We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect wedding venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Cork City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

For anyone looking for a chic wedding venue in Cork, or indeed anyone who is looking for a top-class hotel in the city centre, look no further than the Clarion. We cannot even begin to praise the hotel staff highly enough. The level of service shown to us and to our guests was exceptional.
Living abroad and with many guests travelling to Cork for our wedding, we wanted a city-centre venue that would showcase Cork City. We got that and a whole lot more in the Clarion. We put our confidence in the team and they certainly did not disappoint. The reception room, overlooking the River Lee, looked stunning on the day itself. Every small detail or last-minute request we had in the lead-up to the day was dealt with impeccable precision and efficiency.
We have also had very positive feedback from our guests about the Clarion - its location, the comfortable rooms, the breakfast, Augustine's restaurant, the Kudos bar, the gym and pool and, not least, the efficient and friendly service.
The Clarion Cork will be our hotel-of-choice when staying in Cork in the future. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Róisín A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    773
    229
    57
    42
See reviews for
357
750
104
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Have stayed here 4 times this year midweek for work, most recent was 7th Sept. Have stayed in a lot of hotels in cork but this is the one I always try to get first. Location is really good, secure car parking in underground, Staff are very efficient and friendly. Rooms are a good size and nicely decorated. Some face directly on the atrium, much prefer the ones with exterior views. Food is good in bar and restaurant, but there are plenty of quality places nearby also to eat. Free fast wifi. Overall a high quality 4 star that’s quite keenly priced most of the time.

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BarIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

The Clarion was in a very good location and easy to find by car with an underground car park costing 10 euros per night.
The hotel itself was very large and clean, but we were not keen on the room we were allocated as it overlooked the lounge area and had no natural light or window to open for fresh air so we had to have the air conditioning on all the time, making it hard to sleep.
Apart from that the room was large and comfortable, with a double bed and single bed. The bathroom was spacious with a shower over the bath.
There was free internet in the room.
The breakfast was very good with plenty of hot and cold food and the staff were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rover426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed at the Clarion for 2 nights. We were allowed to check into our room early which was most welcome. Our room faced the river and had a balcony. It was spotlessly clean, modern and spacious. There is free wi-fi at the hotel and there was an iron and ironing board in the room. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but would recommend the Liberty Grill for brunch. The location of the hotel is very central and the car park in the basement costs 10 euros per day.
We used the hotel as a base for exploring the surrounding area. Blarney Castle is worth a visit. Cork has a good selection of shops, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed in one of the apartments for several weeks as a base for a trip around Ireland. The hospitality we were extended was fabulous. The service is top notch. The location is central to transport. The apartments can be a little noisy at times.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annamalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC, USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

The Hotel was clean, staff helpful and the room fine. However this is a great location. It is a quick walk to city center. The central bus station (buses are very clean and convenient in Cork) is two blocks away. The bus to Blarney Castle runs from there, an easy trip. The train station is just across the river, about five blocks. The train to Coab runs from there. We left on the ferry to England and were able to catch a special bus right from the bus station directly to the Ferry Terminal. Cork was very easy to get around in and daytrips out were a pleasure. Hotel staff was familiar with all these options.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corkDGM, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Dear WilliamHamilton,

Thank you for your time in posting such a wonderful review of the Clarion Hotel Cork for others to read.
I am most pleased to see that our prime city centre location was to your satisfaction. It is also great to read your kind comments about all the staff you encountered during your stay with us, it is very mush appreciated.
I do hope we will have the opportunity in welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel Cork in the near future.
Thank you once again for your kind comments and review.

Kind Regards
Donald Morrissy
Clarion Hotel Cork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Everything you should expect from a 4* hotel - maybe a little more... Great location to get around on foot, we needed a wheelchair so asked where we could hire one, they loaned us one with no charge. All the staff were helpful and friendly room was clean and modern with nice amenities. We only took breakfast at the hotel which was a very good buffet. There is an age restriction on using the jaccuzzi, steam, suana which is a shame.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tams_tours_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corkDGM, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Dear Tams_tours_10,

Thank you for your time in posting such a wonderful review of the Clarion Hotel Cork for others to read.
I am most pleased to see that our prime city centre location was to your satisfaction. It is also great to read your kind comments about all the staff you encountered during your stay with us and to read your kind comments about our breakfast offering, it is very much appreciated.
I do hope we will have the opportunity in welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel Cork in the near future.
Thank you once again for your kind comments and review.

Kind Regards
Donald Morrissy
Clarion Hotel Cork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cork City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cork City

Property: Clayton Hotel Cork City
Address: Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Cork)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#4 Family Hotel in Cork
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Business Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cork City 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cork City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cork
Cork Clarion
Clarion Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing