We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belvedere Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Imperial Hotel(Cork)
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
River Lee Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
122
153
59
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
153
59
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus stopcity centrevegetarian breakfastlovely big roomfull irish breakfastsmall hotelgood sizesized roomwalking distancebreakfast was excellentvery comfortable staythe ground floorhome from homestayed here for one nightbed and breakfastold world charmtea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had a marvelous stay in Belvedere Lodge. Wonderful interiors, very good service and excellent breakfast too, I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to stay in Cork. It is very well located as it has easy access to many of the near attractions. The rooms were very nice and I found it very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

As much as it greatly upsets me to review Belvedere Lodge like this, I do deem it very necessary. We booked 3 rooms, one of which I can not fault, one had absolutely no hot water, then ours firstly was very old fashioned and outdated (which I must say would not bother me under other circumstances), we had no hot water which was very badly needed as we had a black tie event to attend on the evening of our arrival. Secondly we noticed 2 small ants in the bathroom, thinking nothing of it we left the house, only to return in the early hours to find an infestation of ants in the bathroom, some of which had travelled under the door and entered our opened luggage case. After hearing of this before breakfast we were offered a small discount on the room. The breakfast I personally thought was fine, but then i have to say the staff member who served it was far from friendly. Very very disappointed with my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aidan2521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights whilst touring the south of Eire, in March 2013. Our first impression was of deception - from the car park you see this grand house, but once inside it is a warren of passage ways and additional rooms! We were given a modern room in the extended part of the Belvedere, by the young Czech assistant. The room was clean, smart and with all the expected amenities of a good hotel room. The fact that the Belvedere was on the edge of Cork was not a problem as it allowed us to explore public transport and avoid excessive car park charges in Cork.

Breakfast was excellent - everything was hot and tasted freshly cooked. The tea, which came with a hat on the pot, was also very good (sometimes hotel tea can taste bland!!).

I have one minor criticism - the in room tea/coffee tray came with a kit kat on the first day.. but never again!!

All in all, the Belvedere was a good place, at a fair price to stay whilst in Cork. Thanks.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ensure you mention this on booking (at least contact the hotel before arrival) to ensure you are not down the corridor and up two flights of stairs!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilco-holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We came to stay at the Belvedere Lodge whilst visiting Cork for a wedding. We looked at a few options and it came out top for price, location and the overall impression from the website. However, whilst location was great for our needs everything else was a little underwhelming...

Our check-in was very quick but not overly helpful, and certainly not the "all of our guests are offered a drink on arrival with something warm and delicious from the oven" that the website promised - after a cold and drizzly arrival it would have been greatly appreciated! However the room did have adequate tea and coffee facilities, and when we asked for more teabags were given a good supply.

The bedrooms, from the look of ours, would benefit greatly from being updated and some new mattresses on the beds. Ours was very soft and the pillows leave a little to be desired. There was also no control on the radiator, which given the recent weather left it a little chilly but not unbearable. The rooms are spacious but not 'luxurious'. Our TV did not feature a DVD player or trouser press as the website suggests - thankfully I'd packed the travel iron!

The bathroom (including the hairdryer) was very much the sort your expect in a Travelodge with a shallow bath and bearable shower and not overly 'generous' in size. It also took five minutes to get the hot water through the tap - longer if trying to run it through the shower!

In terms of everything else... some information in the rooms about the local area would have been useful - particularly as not much is in walking distance. We resorted to driving to a local KFC on our first evening to avoid Cork centre in the dark and wet. We managed to log on to the free WiFi to find the info we needed, although in an old building with lots of brick walls the signal is weak! Breakfast was definitely tasty, and the cold buffet offered plenty too. However we were disappointed not to see soda bread or potato cakes on the full Irish - it was like an English breakfast but without baked beans.

Overall I have to say it was just very average, and certainly underwhelming when compared to what the website suggests it offers. However, it is a lovely building with plenty of free parking and garden does look nice. Don't be put off by the proximity to the main road - we didn't hear the traffic at all, and it is only a few minutes drive from the centre of Cork. If you can get a good deal on price then it's not a bad place to stay, but don't pay over the odds and expect the luxury the website seems to offer. And we can certainly recommend Blarney Castle as being worth a visit :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackiL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

After reading all the 'excellent' 5* reviews on here I was expecting something really exceptional, individual & unique that would mark this out from all the other B&Bs in Cork. But unfortunately there isn't anything special about this place at all.

Staff are quiet and friendly. There's parking. Breakfast is typically adequate B&B standard. Beds are moderately comfortable. Furniture / TV / carpet / curtains looked a little old and tired. Generally a pretty average B&B.

I had a room on the ground floor near Reception and could hear people talking crystal clear, as well as doors banging & people treading the corridor floorboards from 8am. It's also situated on a main road, definitely not walking distance from Cork. Nearest shop is a petrol station 5 mins walk alongside the busy road.

If you want a budget B&B in a quiet area then this is probably for you.

Room Tip: Not near reception
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torst35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews