We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garnish House
Ranked #3 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We certainly got lucky here. Stayed one night, they have different houses and provide you a room - we had one with 3 beds and ensuite bathroom - fortunately we had a full kitchen and lounge to ourselves!
Good wifi - not far from the city center - friendly people, clean and comfortable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chinacol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    329
    99
    44
    16
See reviews for
287
486
79
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in garnish house last night with my husband for a gig at The Marquee. On arrival we sat down to afternoon tea with delicious Brown bread scones and cake. Breakfast this morning was gorgeous, it ranged from omelettes to pancakes and everything was so fresh. Rooms were clean and staff was super friendly! Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 633ainem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Hotel from the Airport at 11.15 am and was immediately welcomed. We were asked to sit in a reception room and then provided with complimentary Tea Coffee Scones and Cakes. The owner then took us a 2 minute drive up the road to the other guest accomodation which was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast the following morning was amazing. The choices available I have never seen at any restaurant. The food was superb and service was second to none. Would recommend this hotel very highly.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of Garnish House, which we read with delight. I have shared your nice comments with our team and we are all hoping for the opportunity to welcome you back on another occasion.

Kindest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, GARNISH HOUSE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We booked two superior rooms for two nights at Garnish House as part of a trip around Ireland. We had a very pleasant stay (apart from the weather!). We were driving a hire car and the first trick, if you are coming from the west, is that Western Road changes its name several times and the Hotel is actually on a section named Lancaster Gate that is one way, heading west, where the hotel is. So, the trick is to follow Western Road to the point where it becomes one-way (you will have an entrance to the University on the right and Garnish House is about 3 buildings up from the intersection on the left). You can only turn left at this intersection, so take that and turn right at the next opportunity and then right again back onto Lancaster Gate and be ready for the entrance to the Garnish House parking area, now on your right just before the intersection where the road becomes two way. Its actually pretty straightforward!
Parking can be tight if the hotel is full but just pull in anyway, you might have to move later to let people in or out.
The staff here were very friendly. There are stairs but our luggage was carried up. We were in the annexed building next door. The rooms were quite different. One was huge but with the tiniest bathroom. The other was about half the size but with a bathroom triple the size. You might want to check this because my bathroom (shower only) would have been a problem for a bigger person or someone with limited mobility, or, indeed, a couple. Otherwise, the rooms were well equipped. There are a few frayed edges (eg grouting in the bathroom needed repair) but nothing that was a problem for the price. I had a room fronting onto the road, which is quite busy, but had an excellent sleep. The annexe has a nice little guest lounge on the ground floor. Breakfast was very nice. There are a few eating options on Western Road but the hotel is a bit further out of the city than I had pictured - a 10-15 minute walk. Heading towards the city there is a liquor store if you want some drinks. The nearby University is worth a visit for the grounds. If you are staying in Cork, this is an excellent option and its clearly popular, so you will need to book.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the extra but check what size bathroom you are getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review of Garnish, and for choosing us in the first place. We appreciate your kind words.

For the benefit of other travellers however, I would like to clarify that Garnish is indeed on Western Road. However to get to us using GPS, the best address to enter is '1 LANCASTER QUAY'. This will bring you to the River Lee Hotel; both the hotel and the river will be on your left. Keep driving past it and you will soon see Garnish House on your right.

If you are approaching from the west, Garnish House is on a one-way section of Western Road so you will be forced to make a left-hand turn before you reach us, when the gates of University College Cork are to your right and the 'Coffee Station' cafe is in front of you. After you make this forced turn, turn right, right and turn right again. You will now be back on Western Road but coming towards us in the right direction and - yes, you've guessed it - we'll be on your right.

Garnish House is a traditional Irish guesthouse which is in a property converted from its original use. Therefore each and every one is different and special in their own way, but all have all modern conveniences and have been recently renovated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Garnish House should you stop by this way again in the future.

Kindest regards
Catherine
GARNISH HOUSE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with 2 young children for 2 nights and it was very nice. The room was small (as expected in a B&B) but the house had a common area right outside the room. We stayed in room 1 in the building across the road from the main building.
Breakfast was a highlight... Awesome Irish breakfast.
Staff were friendly and excellent.
The location was a fair way from the centre of the city and action, but for us that was ok.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Let me first say that I would return to this place, it wasn't horrible or anything. Our room was very clean and spacious, especially the bathroom. Staff is onsight 24 hours which is very nice if you need something in the middle of the night. We were treated very well while there, staff was very pleasant and accommodating. My only "complaint", which isn't really a complaint, is that this place did not make me feel cozy. The decor looks a bit outdated and very simple, nothing fancy at all. In fact there wasn't much decoration at all. The location was very convenient, within walking distance of all the shopping and pub district.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Garnish House, and for choosing to stay with us in the first place. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your time here.

I was, however, puzzled to read that you felt Garnish was neither cosy nor sufficiently decorated. Since Christmas we have renovated each and every one of our guest rooms and guest areas alongside the Laura Ashley Design Service, and replaced flooring and bathrooms throughout. Please contact me directly at info@garnish.ie with more details at your convenience.

Kindest regards
Catherine Howard
Receptionist, GARNISH HOUSE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip Island, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

A wonderful B&B to stay - we had 2 nights and the staff are so welcoming and friendly. An amazing breakfast menu available and we were spoiled by the staff each day.
The bonus was the laundry being done for us! ! Would recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable B&B in Cork.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Property: Garnish House
Address: Garnish House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garnish House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing