We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job.”
Review of Lancaster Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lancaster Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Did the job.”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Some front receptionists very friendly, others the bare minimum. Short walk to city centre.

Difficult to find with our sat nav and we got lost in the tiny, one way back lanes of cork. However, once there good on-site parking.

Room was ok, nothing special. Broken steam extractor in bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AUSalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear AUSalex,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Lancaster Lodge.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you availed of our free guest car parking. The one way streets of Cork can be confusing even for those of us who live here, Corkonians say its part of the charm!

On foot of your review we found that one room had a bathroom extractor fan that was not working correctly and this has now been replaced.

I hope you enjoyed your trip to Cork city and we would love for you to return to stay with us again so we can give you a warm welcome across the board.

Warm regards,
Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    295
    87
    13
    4
See reviews for
104
337
53
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This little hotel could easily be mistaken for a dodgy motor inn from the outside, but when you go in you will see that this is a nice hotel with friendly staff. We stayed here in August 2013 for two nights as a base to visit Kerry for the day. Great if you have a car as there is plently of parking. The room was very comfortable. The area was reasonably quiet, however the trucks going past were a bit noisy if we had the window open. The one drawback to this place is that it is a 15 minute walk to the city centre, but this was fine as it let us walk off the delicious dinners. Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gobees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Gobees,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Lancaster Lodge recently.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us as a place to stay. I hope that you enjoyed your trip to Cork and is you are ever back in the city I hope you will return to stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Lancaster lodge is in an excellent location, only a few minutes walk into the city centre with free parking & Wifi. The lovely lady at reception was friendly & efficient and made check-in a breeze.
The room was comfy and spacious and though we heard a bit of street noise throughout the night it wasn't excessive.
Though there is no bar or restaurant at the hotel, this wasn't an issue for us. Staff were happy to recommend a restaurant in the city centre which turned out to be one of the best meals we had (Market Lane).
Overall a great place to spend our one night in Cork.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dane73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Dane73,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us at Lancaster Lodge.

I am very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and also that you enjoyed your evening out in the Market Lane. As you said our location being so central to the city centre and with our free car parking you can enjoy your city trip without the worry of parking.

We hope that you will return to stay again soon should you have occasion to return to Cork.

Warm regards,
Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COPENHAGEN
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Good, small hotel with nice rooms, a breakfast room, free wifi etc. It was comfortable, clean and an easy walk to the city centre. Not so easy to find initially, but the bonus of free parking made it an ideal place to spend the night in Cork.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcscMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Lancaster Lodge.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found us the ideal place to spend the night in Cork.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

As someone who spends a great deal of time in hotels I tend to avoid guest houses as unpredictable. Lancaster lodge is advertised as a guest house but is really a hotel. There is no bar or evening restaurant which I suppose is why it is classed as a guest house. The rooms are of hotel quality and the breakfast is excellent, both cold buffet and cooked breakfast. Hotels in Cork are expensive and this sits well in the price range. I always stay here when in Cork; there is an excellent bar over the road and many restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Torland,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of your recent stay at Lancaster Lodge.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found both your bedroom and your breakfast to be excellent quality.

We thank you for your repeat custom and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lancaster Lodge on your next visit to Cork.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Until I arrived I expected to be staying in a Hotel as I had booked on a hotels website. This is not a hotel despite the price - it is a guesthouse therefore no facilities other than a breakfast room and a TV room for guests. Rooms were good size and clean. Parking availability so near to the CIty is a bonus. Internet access for guests on a PC in the TV lounge, 7 mins costs €1. Papers complimentary each morning - nice touch. Very pricey for a B&B though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breffni054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Breffni054,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay at Lancaster Lodge.

We offer 4 star bedrooms and breakfast in a very central city location with ample free car parking and free Wi-Fi for our guests. Best prices are usually available when booked directly with ourselves and if you are coming back to Cork again, please do check our our web-site for specials as we do offer very good value. I am pleased that you found you room a good size and very clean also.

I hope you enjoyed your visit to Cork and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My first time at Lancaster Lodge, really nice, smart, sharp, clean, crisp and free Wi-fi!
Good welcome, goos service, good breakfast. They were also able to recommend a good restaurant as well.
I'll be using it again without doubt.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Adrian G,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Lancaster Lodge recently.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,461 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,546 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,038 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Lodge

Property: Lancaster Lodge
Address: 21A Western Road | Lancaster Quay, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#6 Business Hotel in Cork
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#11 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lancaster Lodge, a purpose built 4 Star Guesthouse with 48 hotel style contemporary bedrooms in a superb location with free car parking in Cork city centre. In December 2014 we completed a bedroom refurbishment and offer stylish modern bedrooms with warm colours, fabrics and armchairs, and 32" Flatscreen TV's. Lancaster Lodge offers good value for money, free high speed Wi-Fi, comfortable spacious bedrooms with all the modern conveniences of a Cork city hotel but with a personal touch. From the moment you arrive our friendly staff will make your stay a pleasant one. You will be immediately struck by our unique design and our attention to detail. We are ideally located in Cork city centre overlooking the river Lee, and just a few minutes' walk from The English Market, The Opera House, University College Cork, Fitzgerald's Park and St Finbarre's Cathedral, and with ample free car parking included for our guests from early on the day of your arrival until 6pm on day of departure, you don't have to worry about where to park your car. So whether your stay is for business or leisure, few Cork city hotels can match our ideal location and we will make your stay in Cork a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing