We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You need to stay at this B&B if you are visiting Cork!”
Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garnish House
Ranked #3 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You need to stay at this B&B if you are visiting Cork!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Garnish House is a top-notch B&B. It is located near the university and is just a short walk into the city centre of Cork. The staff are friendly and helpful. A welcoming tea greeted us upon our arrival along with homemade scones, soda bread and fruit cake. Simply scrumptious! Our room
was nicely decorated and the beds were super comfy. Wifi was available and there weren't any problems with the connection. The highlight of our stay was the breakfast. There were over 30 food items on the menu. Again, the food was fabulous. I would definitely stay at this B&B on a return visit to Cork. It is so affordable and you really get more than you paid for.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyCanuck_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for such kind words about Garnish House, which I read with delight.

I'm especially happy that you mentioned our complimentary wireless internet access because just before you came to stay with us, we upgraded our entire system to improve both speed, reliability and ease of connectivity for all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Garnish on your next visit to Cork.

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, GARNISH HOUSE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    333
    103
    45
    17
See reviews for
292
492
79
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed one night as a family of 7 - from 90 yrs old to 20's. Very warm welcome with tea and scones etc. but stayed down the road in separate house !?? accomodation OK,v. clean and tidy, bit small but fine for one night. But what a breakfast!! you name it - huge options and they cook it to order, and encourage you to eat as much as you can! Couldn't believe it - fabulous and fully recommend for the breakfast alone and location to town. This is more of a 'town house' B&B than a hotel but never a better breakfast!!

Room Tip: Double rooms and beds a bit small, but very comfy and clean. Did have noise from revelling students...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you Beth for taking the time to write such a lovely review, and for choosing us as your base while in Cork.

Garnish comprises of three buildings all within 1 minute's walk of one another here on Western Road. Two of our houses are directly opposite one another and the third is adjacent. This is what enables us to offer our guests such a wide choice of room types and amenities such as sumptuous communal areas to relax in, self-service laundry, complimentary city center parking for all our guests and self-contained units and houses that can be booked by groups.

We thank you again and hope to welcome you back to Garnish in the future.

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, GARNISH HOUSE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very welcoming , friendly staff . tea and scones on arrival ,the rooms are clean and tidy and very well priced, the breakfast menu is second to none .
The hotel is in a central location opposite Cork university.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMartin98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Honestly, if you are traveling to Cork and have the opportunity I highly recommend staying here. The rates are great, the rooms are immaculate and the food is amazing. From the moment you arrive the staff go out of their way to make your stay exceptional. They have plenty of parking and the location is great. You can easily walk to the city centre and to all of the great drinking holes. Highly recommend it. Oh, and the breakfast, it is amazing!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emmaline84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for such kind words about Garnish House. My team and I read your comments with delight. We sincerely hope we can welcome you back to Garnish in the near future.

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, GARNISH HOUSE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
301 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I had to visit Cork to give some talks and this location was great. The breakfast was filling and delicious. we were also close to many great restaurants and a 10 minute walk to the English market area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at Garnish House. We booked a double room and were assigned a 'suite', in the annex in the Aban. The 'suite' can be more likened to a bed sit, with two single beds pushed together. The room was stuffy and due to the location of the accommodation at the very back of Aban house accommodation we had the vista of a car park which meant we had to keep the blinds closed at all times adding further to the dreary atmosphere of the room. On taking a shower the door fell off on top of me, poorly maintained. Bottom line was I didn't feel safe due to the location. The breakfast was great to be fair but that does not compensate for the poor standard of accommodation. Considering the River Lee Hotel. a nearby hotel was charging a 160 per night compared to the €120 we paid, I feel this place is overprice and overrated. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: Pay and extra €40 and go the hotel up the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for choosing Garnish House and for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. However reading your review was quite disheartening for the team here at Garnish.

On arrival you were given a complimentary upgrade from the standard double room you had booked to a one-bedroom apartment consisting of a bedroom with a king-sized bed, private en-suite and living room with kitchenette, which we thought you would enjoy, especially since we have recently finished interior renovations in this part of our complex. May other guests have, and do, and reading your comments about this accommodation was quite disheartening.

We are disappointed that you did not bring your disappointment to our attention immediately, as Garnish is pleased to offer a wide range of room types and sizes, and we would have instantly moved you to another room, availability allowing.

I can assure you that maintenance of our accommodation is a top priority, but occasionally situations occur over which we have no control. We can only apologize for this.

As you can see from our rating here on TripAdvisor and the wonderful sentiments the majority of guests have expressed about their time with us, your experience was not typical of a stay here at Garnish House.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to Garnish House so that we can not only meet your expectations but exceed them. Please contact us directly at info@garnish.ie should you wish to arrange same.

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, GARNISH HOUSE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here about a year ago and really enjoyed ourselves. The people were nice, the food good and the rooms comfortable enough. Sadly our second visit had a few letdowns. The people were still nice although we didn't get quite as good of treatment, the hotel was a bit busier. The food was a total letdown. My wife ordered the Eggs Benedict with salmon and when the arrived at the table we knew something wasn't right. The eggs appeared to have been poached some time before then the hollandaise put on and then put in the over or under a heat lamp. The eggs were fully cooked through and the hollandaise was cooked, hard and chunky. I had a bit better luck with the French Toast but I got an egg on the side and it also was cooked through. The room we had wasn't in nearly as good of shape either. The bed was very firm, the shower sprayed in many directions, the paint in the bathroom was peeling, and there was significant mold growth around the base of the shower. Someone also went a little crazy with the caulk trying to fix all these issues. Overall, for the money it was still not a bad stay but not excellent by any means.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We were delighted to welcome you back to Garnish House recently but were disappointed to read that on this occasion, Garnish did not meet the high expectations we set for you after your first visit.

Happily Garnish is always busy as we welcome many new and returning guests, and we are sorry if you felt this took in any way from your customer experience. I was glad to read, however, your positive comments about our staff.

We have a chef here each morning who prepares each of the 30 dishes on our famous breakfast menu, cooked to order, and if any of them were not cooked or presented to your liking, we wish you had let a member of staff know as we would've been only too happy to rectify the situation for you immediately.

According to the date of your review you stayed with us after we recently completed our room renovations (including brand new bathrooms throughout), so I would most concerned about your comments about your accommodation. Please e-mail us at info@garnish.ie with the number of the room you stayed in and more details, if you can, so we can rectify any outstanding issues immediately.

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, GARNISH HOUSE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Property: Garnish House
Address: Garnish House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garnish House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing