We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City centre, comfortable, clean and good value”
Review of Lancaster Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lancaster Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“City centre, comfortable, clean and good value”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Lodge is located off Washington Street in the heart of Cork city. It is about 30 mins walk or 10 mins taxi from the train station and about 20 min walk from the bus station. If you are driving it is very easy to locate and has free parking which is great for the city centre. Our accommodation comprised a double bed and a single, both very comfortable, in a twin room and as the rate is for the room, €116.00 room only, you can have up to 3 stay. The room has tea/coffee making facilities with biscuits, a hair dryer, multi channel tv and offers smoking option. The en suite is large and well lit with fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries and the shower is powerful!! The rooms and en-suite are very clean and well designed so are attractive as well as comfortable.
The only criticism would be the lack of air conditioning. While it should be noted that the weather was very warm the rooms proved stifling overnight and the fact that the windows only open a limited amount compounded the issue.
The staff are friendly and welcoming and very helpful. As we did not have breakfast I cannot comment on the quality of the food only that both continental, €8, and full Irish, €12.00, options are offered.
Early check in is also possible and late check out on request.
All in all very comfortable and extreemly good value if you don't mind sharing a bed and have 3 in the room!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front as the rear view is the car park!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your lovely review of Lancaster Lodge.

We are delighted that you found us to be such good value, we do offer best rates booking directly. I have passed your lovely comments to the staff and I appreciate your feedback.

We hope that you will again choose to stay at Lancaster Lodge on your next visit to Cork.

Warm Regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    287
    85
    13
    4
See reviews for
102
332
52
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The place is ok. It's in a very handy location. The sleep quality is very good. Breakfast was very expensive and not that great. The place is a bit boring and could do with some moderning up. If you stay I recommend Tony's Bistro for breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Conor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Con M,

Thanks for your review of your stay at Lancaster Lodge,

I am pleased that you had a good quality sleep and found our location to be good also. I hope that if you have occasion to return to Cork that you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Close to centre of Cork. Ample free secure parking. Very similar to premier inn. Friendly staff. Good size room comfortable bed and good bathroom. Breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly and efficient. Free WiFi but needed To go down to reception to get access code. Might have been easier to have the code given to us when we checked in, but still is good to have free WiFi which was reasonably fast. The only problem we found was that there was no air on in the room or in the breakfast room. It was quite warm during our stay and although we were given a fan for our room we did find it was a bit too hot. This is probably not a problem most of the year but in the height of summer did tend to spoil our stay. The other hotel we stayed at in Galway had air on and the facilities were much better generally and not that much more expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CultureSeeker_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Cultureseeker_9,

Thanks for your recent review of Lancaster Lodge.

We are pleased that you thought our location so good with free parking, and that you also found the staff friendly and bedrooms and breakfast to be good too. We did have a warm spell during the summer and as you mentioned we offer guests fans if required and also our windows open out wide to give fresh air, however I am sorry that this affected your stay. Thanks for your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to Lancaster Lodge in the near future,

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Lancaster lodge was clean, in a good location but I felt it missed out in the level of service you would expect for the price and also considering it is meant to be 4 stars.

The reception staff were friendly but the staff at breakfast could have been more customer focused, it felt like they didn't want to be there.

As said it is a clean modern hotel but lacks atmosphere.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflowers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Sunflowers123,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Lancaster Lodge.

We are pleased that you found us to be clean and modern and had a good location. I do hope that you will choose Lancaster Lodge again the next time you are in Cork.

Kind regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljungbyhed, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The staff were service minded! The room was ok! I slept well in the bed and the breakfast was really enough. Cold and hot dishes. We really got what we asked for. I can really recommend this hotel near the centre of cork

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrine367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Corrine367,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us at Lancaster Lodge.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you would recommend Lancaster Lodge, and most importantly that you had a good night sleep!

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Me and my two friends stayed here for 2 nights. Perfect location (10 minute walk to main shops etc) and staff were friendly and everything was clean :) lovely big windows and our room faced the river so was lovely to just sti and people watch! perfect coffee house directly opposite called depeche cafe and if you're looking for a party, havanas nightclub is 5 minute walk and is great fun! Anyone with a bad review of this place is far too fussy because I am already fussy as it is and i found nothing wrong with this place. I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: if you can ask for a room facing the river out front, its lovely and there are swans :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear ray d,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Lancaster Lodge.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you would recommend Lancaster Lodge, and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights here in June. It's conveniently situated & only a short walk from the city centre. Easily accessible car park. The hotel is clean and the decor quite tasteful if a little soulless - as an earlier reviewer said, more like a motel than a hotel. Staff were generally friendly and helpful. Room was a decent size and comfortable. Internet access was flaky and the log-in process was unnecessarily overcomplicated. Breakfast was disappointing - cheap jam, tinned fruit, etc. The following morning, we had a much better (and cheaper) breakfast at the English Market. That said, it's a handy hotel for a short stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jingle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Jingle77,

Many thanks for taking the time to submit your review of your stay at Lancaster Lodge.

We are delighted that you found our location convenient and that you found our premises clean and tasteful and comfortable.

Regarding the Wi-Fi access being flaky, in May we upgraded the entire building to a Bitbuzz system which promises excellent coverage and speed, I would very much appreciate if you could contact me and let me know what bedroom number you stayed in so that I can check if there is a gap in the coverage for that room and get that rectified. The login process for Bitbuzz has changed in this past month to a very brief login !

Many thanks for your feedback and again I would very much appreciate you contacting me to let me know the room number you were in so that I can ensure that future guests can enjoy the excellent Wi-Fi that is in Lancaster Lodge.

Warm Regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,364 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Lodge

Property: Lancaster Lodge
Address: 21A Western Road | Lancaster Quay, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cork
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#11 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lancaster Lodge, a purpose built 4 Star Guesthouse with 48 hotel style contemporary bedrooms in a superb location with free car parking in Cork city centre. In December 2014 we completed a bedroom refurbishment and offer stylish modern bedrooms with warm colours, fabrics and armchairs, and 32" Flatscreen TV's. Lancaster Lodge offers good value for money, free high speed Wi-Fi, comfortable spacious bedrooms with all the modern conveniences of a Cork city hotel but with a personal touch. From the moment you arrive our friendly staff will make your stay a pleasant one. You will be immediately struck by our unique design and our attention to detail. We are ideally located in Cork city centre overlooking the river Lee, and just a few minutes' walk from The English Market, The Opera House, University College Cork, Fitzgerald's Park and St Finbarre's Cathedral, and with ample free car parking included for our guests from early on the day of your arrival until 6pm on day of departure, you don't have to worry about where to park your car. So whether your stay is for business or leisure, few Cork city hotels can match our ideal location and we will make your stay in Cork a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Lancaster Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing