We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"If Hobbits were real, this is where they would eat!"”
Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garnish House
Ranked #3 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was my wife's response to our first breakfast at the Garnish House, several years ago. The food was both deliscious and plentiful. The service was friendly and responsive. The rooms are small, as is the case with many B&B's, but we come back for the food! This year we brought a group of 24 and they provided us a great afternoon tea! Everyone was thrilled! I look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenndeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the Garnish kitchen -- the title of your review made us smile!

It was our pleasure recently to welcome you and the rest of your group for afternoon tea here at Garnish House. We know you yourself stayed with us before and we thank for suggesting the idea to the rest of your group. I hope you enjoyed the freshly baked scones, traditional Irish soda bread, fruit cake and chocolate cake, as well as a Cork staple, Barry's Gold Blend tea.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we look forward to welcoming you back to Garnish in the near future for more, Hobbit-approved fare!

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, GARNISH HOUSE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

We arrived after a long journey to be cheerily greeted and promptly given tea and cakes. We were then shown to our room in an adjacent building. The room was large and clean and looked out onto the local park. At two pages long, the breakfast menu here has to be seen to be believed - and experienced. Without exception all of the staff were very helpful and friendly and the rooms nicely serviced.

An additional vote in it's favour is that the Garnish is only a fifteen minute walk into Cork - really useful as you can park your car and not have to worry about the Cork parking problems.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this as a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the house might be a bit quieter, but it's a little hard to be sure as loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malli60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a nice B&B, very welcoming. The best part of this place is their FOOD! They served us warm tea, and pastries in the sitting room when we arrived. So delicious! Also, the whole place smells wonderful because there were fresh lillies everywhere. Our room was a standard room, nothing too fancy, but the redeeming part was the breakfasts in the mornings! Wow, were they delicious!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahmurphy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My friend suggested I stay here as it's opposite to where he works (UCC). It had a family room that accommodates up to 5 persons and that made my life all the more easier. Got a decent rate without breakfast (Garnish House is known for its breakfast) as the family eats light in the morning.

Got into Cork at 10.30 am and it took some 15 minutes to get to Garnish House by Taxi. Was greeted by the Owner and offered a welcome tea tray in the lounge. The scones, breads, fresh strawberry jam, and butter chased with tea was so comforting. The room was made ready in an adjoining wing.

The room was large but the bathroom was not. The upkeep was very good and the room done simply but elegantly was pleasing to the eye. There is no air-conditioning so the windows had to be kept open, and being on the main road did hear a lot of cars. Fortunately, being from Mumbai, used to much greater noise round the clock.

The staff is very friendly and the Owner excellent. The place is a mere 15 minutes (leisurely) walk from the centre of Cork and it does have a coffee shop and a pizza/shawarma place (that closes at 1 am) right next door. There is a washer and dryer (no charge) available to do your laundry and a kitchen open for guest use should you need to heat or prepare food.

I wish I could have stayed longer than 3 days.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you kindly for your lovely review of Garnish House.

We are delighted to occupy such a convenient space directly opposite the gates of University College Cork, making Garnish the perfect choice for those visiting or working at the university. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 5 individuals (1 double bed, 2 single beds, 1 single-sized sofa bed); I'm glad this made your life easier!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for a longer stay. Should we be experiencing a rare sunny or warm spell then too, please do let us know that you require some fans and we'd be delighted to supply them.

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, GARNISH HOUSE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at Garnish house with our adult daughter. Our room was spacious, clean and beds very comfortable. Hosts very welcoming and had afternoon on arrival which was unexpected. Good off street parking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorraineH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at the Garnish House recently for one night during our tour through Ireland. We arrived to a wonderful welcome with tea and fresh breads and jams. The owner was very friendly, gave lots of good information for local experiences and made it clear he was always available should we need anything. There are actually a few buildings across a half block that comprise the Garnish House and we were told we were in a new one that would be more quiet. We were placed in a room up three flights of stairs that was so small we had a hard time wedging our carry on luggage in the door past the chair and then the bed which was a small double took up so much of the room that it was not possible to close the bathroom door. There is not any air conditioning and we happened to stay on a warm day so opening the window was a must and the construction happening on the street made it less than quiet. The bed was remarkably comfortable despite its small size. The cost for the night was very reasonable and the service fantastic so for those reasons we would recommend it but the comfort and spaciousness (or lack there of) would probably keep us from staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeadedWhimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for a lovely review of Garnish House. I read with delight your comments about our staff, our welcoming afternoon and our famously gourmet breakfast.

Air-conditioning is very unusual in Ireland, except perhaps in brand-new, purpose-built properties, because as I'm sure you know blankets are usually much more in demand than cold air! This past summer we happen to have enjoyed a number of sunny days and warm nights, and I was sorry to read that this led to any discomfort for you during your stay. We do have portable oscillating fans available for all guests on request.

I can see from your picture that you stayed in one of our standard double rooms. If you would have enjoyed more space, we would recommend trying one of our luxury rooms (1 double bed, 1 single bed, spacious seating area, Jacuzzi bath) or one of our superior rooms (with king-sized beds). We are pleased to offer our guests a wide variety of rooms types and sizes, and we're confident we could find you one that you'd like.

We certainly hope that you return to Garnish in the future so you can experience a perfect stay in every way!

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, GARNISH HOUSE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I wish I had more time to Explore cork but was only here for one night. The accommodation was across the street from the main house and had it's own parking. There was a shared full kitchen and dining table. The room was clean and comfy. Breakfast the next day was very good as well. Good place to stay that is close to downtown Cork.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonTraveller2118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,637 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,710 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Address: Garnish House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: £54 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garnish House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing