We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Friendly Service”
Review of Lancaster Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lancaster Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The location of this hotel is brilliant and there is free car parking. Shopping and restaurants are a few minutes walk away which makes it an excellent base for discovering the city. The staff are friendly and courteous and the breakfast is outstanding with a good vegetarian option. Even when busy, the service at breakfast was prompt and the food was delicious and beautifully presented. The room was comfortable and clean and good water pressure in the shower. There is a lovely lounge where you can relax and read the papers on very comfy couches. Overall, a great small hotel for short breaks.

Room Tip: Every room I have stayed in was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Amanda D,

Many thanks for your review of your stay at Lancaster Lodge recently.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in particular your breakfast which is as they say the most important meal of the day! I have passed your compliments to the chef.

As you mentioned the location is great for a city base with free parking and we hope that you will stay with us on your next visit to Cork.

Kind regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2013

Loved this place we up graded our room which was massive the bed so comfy and the shower was brilliant. We stayed for three nights and had breakfast twice both times cooked to order with fresh coffee I had mini Irish breakfast one morning then bacon beagle the othe time but where cooked to perfection. Rooms cleaned every day and towels changed every day too with fresh bottled water replaced as well. The day we checked out they stored our luggage for us so we could enjoy our last day then when we came to collect them they called a taxi for us. As the other reviews state location of this place is brilliant ten min walk to centre five mins to the university and a taxi from airport cost 15 euros. I would recommend this accommodation to everyone

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 84shaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear 84shaz,

Thanks for choosing to stay at Lancaster Lodge and also for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the SuperKing Pillow Top Bed in our Suites!! I have passed your lovely comments to the team and we hope that we will see you again soon at Lancaster Lodge.
Warm regards,
Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

As many other reviewers mentioned, the location of this hotel is great. There is free car parking and it is only a 10 minute walk from downtown. The service was rather poor and it lacked any sort of Irish charm and hospitality. Breakfast was good, when someone would actually bring you a menu and acknowledge your presence. The rooms were also loud and walls were thin. The hotel was mostly clean but someone really ought to dust the lights over the reception desk.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4n6_grrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay and thank you for choosing to stay at Lancaster Lodge.

I would like to thank you for bringing the issues you encountered during your stay at Lancaster Lodge to my attention. I found your comments constructive, and I was delighted to read that you found the free car parking and location great and that you enjoyed your breakfast.

We strive to deliver excellent service and as evidenced by your remarks, we did not do this fully during your stay. I would like to assure you that the issues mentioned in this review have been addressed.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Lancaster Lodge if you return to Cork in the future.

Kind Regards,
Susan Leahy
General Manager
Lancaster Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night over a weekend. It's location was excellent, 10 minute walk from Patrick St which is the main shopping street. The room was clean and beds were very comfortable! Staff were helpful and gave us tips of where to see on our short stay..

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank delboywex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive review and for choosing to stay at Lancaster Lodge.
I am happy to pass on your comments to our staff. I am glad you found everything to your satisfaction on your brief stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay if you are in Cork again in the future.
Warm regards,
Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stay here about once/twice per year. A friend and I meet up for a night out in cork every year for last number of years and Lancaster lodge is definitely best choice of places to stay for our needs I.e. close to town for shopping and socialising. I have only all positives. It is like a large guesthouse, has free parking, friendly staff, quiet and clean nice rooms. Always good value and walking distance to town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KilkennyDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to write about your stay's at Lancaster Lodge. Thank you for being a regular customer of ours and I am happy with your positive comments and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Warm regards,
Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

On our visit to UCC we stayed at this hotel. This was a great hotel, the rooms were very good, the breakfast was very good. The front staff and the breakfast service were very good and helpful. The choices for breakfast were great and the food was hot and cooked to order. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CtFamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive review and for taking the time to write about your stay at Lancaster Lodge.
I am happy to pass on your positive comments to our staff. I am glad you found everything to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your breakfast particularly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Warm regards,
Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

A business trip and I wanted easy access to town and airport. This provided both. Bed and linen large and comfortable. Free and good wifi and ample free parking too. Clean and tidy; nothing particularly stylish but good all the same. The surprise was the breakfast which was superbly prepared and unlikely to be bettered in many capital city top hotels.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank BiggestHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Dear BiggestHank,
Thank you for your recent review of Lancaster Lodge. I am pleased that you had such a comfortable stay with us and that you felt we offer good value and location. Thank you for your positive feedback on our breakfast also and I will be delighted pass your comments to our chef.
We hope to welcome you back at Lancaster Lodge again soon.
Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,715 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,281 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,217 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Lodge

Address: 21A Western Road | Lancaster Quay, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cork
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#9 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range: £66 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lancaster Lodge, a purpose built 4 Star Guesthouse with 48 hotel style contemporary bedrooms in a superb location with free car parking in Cork city centre. In December 2014 we completed a bedroom refurbishment and offer stylish modern bedrooms with warm colours, fabrics and armchairs, and 32" Flatscreen TV's. Lancaster Lodge offers good value for money, free high speed Wi-Fi, comfortable spacious bedrooms with all the modern conveniences of a Cork city hotel but with a personal touch. From the moment you arrive our friendly staff will make your stay a pleasant one. You will be immediately struck by our unique design and our attention to detail. We are ideally located in Cork city centre overlooking the river Lee, and just a few minutes' walk from The English Market, The Opera House, University College Cork, Fitzgerald's Park and St Finbarre's Cathedral, and with ample free car parking included for our guests from early on the day of your arrival until 6pm on day of departure, you don't have to worry about where to park your car. So whether your stay is for business or leisure, few Cork city hotels can match our ideal location and we will make your stay in Cork a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lancaster Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing