We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it”
Review of The Workshop Cork

The Workshop Cork
Ranked #7 of 636 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Workshop is a local family business run by brothers Aiden and David. Our menu is very simple, for breakfast we serve, Organic Porridge with fruit compote, French Toast and Bacon and Scrambled eggs and Bacon. Our Lunch menu consists of gourmet sandwiches, soups, a hot special of the day and our Tapas Salad. If your looking for something sweet you've come to the right place, we have a fantastic selection of desserts available daily. We have a large selection of teas, use fantastic Badger and Dodo coffee, and a variety of specialty drinks from Mochas to Oreo Milkshakes. We try to keep things as local as possible with most of our suppliers found here in Cork. We aspire to echo the service of the good old days and so we serve our tea in vintage fine bone china. We have aslo taken a backwards approach to the phrase "out with the old in with the new" in that you'll find the furniture found within the premises is either Antique, Vintage or Up-cyclyed.
Cork
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Loved this place such character. Took my boy here as his teacher highly recommended it. We had soup and homemade brown bread much appreciated on the cold day outside. He had slice of chocolate cake and devoured it. Must make a return trip. Loved all the nick nacks and it's really kid friendly

Helpful?
4 Thank pandacork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    88
    28
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun place”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

The Workshop really was a workshop up till about a year ago. Its now a fun place at the end of a runway at Cork Airport. The food is excellent, soup ,sandwiches , tapas style salad , and beautiful cakes etc. The ambience is quirky- bric- a -brac meets retro. Almost everything is for sale and the background music is from old vinyl LPs. Service is friendly and professional(a good mix). I would definitely recommend a visit

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mogey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cutest restaurant ever”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I am a regular customer at The Workshop, so I have had plenty of trips there, If it is for morning coffee, light lunch or afternoon tea, the service and the food are excellent every time. The lads that own it are so chatty and cheerful, nothing is a bother to them. I have also brought my grandchildren there, and they have lovely mugs with hot chocolate. My favourite is cappuccino and coffee walnut cake, it is so yummy. All their produce is homemade, beautiful scones served with jam and cream, They have the old china ware, also a lot of antiques there. They recently celebrated their first birthday. If you haven't been there, you have missed out.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Heard great things but...”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Sorry but I can't understand how this cafe is so high rated in Cork. I went with my friend for coffee and scone, simple as that! The cafe is just outside the city and is easy to find if you're from the city. Its like an antique shop with tables, chairs and sofas to sit on. Menus are on the table. We ordered americano and latte and scones. Coffee is excellent but the cups, especially for the americano, were way too small for the price. The scones came with cream, butter and the most gorgeous raspberry jam I ever tasted. Scones were ok, nothing to wow about. This place is not cheap, we would have loved a 'top up' or bigger mug of coffee. Cakes on the counter looked amazing. Staff were very nice and friendly. It wasn't a bad experience its just somewhere that can be missed, sorry!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious and delightful”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Working in the Cork airport business park the workshop is conveniently located less than 5 minutes away.

On entering The Workshop you are greeted by all the beautiful antique and vintage furniture in its very special surroundings.

The very welcoming staff greet you and escort to you to your seat and explain the very simple menu but delicious menu. I usually go with the steamed chicken sandwich served on arbutus bread with a delicious cup of soup. The Workshop truly has a fantastic ambiance with classic vinyls playing on an authentic record player.

With a superb range of desserts you really can't beat The Workshop.

Helpful?
2 Thank irishbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Workshop Cork also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to The Workshop Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing