We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best fish and chips in Cork” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fish Wife

The Fish Wife
Ranked #10 of 625 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Description: The Fish Wife is a new Take away on the Cork scene. the Fish Wife prides itself on quality locally sourced fresh food. Burgers are produced daily by the local butcher. Chips are cut daily in the shop and fish are sourced locally. Specials vary depending on availabilty. Shop is charming, quirky and homely. Small but cute!!
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Cork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I have visited this place multiple times and I have to say that it's one of the best fish and chip places I've been to.

The service you are getting is straight and quick, staff are polite and the whole kitchen is clearly visible from the counter is always busy.

Don't let the fact that this is branded as a "Takeaway" scare you, the quality of the food is fantastic, homemade chips, great fresh fish and salad, it's really the same quality you would get in a restaurant.

I have ordered many different dishes but my favourite one is Grilled Swordfish special with chips and salad for 9 Euro, the sweet chilli sauce they serve it with is great and the salad is really fresh.

The place itself is pretty small though, so if you want to eat in a group it's not very suitable for that but if you want a take away, you can't go wrong.

Overall: Best fish and chips in Cork, probably the best fish and chips I've had in Ireland in general. Reccomended

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corklofty, Manager at The Fish Wife, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi Roman G,
Thank you so much for your kind and considered review.
Delighted you like our dishes and particularly our healthy coeliac friendly swordfish option!
Do call again soon,
The FishWife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    99
    18
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great fresh fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Nice staff, kept very clean and nice fresh fish that comes with homemade chips, mushy peas and a slice of lemon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adpower91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corklofty, Manager at The Fish Wife, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi adpower91
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed our food.
Do call again soon.
The FishWife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Wife and I stopped by after visiting a pub across the street and talking to a local about this place. We were very impressed on how good the fish and chips were! Simply amazing. The owner was in the kitchen working hard and very nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank txskibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corklofty, Manager at The Fish Wife, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
HI txskibum,
Glad you were impressed by our fish and chips.
Also thanks for the kind mention of our nice and hardworking owner!
The FishWife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fresh and filling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

You can be guaranteed the fish is tasty and fresh and there is usually a good banter to be had with the staff every visit

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valsisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corklofty, Manager at The Fish Wife, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi Valsisk
Thanks for you kind review. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
The FishWife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little gem in Cork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Have gotten fish dinners here a few times. Some great choices and well picked fish. Have tried the option to have it across the road in the pub as well, a nice little touch. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corklofty, Manager at The Fish Wife, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
HI Patrick
thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed pub option but particularly delighted you enjoyed the food. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
The FishWife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fish Wife also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to The Fish Wife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing