We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small nice and cozy”
Review of Lancaster Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lancaster Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small nice and cozy”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

This is a nice friendly hotel. Rooms are fresh and clean, good space too. No gym or swimming pool though. Close to city center but quite and relaxed. Can't say much about food as I did not try. Highly recommended for short stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vddogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Lancaster Lodge.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    287
    85
    13
    4
See reviews for
102
332
52
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed here two nights ago, and it was a lovely guest house. Plenty of parking, helpful staff. The room was spotless with plenty of lighting, and the most important little thing for me; a plug socket next to the bed! (|There is nothing worse than having to plug your phone into a socket that is nowhere near the bed!!) THe bathroom was clean and modern with a great, powerful shower. Breakfast was impressive, as it is menu form, rather than the dreaded buffet, which means it is all cooked fresh for you and there was lots of options. My only issue with the place was the quality of television in the room. The reception on all the channels was so bad, it was like the old days when the screen was all snowy! It was so bad that i just turned it off and looked at a movie on my laptop. Other than that, I was overall very happy with the place, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Tom O,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Lancaster Lodge.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and I have passed your lovely comments regarding your breakfast to our kitchen team. Thank you for your feedback about the television reception being snowy, and we have since gone through all our rooms to ensure that the tuning is as it should be.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Cork.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here on business. Its a superb location if you are working in the University or the Bons Hospital. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the rooms were just as expected. Very clean and presented to a high standard for the money. The only downside is that the Lodge has no restaurant ( other than for breakfast) and it doesnt have a bar..IN CORK!!
The breakfast was great though and I can recommend it if you can face the short walk to a few very nice restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeFromMoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Lancaster Lodge.

I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and that you found our location to be superb. I have passed your lovely comments regarding your breakfast to our kitchen team.

We hope that if you ever have occasion to return to Cork what we can welcome you back again!

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We loved this property because it was well appointed, affordable and was located just a quick walk from the center of town. Add in the fact that the hotel has available parking (free) and this may have been our favorite place that we stayed during our trip. Staff was kind and helped suggest places to visit. Rooms were great -- very comfortable and clean -- and I'd suggest this option to anyone visiting Cork for any length of time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beattrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear beatrane,

Thanks for your recent review of your stay at Lancaster Lodge.

I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us so much, from the bedroom to the staff and also the location with free parking.

We hope that if you ever have occasion to return to Cork what we can welcome you back again!

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Location, room size, cleanliness, reception staff, wifi provision all fine.

I'm too lazy to check what constitutes an AA five star rating, but surprised to find no radio in the room; and a TV on which only a handful of channels have a watchable picture.

Breakfast disappointing.

Breakfast #1: ordered coffee and vegetarian breakfast
Terrible coffee served in a cafetiere (press) to give the impression of freshly made from ground beans. Took coffee black; perhaps this blend is intended to be drunk with milk and three sugars to mask the fact it isn't enjoyable as coffee. Mushrooms served in an oil slick. Scrambled eggs cooked so as to ensure no possible risk of Salmonella, and consequently no scrambled egg flavour or texture. I suppose if you choose poor quality ingredients, food safety must be the primary concern. Eggs gave me the impression they had been cooked earlier and kept hot.

Breakfast#2: ordered tea and mushroom omelette
Took tea with milk; poor quality tea, sterilised milk? Certainly an unpleasant tea with milk experience. Mushroom omelette oily, seemingly cooked with food safety as primary concern.

One good thing about the breakfast is the soda bread on the buffet bar.

The Lancaster Lodge experience would be vastly improved by better quality breakfast ingredients, and more competent food preparation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank andrewparkeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Lancaster Lodge and I was delighted that you were pleased with your accommodation, location, Wi-Fi and found our staff to be helpful.

The flat screen Philips Hotel TV's in our bedrooms have a radio built in as standard. I was sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast as our customers give us great feedback on the quality and range of our extensive menu. All our products from our suppliers where possible are sourced locally, free range eggs from West Cork, Barry's Tea etc.. and are always of the highest quality so we are genuinely surprised by your comments.

May I take this opportunity to which you and all your family a very Happy Christmas from all the Staff of Lancaster Lodge.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I have stayed here 5 times. Accomodation always clean and fresh. Breakfast yummy esp bagel options. Great location to city centre and 2 min walk to main shopping area. I would certainly recommend it and I will be booking it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finediner114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your lovely review of Lancaster Lodge and for staying with us so often!

I am very happy that you find us consistently very good and we will pass your lovely comments to all our staff.

We would like to wish you a very Happy Christmas and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Lancaster Lodge was a good spot - clean hotel, efficent front desk staff, decent bedroom - mine didn't have a veiw of the river but many wood - and in a perfect location for me (as I was visting the University - a 10 min walk - but still close to town).
It is not a full service hotel as there is no bar and no restarant even for a snack but there is breakfast if you want. It also has good, relatively secure, free parking which is quite important in Cork.
I'd recommend, but note that it is probably only 25-35% cheaper than the River Lee hotel which is 2mins up the road and is a full service 4* hotel - you get what you pay for but it may or may not be worth it depending on what you're looking for..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DagdaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Lancaster Lodge.

I am very pleased that you were happy with your stay and car parking, and that you found us to be clean, that you were happy with your bedroom and also efficient front desk staff

We would like to wish you a very Happy Christmas and hope to see you sometime in the New Year.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Lodge

Property: Lancaster Lodge
Address: 21A Western Road | Lancaster Quay, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cork
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#11 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lancaster Lodge, a purpose built 4 Star Guesthouse with 48 hotel style contemporary bedrooms in a superb location with free car parking in Cork city centre. In December 2014 we completed a bedroom refurbishment and offer stylish modern bedrooms with warm colours, fabrics and armchairs, and 32" Flatscreen TV's. Lancaster Lodge offers good value for money, free high speed Wi-Fi, comfortable spacious bedrooms with all the modern conveniences of a Cork city hotel but with a personal touch. From the moment you arrive our friendly staff will make your stay a pleasant one. You will be immediately struck by our unique design and our attention to detail. We are ideally located in Cork city centre overlooking the river Lee, and just a few minutes' walk from The English Market, The Opera House, University College Cork, Fitzgerald's Park and St Finbarre's Cathedral, and with ample free car parking included for our guests from early on the day of your arrival until 6pm on day of departure, you don't have to worry about where to park your car. So whether your stay is for business or leisure, few Cork city hotels can match our ideal location and we will make your stay in Cork a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Lancaster Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing