We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place to stay”
Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garnish House
Ranked #3 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2009

My friend and I had a wonderful stay at Garnish House. The welcome we received was friendly and warm and the afternoon tea was amazing. The room although on the small side, was fine with very comfortable beds and having the sitting room next to us gave us extra space and was a cosy place to relax. Joanna couldn't do enough for us and was the perfect host. We would recommend highly to anyone visiting Cork, to stay here. The location was great, fantastic breakfast and afternoon tea and wonderful hosts. Thanks for a lovely stay. (Margaret and Margaret)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2009

Absolutely fantastic place to stay. Room was spacious, bed was extremely comfortable, staff extremely friendly and genuinely interested in you and your holiday. And my God! The breakfast! Without a doubt the nicest I have had in my life. An absolute joy to stay in.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinTin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Our one night stay (four of us in two rooms) in August 09 at Garnish House will probably be best remembered for the amazing welcome and the equally amazing breakfast. On arrival we were treated to tea, coffee, cakes and bread that – in both volume and quality -was more like a meal than a courtesy welcome gesture. Breakfast, with its 30 options, was a culinary event that you need to witness to believe. Our “compact” room was a bit of a disappointment and the even more compact en suite was both difficult and uncomfortable to use. There was ample off street parking and the premises were clean throughout. Garnish House is a 10 to 15 minute walk from the centre of Cork with its ample selection of eating and drinking venues. We would describe Garnish House as a small hotel with a friendly B & B culture and we would consider returning there but would hope for a larger room

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landcruiserBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Was offered high tea upon arrival. Baked goods were wonderful but arrive well before dinner or you'll be too full to eat another meal. Located next to UCC and a 10 minute walk to town. Service and room were excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigblueswing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

A 20 minute walk via several nice bars and restaurants, brings you into the City of Cork.
The Garnish House is great in service, hospitality and breakfast. We had a simple and relative small double room and a small bed which was OK and clean. Shower and toilet were small as well, but no problems again on the cleanliness.
If you don't care about spacious rooms, this is the place to be in Cork.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinfloris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

When my wife and out two girls arrived we were welcomed by an enormous tray of goodies and tea and were seated in a cozy sitting room where we were able to admire the lovely display of photos of Ireland and Cork City on the wall. Our room was fantastic- a suite with fresh flowers and fruit, a sitting area, and a jacuzzi. The location is great for wandering the city, pubs and restaurants. And of course, the breakfast is amazing! The staff were friendly and helpful to boot...
The breakfast is the best breakfast you will ever set eyes on. Salmon, Trout and everything else in abundance. You look to see if there is a Royal Visitor, maybe the Queen but no this is Garnish House & today you are the Royal visitor. We asked for the Salmon breakfast from the menu. The service was top class. Next after getting your beautiful salmon one of the owners many daughters said "Try a bit of trout, its lovely today" and we ended up sitting through a breakfast in heaven.

I still pinch myself thinking about this Guest House. My advice stay here as soon as you get a chance. I stake my reputation on this as "THE BEST B+B IN THE WORLD!"
Before you go there stay hungry & Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westkerry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Garnish House and would highly recommend it to everyone!
The teas and cakes on arrival were just what the doctor ordered after a long journey. The room was nice and cozy and very clean. Breakfast was amazing! The food was incredible and the staff were extremely courteous. The housekeeping and general service was impeccable. Their attention to detail and efficiency were outstanding. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming, and helpful with information and good recommendations.
The location was just a short walk from the heart of downtown Cork.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMahonys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,714 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
828 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Address: Garnish House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: £56 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garnish House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing