We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more”
Review of Lancaster Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lancaster Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

For the amount paid we expected more. Location is excellent but front desk staff could be friendlier. Breakfast had very few options and bedroom was just OK. Nothing especial. As We arrived, like in so many tourist cities, could have been offered a map and shown some important buildings and places to eat/drink.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MARIA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear MariaC,

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay.

I am disappointed that you were not fully satisfied with your stay, however I am pleased that you found our location to be excellent. We do usually offer maps and a brief orientation on check in but apologise that this appears to have been missed on this occasion. Thanks for the feedback.

I hope that you enjoyed your visit to Cork and that you will return in the future.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Was down in Cork with a friend on a sat night. 116 euro room only little bit over priced although staff were nice and it was exactly what we needed. Room was actually nicer than I thought it would be clean and crisp.. best shower I have been in in a long time. I will return..

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank KODwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Irl13,

Thanks for your review of your recent stay.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much in particular our power showers, and we look forward to you returning in the near future.

Kind regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in August. Location is great, not far from city centre. Rooms are pretty run of the mill but they are clean. Staff were friendly. However I felt it was far too expensive for what it was and advertising as a luxury guest house is only so they can charge more.
Breakfast was ridiculously overpriced I was almost embarrassed. Were woken up at around 9 on Sunday morning by the cleaners shouting down the hall to one another. They obviously have to hoover etc but felt they didn't consider guests still in rooms.
So even though it was clean and well located I don't think I would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DexterCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Lancaster Lodge.

We are happy that you found your stay to be nice and our property well located. We always have the best prices when booking directly and early booking also offers very good discounts.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us if you have occasion to be back in Cork.

Kind regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have just returned from a family wedding in the Cork area and stayed at this hotel. We took my elderly parents with us, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and obliging with us all. They gave us a place to store wheelchairs, and my parents' disabled room was comfortable and well-equipped. All rooms were also clean, spacious and comfortable.
The hotel is a 5-minute walk from the town centre,and the River Lee runs just in front of it.
The breakfast was well-cooked (if a cooked breakfast was chosen) and there was plenty of choice with the continental breakfast too.
The only negative comment is that the room was rather warm,but with windows open there was traffic noise, so the temperature wasn't ideal for sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter. Good views from high rooms, but they're also noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bienmanger-BuryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing to stay at Lancaster Lodge and for taking the time to submit your review.

We are delighted that you and your parents found our accessible facilities to be good and that you all found our staff to be so helpful and obliging. I do hope that we can welcome you back again if you return to Cork and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Warm Regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Lodge is located off Washington Street in the heart of Cork city. It is about 30 mins walk or 10 mins taxi from the train station and about 20 min walk from the bus station. If you are driving it is very easy to locate and has free parking which is great for the city centre. Our accommodation comprised a double bed and a single, both very comfortable, in a twin room and as the rate is for the room, €116.00 room only, you can have up to 3 stay. The room has tea/coffee making facilities with biscuits, a hair dryer, multi channel tv and offers smoking option. The en suite is large and well lit with fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries and the shower is powerful!! The rooms and en-suite are very clean and well designed so are attractive as well as comfortable.
The only criticism would be the lack of air conditioning. While it should be noted that the weather was very warm the rooms proved stifling overnight and the fact that the windows only open a limited amount compounded the issue.
The staff are friendly and welcoming and very helpful. As we did not have breakfast I cannot comment on the quality of the food only that both continental, €8, and full Irish, €12.00, options are offered.
Early check in is also possible and late check out on request.
All in all very comfortable and extreemly good value if you don't mind sharing a bed and have 3 in the room!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front as the rear view is the car park!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your lovely review of Lancaster Lodge.

We are delighted that you found us to be such good value, we do offer best rates booking directly. I have passed your lovely comments to the staff and I appreciate your feedback.

We hope that you will again choose to stay at Lancaster Lodge on your next visit to Cork.

Warm Regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The place is ok. It's in a very handy location. The sleep quality is very good. Breakfast was very expensive and not that great. The place is a bit boring and could do with some moderning up. If you stay I recommend Tony's Bistro for breakfast.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Conor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Con M,

Thanks for your review of your stay at Lancaster Lodge,

I am pleased that you had a good quality sleep and found our location to be good also. I hope that if you have occasion to return to Cork that you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Close to centre of Cork. Ample free secure parking. Very similar to premier inn. Friendly staff. Good size room comfortable bed and good bathroom. Breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly and efficient. Free WiFi but needed To go down to reception to get access code. Might have been easier to have the code given to us when we checked in, but still is good to have free WiFi which was reasonably fast. The only problem we found was that there was no air on in the room or in the breakfast room. It was quite warm during our stay and although we were given a fan for our room we did find it was a bit too hot. This is probably not a problem most of the year but in the height of summer did tend to spoil our stay. The other hotel we stayed at in Galway had air on and the facilities were much better generally and not that much more expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CultureSeeker_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Cultureseeker_9,

Thanks for your recent review of Lancaster Lodge.

We are pleased that you thought our location so good with free parking, and that you also found the staff friendly and bedrooms and breakfast to be good too. We did have a warm spell during the summer and as you mentioned we offer guests fans if required and also our windows open out wide to give fresh air, however I am sorry that this affected your stay. Thanks for your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to Lancaster Lodge in the near future,

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,594 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,129 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Lodge

Address: 21A Western Road | Lancaster Quay, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#6 Business Hotel in Cork
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#11 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range: £77 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lancaster Lodge, a purpose built 4 Star Guesthouse with 48 hotel style contemporary bedrooms in a superb location with free car parking in Cork city centre. In December 2014 we completed a bedroom refurbishment and offer stylish modern bedrooms with warm colours, fabrics and armchairs, and 32" Flatscreen TV's. Lancaster Lodge offers good value for money, free high speed Wi-Fi, comfortable spacious bedrooms with all the modern conveniences of a Cork city hotel but with a personal touch. From the moment you arrive our friendly staff will make your stay a pleasant one. You will be immediately struck by our unique design and our attention to detail. We are ideally located in Cork city centre overlooking the river Lee, and just a few minutes' walk from The English Market, The Opera House, University College Cork, Fitzgerald's Park and St Finbarre's Cathedral, and with ample free car parking included for our guests from early on the day of your arrival until 6pm on day of departure, you don't have to worry about where to park your car. So whether your stay is for business or leisure, few Cork city hotels can match our ideal location and we will make your stay in Cork a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lancaster Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing