We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Nearby Hotels
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Cork)
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
River Lee Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,585)
Filter reviews
2,585 results
Traveller rating
1,367
850
252
65
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,367
850
252
65
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclarion hotelkudos barthe riveranne mariecork cityhen partythe penthouseoliver plunkett streetcar parkmodern hotelcentral locationbus stationlast weekendgreat weekendexcellent hotelwould highly recommend this hotelcity break
Filter
Updating list...
2,047 - 2,052 of 2,585 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights recently with Friends. Chose the Hotel after reading all the positive reviews and have to admit i was a little disappointed.
Also, I have stayed in the Clarion Hotel in Dublin a couple of times which was quite impressive so was expecting the same standards here.

While the room was clean, it is in serious need of a freshen up! Stains on the Carpet, bed bases, room, furnishings and bathroom generally looked tired. Expected Plasma TV as that is what i found in the Dublin Hotel but not the case. Also, musty smell apparant but not bad enough to warrant a request to move rooms.

We ate in the Bar before going out and found the service very slow but admit that it was busy on a Friday evening with afterwork crowd im guessing!

Any staff we encountered were friendly and professsional and while the lobby is unusal and inpressive, the bedrooms certainly do not represent value for money as we paid approximately €120 per night without breakfast, and are more to a 3 star standard.

Carpark costs €12 per night from what i remember which is reasonable but there is a further charge per hour if you want to leave your car there past checkout time to have lunch, go shopping etc. which i think could be looked at!

Location is second to none and is a huge positive for this Hotel!

Certainly not the worst experience in a Hotel but was somewhat disappointed so would probably try somewhere else next time!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cultchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Having never been to Cork before, we had a very hard time finding the Hotel, but that is not the Hotel's fault! Once we arrived, we were greeted with very comfortable and clean accommodations, and were within a quick drive of Blarney. Would definitely recommend this hotel when staying in Cork.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeR81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Location in the city centre is the best thing about it. €110 a night at the beginning of March 2011 was pricey - more than the Gresham in Dublin the weekend before ! Service for dinner was fine but the restuarant was very cold, draughty. Breakfast was good.
Bedrooms (2) on the 4th floor were disappointing - ugly furnishings and an extremely dirty bath mat rolled up in the corner - disgusting!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corkDGM, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2011

Dear FionaJay
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Clarion Hotel Cork based on your recent stay with us.

I am very disappointed to read that the bedrooms you were given were not to our usual high standards of cleanliness and I assure you that your experience is an isolated incident and definitley not indicative of the usual standards we aim to provide all our guests.
I shall address this issue with my accommodation manager today to ensure we do not have a repeat for any future guest to our hotel. Although unpleasant to read, I thank you very much for you honest feedback.

I do hope you may consider using the Clarion Hotel for a future visit to Cork City and should you choose to return, please contact me directly and I shall personally look after all details of your reservation

Kind Regards
Donald Morrissy
Clarion Hotel Cork
E: dmorrissy@clarionhotelcorkcity.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Stayed her on 28th February x 2 nights x 2 rooms, on the Dine and stay free offer. Arrived early on Sunday, one room was ready upon arrival, which we were not expecting. Lovely friendly staff on check-in and check-out. rooms very comfortable with view of the sea. Great Weather added to our stay. Kinsale is just a few miles away. Ate on both evenigs on our deal. Menu was very good and food presenation was excellent. Staff in restaurant were attentive and friendly. was third time staying in the last few years. only fault with hotel, it lacks athmosphere, although it was Sunday and monday and not very busy. restaurant was not cozy, quiet chilly during dinner, not inclined to linger over dinner. Will return. :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corkDGM, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2011

Dear BluIreland
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review of the Clarion Hotel Cork for others to read.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us so much and the staff you came in contact with were as friendly as always. I shall be sure to pass on your kind words to them all.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel in the near future.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards
Donald Morrissy
Clarion Hotel Cork
E: dmorrissy@clarionhotelcorkcity.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Very comfortable hotel. Just at the end of the strip near the bus terminal. Staff aren't that helpful but you don't really need to talk to them other than checking in. There is a pool, hot tub, sauna all available for your stay. Very relaxing. The rooms were really clean and nice. Extremely comfortable. Not a place to meet travellers but a great palce for a comfortable sleep. 80 Euro for a double room. We booked online before hand and got that deal.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOFlyHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corkDGM, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2011

Dear ToFlyHigh,

A great review of our Hotel, and I thank you for your time in posting such for others to read.

It is nice to see that the facilities available to all our guests were to your satisfaction and I hope you enjoyed the complementary use of our leisure centre during your stay.

I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel again in the near future.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards
Donald Morrissy
Clarion Hotel Cork
E: dmorrissy@clarionhotelcorkcity.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews