We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Metropole Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Right across the river from the main shopping avenue. The gym is very nice and the restaurant is great. The internet is a little slow. I was able to walk everywhere from the hotel. There is a connivence store across the street to buy water and snacks, but you cannot eat outside food in any of the common areas of the hotel. There are quite a few tea shops and cafes within walking distance.

Room Tip: Book a river view it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Robin K,
Thank you for taking the time to write to me and tell me of your experience as feedback whether it is positive or negative serves as one of the most effective ways of monitoring customer satisfaction. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the whole team. Thank you once again for your comments and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Gresham Metropole Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards

Roger Russell
General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    660
    283
    128
    78
See reviews for
266
698
144
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were told by our travel agent that this was a five star hotel in Cork. While there may be some rooms that can be rated five stars the basic rooms would be embarrassed to be in a Motel 6! The rooms were musty, did not have refrigerator, or safes. So if you stay there get an upgrade from the basic room. Another issue is the garage that the hotel uses closed at 7, even though it was supposed to stay open till 8. After parking on the street, we managed to get the desk to open the garage. A friend had the upgraded room, and they were quite happy with their accommodation s. The hotel is centrally located in Cork. All of the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ynapa456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear ynapa456,
Thank you for taking the time to write to me and tell me of your experience as feedback whether it is positive or negative serves as one of the most effective ways of monitoring customer satisfaction. Although we are a Three star hotel and not a Five star we do offer electronic safes and refrigerators in our Executive Rooms. Thank you again for your comments and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Gresham Metropole Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards

Roger Russell
General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel was friendly and the staff were helpful. The room was quite small but very functional and is well maintained. The wi-fi was quite average or even slow.

A real bonus was the excellent leisure centre within the hotel, great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Johnny O,
Thank you for taking the time to write to me and tell me of your experience as feedback whether it is positive or negative serves as one of the most effective ways of monitoring customer satisfaction. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the whole team. Thank you once again for your comments and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Gresham Metropole Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards

Roger Russell
General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Had a great stay in Cork, the Metropole was good. The room was a strange shape, like it used to be a hallway in the olden days? But we made it work, sound bleed through I think was a problem for the people upstairs! ;-P Over all we had a lovely stay; however we paid when we arrived and when we left we were told that we were accidentally undercharged by either 7 or 12 euro I can't remember; and as we drove up the road we realized that we hadn't been undercharged at all! We paid the price that was quoted the night before; I'm not sure at all what the charge was for. It was something that would have bothered me a few years ago but I'm more chilled out now;besides it was good value even with the mysterious extra charge on exit.

If you are staying here go to Greens restaurant across the road for dinner; exquisite!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obviouslyrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Obviouslyrosie,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and tell us of your experience. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the whole team. If you would be so kind as to email me with your details so I can investigate the undercharging. Thank you again and please do not hesitate in contacting me directly when making your next booking with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Gresham Metropole.
Kind Regards
Roger Russell
General Manager
e-mail: roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed in the Metropole last year and we were only discussing at the weekend what an awful experience it was! The room was dingy, uncomfortable bed, noisey as single glazed window in our room overlooked busy street outside. Food was below average. Reception staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. Could not wait to leave this hotel and return to home comforts!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel overall a bit old fashioned 1970's dinner menu and could do with updating but value for money as a city centre hotel.it's clean and very central for a visit to cork. First and last point of contact is with reception and I've got to say the receptionist (Kelly was the name on the badge) was the rudest and most condescending receptionist I've come across in a long time. Obviously not cut out for the job. We had an issue about dinner arrangements and because of her attitude requested to speak to a manager who dealt with it very promptly and satisfactorily. But why oh why do owners/management allow people like this represent them?? Bar staff were friendly and we had no other issues. For value for money good but please brush up on receptionist skills

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here to go to some things in cork city. The hotel is in a v good location. However, the rooms are very small and the beds are small too. Another issue is the slowest lift ever, rude unhelpful reception staff ( who are rude to you if you are not wearing a suit ), and general shabbiness of the hotel. Good points were kind bar staff, a friendly door-man, nice breakfast service staff and a quaint, "of a bygone age" atmosphere in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conasatatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,363 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#11 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Property: The Metropole Hotel
Address: MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland (Formerly The Gresham Metropole Cork)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cork
#17 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, The Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 112 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay.Part of Tifco Hotel Group, The Metropole Hotel is a 3 star Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at The Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing