and B. It is on a very busy road and our room faced the road, but we did not hear the traffic. Our room could sleep four; it had a queen bed plus two singles, plus an ensuite bathroom that was on the small side, but adequate. The decor was retro 60's and I'm not sure if that was purposeful or just old, but we didn't care; we don't choose our rooms for their decor usually when we travel. The room was very clean.
Breakfast is abundant, varied (a variety of hot and cold dishes), and very, very good. We were quite impressed and indeed didn't really need lunch after our large breakfast repast.
Parking was easy, off-street, and right in front of the building.
What we really appreciated and did not expect when we stayed here, was the convenience to downtown and other attractions. It's an easy 25 minutes to walk downtown and we were comfortable even walking at night because the road is so busy. We also walked to the Cork Gaol from here, which was a pretty and interesting 30 minute walk.
A tip: if you need wifi like we did, go downstairs and sit in the little sitting room to the right of the front door. We couldn't get wifi in our 3rd floor room.
In summary, it was good value and worth it.

Room Tip: We could no get the free wifi in our 3rd floor room. I recommend you go to the little sitting room...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelviapurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for your kind words about Garnish House, and for choosing us during your recent visit to Cork City.

Garnish House offers a traditional B&B experience with all the conveniences of a hotel, and we were glad to see your review reflect this. We have a number of room types, ranging from traditional doubles to newly-renovated king-sized 'superior' rooms with a modern touch, so we have something to suit every guest.

Our convenient location just 10 minutes' walk from the Grand Parade/English Market area of Cork City centre (i.e. where the tourist office is located) and close to historic attractions like St. Finbarre's Cathedral, Cork City Gaol, The Cork Museum, University College Cork and the Shandon district, makes Garnish an ideal base for a visit to our beautiful city.

Warmest wishes,
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here for one night for a ceremony in UCC. It is literally on its doorstep! Great value, and great food. There are three separate houses and the one we stayed in was around a 100 metre walk away from the main house where we parked. Lovely staff and a nice atmosphere. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eamonn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for choosing Garnish House for your most recent stay in Cork. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience here and would be happy to return. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Indeed, we are so close to the UCC campus that if we were any closer we'd be on college property! With the heart of the city centre only 10 minutes' walk in the opposite direction and Garnish easily accessed by two orbital bus routes (205 and 208), we are proud to offer our guests an ideal position from which to enjoy the best of what Cork City has to offer.

Warmest wishes,
Johanna Lucey
Garnish House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We booked the following with Garnish House below and I am very disappointed with our stay despite all the great reviews on trip advisor.
We weren't aware that the adjacent apartment was in a different area to the main house and our entry to the car park certainly didn't impress,,,the main gates were covered in graffiti and were by no means secure as they remained open all night.
The apartment suite was by no means 4 star as advertised in the booking form.
It was very shabby to say the least and by no means worth the €104 we paid for it. It resembled more of a bedsit than a suite.

The kitchenette was grubby as can be seen in the pictures and the shower room had damp and paint peeling from the ceiling! And it appeared that the entrance door was at some point " kicked in" as it has a piece missing from the bottom of the door.
Also if I was a lone occupier I certainly wouldn't feel very secure there as you are away from the main house and as the gate was unlocked and there was also front of the property access so anyone could be passing through at all hours.

We didn't partake on the breakfast so I cannot comment on this and based on the suite I certainly wouldn't be happy forking out another €30 on top of the money already spent on the room.

Overall a very poor experience that we won't be repeating.

I shall endeavour to add some photos to demonstrate what my dissatisfaction about the experience was.
Arrival: 27th October 1 Night
Room Type/Rate: One-bedroom apartment suite**** in our adjacent apartment house, with kitchenette, living room with fold-out sofa bed (sofa-bed for 1 person ), bedroom with Queen-size bed (King Koil pillow top mattress) optional as twin bed, private bathroom, TV-cable, phone, hairdryer, iron & board, tea / coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries & wireless internet. private parking

Our award winning full Irish Gourmet Breakfast (30 choices cooked to order & continental buffet) is available for 10.- euro per person.

We wish you a safe and pleasant journey and look forward to your arrival.

Kind Regards,
Marcel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for choosing our Aban Suites during your recent stay in Cork and for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. Although we welcome guest feedback as we are always striving to improve, I was disappointed to read your comments about our self-catering apartments.

As it clearly states in the confirmation text you included in your review, our six apartments are 'adjacent' to Garnish House, specifically in a self-contained building approximately 1 minute's walk from the door of Garnish House. We have been rated by several tourism bodies (including the AA and Failte Ireland) based on our amenities and the standards of our accommodation, determined by annual inspections, and during the course of these our apartments have been deemed to be in the 4-star bracket for self-catering units.

As for security, only guests of these apartments have access to the building, and the private car park to the building's rear is equipped with motion-activated security lighting and monitored regularly overnight by our night porter. The outer door locks automatically and can only be opened with an apartment or staff key.

Garnish reception can be contacted 24/7 via the telephone in the apartments.

As other reviews here attest, our Garnish breakfast -- consisting of over 30+ cooked to order choices and, for most guests, at least three courses -- is the highlight of many a guest's stay and considered great value. As you booked self-catering your rate did not include it, but we offer B&B rates that do.

We hope that you will consider returning to Garnish House in the future so you can experience a stay more in line with your expectations.

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,561 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
771 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,112 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Address: Garnish House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: £58 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garnish House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing