We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just right!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lancaster Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lancaster Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Coachford, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just right!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

A lovely stay with welcoming staff, clean comfortable room, great choice for breakfast and a reasonable rate. Right in the centre of the city. What more could you want? Four star bed and breakfast.... It does what it says on the tin .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antoinette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Antoinette,

Many thanks for your review of your stay at Lancaster Lodge.

We are very happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    285
    85
    13
    4
See reviews for
101
329
52
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Here are the reasons I gave the Lancaster Lodge a 5/5: It isn't the most posh hotel in the world and it's lacking in a few minor amenities, like a bar, which we didn't really miss, but it represents a terrific value. It's chic, a little Bohemian, it's located in the center of Cork, it has free, secure parking, the breakfast is great, the staff is professional and polite, and our room was comfortable. That's a difficult combination to come by for the price we paid. And that combination of positives made it a memorable stay.

As for the bar, you can't just take the elevator after getting pickled. But why would someone visit Cork only to stay in their hotel bar the whole time? We found a great little pub with attached German-named restaurant - I believe it was the Bier Halle, or Bier Garden across the river. Lots of great beers and excellent food.

Next time we're in Cork, we'll stay at the Lancaster again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tradefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Tradefreak,

Thanks so much for the lovely review of your stay at Lancaster Lodge recently.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, in particular our professional staff and the great breakfast and also that you found us such good value.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Cork.

Warm Regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normandy, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Lancaster Lodge hotel as part of a trip to Ireland. The rooms are clean and generous. The beds are comfortable and the location is excellent. Safe secure parking added to our relaxed stay. We had continental breakfast on one morning - okay, not outstanding, but good value for money. Well recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerisy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Cerisy2,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our generous sized rooms and the comfortable bed. As you mentioned our location is excellent for access to the city centre and with our free car parking too it is handy to be able to park the car and stroll into town.

I hope you had an enjoyable holiday in Ireland and if you are back in Cork again we would love for you to stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Lancaster Lodge is ideally located being only a 5-10 minute walk to the city centre. It provides secure, free parking right outside the front door which is great. Check-in was efficient with the receptionist friendly and helpful with local knowledge. We were allocated a room at the rear on the fourth floor. The view out the back was uninspiring (an abandoned building site) but as we did not opt to stay here for the view it didnt annoy us.

The room was very clean as was the en-suite. The TV on the wall was too small but again as we were out most of the time it didnt really matter.

Being on the top floor unfortunately meant we were close to the plumbing supply for the whole hotel. This meant that moving water was audible from early in the morning which served as our unwanted alarm call. Wi-fi worked reasonably well - although being on the top floor probably restricted access slightly.

We opted for breakfast only on the second morning and realised we should have had it both days as it was great value and very tasty.

All in all a very plesant stay.

Room Tip: Opt for a front of hotel room which is not on the top floor (to avoid plumbing noises)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alasdair50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Alasdair50,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Lancaster Lodge.

We are very pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us in particular our ideal location for a short walk to the city centre. Also I am happy that you enjoyed your breakfast and will make sure to pass your compliments to the chef.

We hope to see you again the next time you have occasion to stay in Cork.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Lancaster Lodge, situated next to the River Lee, is fairly new and very modern, with clean bedrooms, friendly staff and lots of room for parking. The rooms are very good looking with the Hotel's main colours, purple and green. We stayed for 2 nights (breakfast was not included) and enjoyed every minute of it.

Tip: Across the street is Ireland's best vegetarian restaurant. Make sure you visit "Café Paradiso!"

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshyisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review of your recent 2 night stay at Lancaster Lodge.

I have passed on your comments to our staff. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope that you return to stay with us very soon!

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just arrived home from a 2 night stay feeling very tired due to lack of sleep.

Hotel is easy to find, with adequate parking. All the staff we met were friendly and professional.

Was delighted to find we were on the top floor but the room was quite small and far from "deluxe" Facilities ok though a bit short on storage space for clothes. The tea/coffee station is hidden in the wardrobe and had to be carried over to a table to plug in due to a very short lead.

The room was very stuffy but window can be fully opened.

After spending a few hours in Cork back in hotel I needed a shower. While the shower is great, very powerful, I soon noticed the water was not draining away and was soon lapping round my ankles. Pulled up the plug cover to find a thick hairball clogging the drain ( definitely not mine!) it was 10.30 at night so I had no option to pull the clog out, cutting my finger in the process. It still took a while to drain suggesting the drains are pretty clogged up. Once the water was gone I managed to get another pile of hair out of the drain. UGH! I know these things happen but surely as part of housekeeping these things need to be checked weekly at the very least.

After that, used the hairdryer supplied - still do not understand why hotels bother, it was very weak and difficult to keep running as you had to keep you finger on a button the whole time.

The bed was too hard for me and very creaky so I got little sleep the first night. Also little noise insulation so we had to listen to our neighbours rowing for a couple of hours.

In fairness to the hotel staff when I mentioned the shower when heading out the following morning they said they would attend to it immediately ( although I had already unplugged the blockage) and when my other half came back to the hotel about an hour later the room was cleaned with an apology note and some free bottled water, which was a nice touch. The receptionist also offered to put us in another room but I declined as we were only there for one more night.

2nd night - again, little sleep, this time thanks to the inconsiderate guests who decided to shout lengthy goodnights to each other up the corridor at 3am Not young people either!

We didn't bother with the breakfast, there is a lounge but no bar so it was empty all the time.

There is free wifi which worked well

It's not a bad hotel, and had I not had the the task of unplugging the drain myself I might have felt a little kinder to the place but for such a small hotel they need to concentrate on the small things as I also noticed the light fittings in the public areas were very dusty, and one of our drawers was broken.

Room Tip: Front of hotel seem a bit bigger and you dont have to look at the car park and building site behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irelandreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Irelandreg,

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay at Lancaster Lodge.

We are pleased that you found all of our staff both friendly and professional, and that you also availed of our free guest car parking and Wi-Fi. I am sorry for the issue you had with your drain in your shower and I am happy that our team responded to your issue immediately when you mentioned it to our reception staff.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay at Lancaster Lodge again and please contact me directly should you wish to do so.

Warm Regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Very clean and reasonable accommodation near city centre. Excellent breakfasts!!

Helpful desk staff. No bar was the only drawback as it would have been nice to have somewhere to sit and have a nightcap.

Otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Jean M,

Many thanks for submitting the review of your stay at Lancaster Lodge.

We are pleased that you found your stay excellent, and that you especially enjoyed your breakfast. We do not as you mentioned have a bar on our premises, but being so centrally located in Cork city there are many bars to choose from within 5 minutes walk.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Cork.

Warm Regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Lodge

Property: Lancaster Lodge
Address: 21A Western Road | Lancaster Quay, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#6 Business Hotel in Cork
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#11 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lancaster Lodge, a purpose built 4 Star Guesthouse with 48 hotel style contemporary bedrooms in a superb location with free car parking in Cork city centre. In December 2014 we completed a bedroom refurbishment and offer stylish modern bedrooms with warm colours, fabrics and armchairs, and 32" Flatscreen TV's. Lancaster Lodge offers good value for money, free high speed Wi-Fi, comfortable spacious bedrooms with all the modern conveniences of a Cork city hotel but with a personal touch. From the moment you arrive our friendly staff will make your stay a pleasant one. You will be immediately struck by our unique design and our attention to detail. We are ideally located in Cork city centre overlooking the river Lee, and just a few minutes' walk from The English Market, The Opera House, University College Cork, Fitzgerald's Park and St Finbarre's Cathedral, and with ample free car parking included for our guests from early on the day of your arrival until 6pm on day of departure, you don't have to worry about where to park your car. So whether your stay is for business or leisure, few Cork city hotels can match our ideal location and we will make your stay in Cork a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing