We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Cork City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

Lovely hotel, pleasant staff, good breakfast. Clean, well presented and in good repair. Well located for a night in town after a days work. Good internet access without charge.

I asked for a quiet room, I got an apartment (two bedrooms and kitchen) which was well appointed and very clean. It was also boiling hot so I had to open the balcony doors or boil. There is a lot of traffic noise all the way through the night in town so it is quite loud even with the doors closed . Either way I got little or no sleep and this morning feel tired.

Extremely unhappy and not returning given I had specifically asked for a quiet room in advance and they knew this as they checked me in.

Food and drinks are quite expensive, slow to check in and out so leave time for it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neveratrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,246
    773
    229
    57
    42
See reviews for
357
751
104
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

Quite a gem in a middle of town. Modern hotel (OK, why not plasmas?), attractive decor, Michelin-aspiring restaurant (to be honest - didn't eat in, was just told it is), nice looking bar (drinks and some thai/chinese food available), room was nice although I got one with poor view (overlooking some office building few meters away), free Wifi - everything the business traveller needs.
Close to everything, taxis, shops, restaurants, you name it.
Generally, a bit on expensive side, but worth.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISmackedTheLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corkDGM, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Dear ISmackedTheLion,

A great review of the Clarion Hotel Cork based on your recent stay with us, and I thank you for your time in posting your review for others to read. I am most pleased to see that our city centre location was to your satisfaction and that access to the city was convenient to you.
Perhaps the next time you decide to visit Cork, you will consider the Clarion Hotel again, and please do not hesitate to contact me if you should require any assistance prior to your arrival.

Thank you once again for your time in posting your review

Kind Regards
Donald Morrissy
Clarion Hotel Cork
E: dmorrissy@clarionhotelcorkcity.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed only one night at the Clarion on our first day in Ireland and the hotel provided very comfortable accomodations. I would classify the Clarion as generally a good quality business hotel. There are a couple of restaurants next door on the river which were great for lunch on a sunny day. The only negative is the price for leisure travel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badger006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corkDGM, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Dear Badger006,

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us so much and I thank you very much for your time in posting your review for others to read. I do hope you will visit us again here in Cork, and if you should decide to return again, please do not hesitate to contact me if you should require any assistance with your reservation.

Kind Regards
Donald Morrissy
Clarion Hotel Cork
E: dmorrissy@clarionhotelcorkcity.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Nothing but praise for everything in The Clarion from cleanliness, quality of Hotel, great food and the staff are excellent. Nothing is too much bother

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkies11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corkDGM, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Dear Wilkies11,

Thank you very much for such a great review of the Clarion Hotel Cork, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us so much.

I do hope you will visit us again soon here in Cork, and when you should decide to return please do not hesitate to contact me if you should require any assistance with your reservation details.

Kind Regards
Donald Morrissy
Clarion Hotel Cork
E: dmorrissy@clarionhotelcorkcity.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

This hotel just needs some painting and new carpet. Otherwise it's really nice. A short walking distance to City Centre. Richard at the front desk was soooo helpful. He deserves a raise!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jduff785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corkDGM, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Dear jduff785,

Many thanks for your time in posting a great review of the Clarion Hotel Cork based on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us so much.

I will be sure to pass on your kinds words of support to Richard on the front desk. He is a great assit to the hotel and recently has been awarded our "employee of the year" - a much deserved award.

I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Donald Morrissy
Clarion Hotel Cork
E: dmorrissy@clarionhotelcorkcity.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

Just back from a weekend stay at the Clarion in Cork. Arrived late on Friday. Last to check in. They were overbooked so asked would we mind staying tonight in the Penthouse suite and gave us our drinks with meal free. Saturday morning woke up to find envelope under the door saying we could stay in the Penthouse for the duration of stay. Unbelievable customer care. Especially Martha at reception. Food was fab. Room was outstanding. Thanks for a great weekend Clarion. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSHON2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corkDGM, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Dear JSHON2004

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your weekend with us here in the Clarion Hotel Cork so much and I thank you for your time in posting a review of the hotel for others to read.

The penthouse suite, with its panoramic views of Cork City is a wonderful room in the hotel and I do hope you took full advantage of all the facilities within the Suite. You might also be pleased to hear that we also use this suite for intimate parties of up to 50 people for events such as birthday celebrations and summer BBQs - a fantastic venue, and a rather unique offering to Cork.

I do hope you will return to us again in the near future, and please do not hesitate to contact me if you should require any assistance with your reservation.

Kind Regards
Donald Morrissy
Clarion Hotel Cork
E: dmorrissy@clarionhotelcorkcity.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

Stayed at the Clarion for 2 nights in March during a work trip. We had a special company rate of 100 euro's a night, so can't beat the price. The lobby is very large with ample seating. The rooms are decent size, with modern furniture (but old style TV). Bathroom was spacious and updated. My only real complaint is that the beds are hard. If you like that, then you'll love your nights sleep. But I was dying for an extra down comforter or something to soften it up.

Ate breakfast at the hotel which was fine. However buffet is the only option, no menu ordering. So if you like your eggs cutomized, you are out of luck. Didn't use the gym but walked by it, and it has lots of equipement, plus a pool.

The hotel also has a spa, which I unfortunately didn't get to use.

They were very helpful at checkout, and even printed our boarding passes for us. Found the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njgalinbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cork City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cork City

Property: Clayton Hotel Cork City
Address: Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Cork)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cork
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Business Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cork City 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cork City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cork
Cork Clarion
Clarion Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing