We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Cork”
Review of Lancaster Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lancaster Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Lancaster Lodge was a good spot - clean hotel, efficent front desk staff, decent bedroom - mine didn't have a veiw of the river but many wood - and in a perfect location for me (as I was visting the University - a 10 min walk - but still close to town).
It is not a full service hotel as there is no bar and no restarant even for a snack but there is breakfast if you want. It also has good, relatively secure, free parking which is quite important in Cork.
I'd recommend, but note that it is probably only 25-35% cheaper than the River Lee hotel which is 2mins up the road and is a full service 4* hotel - you get what you pay for but it may or may not be worth it depending on what you're looking for..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DagdaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Lancaster Lodge.

I am very pleased that you were happy with your stay and car parking, and that you found us to be clean, that you were happy with your bedroom and also efficient front desk staff

We would like to wish you a very Happy Christmas and hope to see you sometime in the New Year.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel comes with free parking and free Wi-Fi. Breakfast wasn’t included in our room rate, but we purchased it everyday. We opted for the 6 Euro continental. Breakfast was very good. The staff running the breakfast room was very attentive!

The hotel is in a great location. Halfway between the university campus (a great place to walk around!) and the main shopping/restaurant area.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for you review of your recent 3 night stay at Lancaster Lodge.

I am delighted that you would return to stay with us again and that you found our location, breakfast and staff very good.

We would like to wish you a very Happy Christmas and hope to see you sometime in the New Year.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Some front receptionists very friendly, others the bare minimum. Short walk to city centre.

Difficult to find with our sat nav and we got lost in the tiny, one way back lanes of cork. However, once there good on-site parking.

Room was ok, nothing special. Broken steam extractor in bathroom.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUSalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear AUSalex,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Lancaster Lodge.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you availed of our free guest car parking. The one way streets of Cork can be confusing even for those of us who live here, Corkonians say its part of the charm!

On foot of your review we found that one room had a bathroom extractor fan that was not working correctly and this has now been replaced.

I hope you enjoyed your trip to Cork city and we would love for you to return to stay with us again so we can give you a warm welcome across the board.

Warm regards,
Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This little hotel could easily be mistaken for a dodgy motor inn from the outside, but when you go in you will see that this is a nice hotel with friendly staff. We stayed here in August 2013 for two nights as a base to visit Kerry for the day. Great if you have a car as there is plently of parking. The room was very comfortable. The area was reasonably quiet, however the trucks going past were a bit noisy if we had the window open. The one drawback to this place is that it is a 15 minute walk to the city centre, but this was fine as it let us walk off the delicious dinners. Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Gobees,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Lancaster Lodge recently.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us as a place to stay. I hope that you enjoyed your trip to Cork and is you are ever back in the city I hope you will return to stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Lancaster lodge is in an excellent location, only a few minutes walk into the city centre with free parking & Wifi. The lovely lady at reception was friendly & efficient and made check-in a breeze.
The room was comfy and spacious and though we heard a bit of street noise throughout the night it wasn't excessive.
Though there is no bar or restaurant at the hotel, this wasn't an issue for us. Staff were happy to recommend a restaurant in the city centre which turned out to be one of the best meals we had (Market Lane).
Overall a great place to spend our one night in Cork.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dane73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Dane73,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us at Lancaster Lodge.

I am very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and also that you enjoyed your evening out in the Market Lane. As you said our location being so central to the city centre and with our free car parking you can enjoy your city trip without the worry of parking.

We hope that you will return to stay again soon should you have occasion to return to Cork.

Warm regards,
Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Good, small hotel with nice rooms, a breakfast room, free wifi etc. It was comfortable, clean and an easy walk to the city centre. Not so easy to find initially, but the bonus of free parking made it an ideal place to spend the night in Cork.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcscMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Lancaster Lodge.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found us the ideal place to spend the night in Cork.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

As someone who spends a great deal of time in hotels I tend to avoid guest houses as unpredictable. Lancaster lodge is advertised as a guest house but is really a hotel. There is no bar or evening restaurant which I suppose is why it is classed as a guest house. The rooms are of hotel quality and the breakfast is excellent, both cold buffet and cooked breakfast. Hotels in Cork are expensive and this sits well in the price range. I always stay here when in Cork; there is an excellent bar over the road and many restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Torland,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of your recent stay at Lancaster Lodge.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found both your bedroom and your breakfast to be excellent quality.

We thank you for your repeat custom and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lancaster Lodge on your next visit to Cork.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,656 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,165 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Lodge

Address: 21A Western Road | Lancaster Quay, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cork
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#9 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range: £69 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lancaster Lodge, a purpose built 4 Star Guesthouse with 48 hotel style contemporary bedrooms in a superb location with free car parking in Cork city centre. In December 2014 we completed a bedroom refurbishment and offer stylish modern bedrooms with warm colours, fabrics and armchairs, and 32" Flatscreen TV's. Lancaster Lodge offers good value for money, free high speed Wi-Fi, comfortable spacious bedrooms with all the modern conveniences of a Cork city hotel but with a personal touch. From the moment you arrive our friendly staff will make your stay a pleasant one. You will be immediately struck by our unique design and our attention to detail. We are ideally located in Cork city centre overlooking the river Lee, and just a few minutes' walk from The English Market, The Opera House, University College Cork, Fitzgerald's Park and St Finbarre's Cathedral, and with ample free car parking included for our guests from early on the day of your arrival until 6pm on day of departure, you don't have to worry about where to park your car. So whether your stay is for business or leisure, few Cork city hotels can match our ideal location and we will make your stay in Cork a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lancaster Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing