We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
MrsAMD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I just stayed at the Cork Clarion for the 3rd time last week...what a great stay! The hotel is fabulous - wonderful location, ver nice/spacious rooms, and a lovely staff. The CLarion is within easy walking distance of the main shopping, restaurant, and pub area in the city and is right next door to an excellent restaurant/bar - The Boardwalk Bar and Grill. Only 2 negative things to note: I do not recommend eating onsite - both the restaurant and atrium dining selections leave something to be desired. It was a little surprising that such an excellent hotel has such poor food. (Also note that the person I was dining with was a vegaterian, indicating to the waitress that she wanted no meant on her Caesar salad - then it came out with anchovies. We found out that it was impossible to get it without since the anchovie chunks are already in the dressing when they receive it. She was then offered a vinagrette (I believe) and it came with ham chunks in it! I've never seen salad dressing that comes pre-bottled with meat in it! Very odd!! (However, the breakfast buffet in the mornings is lovely and quite extensive.)The other odd thing was receiving a call from the front desk at 9:30 and then 10:00 pm due to a reservation mix up. With the later call verifying what I had already said during the first call. I was not pleased to be woken up the night before an early morning meeting - then to not have this addressed/nor be apologized to at any point in the stay. Aside from those 2 oddities, I highly recommend this hotel. I travel frequently for both work and pleasure and can honestly say this is on of my most preferred locations to visit, worldwide. :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corkDGM, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear MrsAMD

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Clarion Hotel Cork based on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that our city centre location was to your satisfaction. The issue with our food offering you encountered during your stay, please accept my apologies for this but be assured I shall follow up on these issues with the Head Chef for review.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your 4th stay with us in the not too distant future and if you should require any assistance with your reservation, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Once again, thank you for your review and positive comments about the Clarion Hotel Cork.

Kind Regards
Donald Morrissy
Clarion Hotel Cork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,263
    778
    229
    58
    43
See reviews for
359
761
106
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Just returned from another great stay at the clarion. We were a party of four aged between 32 and 75. The staff can't do enough for you. The hotel is in a fabulous location spotless and the food is lovely. What more do you need? A special mention for mark Gibson guest relations manager. He booked a table at a lovely family friendly restaurant called scoozys for my nieces birthday. They made a real fuss of us. I can't recommend the clarion in cork highly enough. Love it.

Room Tip: Ask if a family room is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcrabtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corkDGM, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear jcrabtree,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the Clarion Hotel Cork based on your most recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that you had such an enjoyable time with us.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel Cork soon and if you should require any assistance with a future booking, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Donald Morrissy
Clarion Hotel Cork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a nice, modern hotel sitting right on Lapps Quay. Unfortunately, we ended up in a room right above the bar with a live eighties-rock cover band. We had specifically asked if the room was likely to be quiet when we checked in, and were told there would be no problem. The room was quiet nice in all other respects, and the staff were very helpful moving us late in the evening when it became clear that the noise was too much. This is probably a reasonable place to stay if you can be selective in room choice. The breakfast buffet was good, and it is an easy walk up to the main restaurant and shops area.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corkDGM, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear JoshC,

Thank you for posting your review of the Clarion Hotel Cork on Trip Advisor based on your recent stay with us.

I am very sorry that the room allocated to you was not to your satisfaction and that your evening was interrupted however I am pleased to see that the staff on duty were able to rectify the issue and reallocate a new room to you.

I do hope we ill have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel Cork soon, and should you decide to return, please contact me directly and I will ensure your next room is allocated accordingly.

Kind Regards
Donald Morrissy
Clarion Hotel Cork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Ok so have been to cork a lot as its a city I love to go to.... Have stayed in numberous hotels but this was the one that hit home!!!! From reception eg mark who was so helpfull and caring to us helped wid wid everyneed we have!!! Thanks again mark... To the room we had an executive suite which can say it all... Stunning room over looking the quays!! Need I say anymore.. Service of this hotel and staff is top quality... We ate at 2 resturants onsite which both where delicious.... Entertainment was very good and only a stone throw away for what ever ur need is for night life... Need I mention the pool and spa!!!! Well worth a visit too.... Clarion caters for every need without a doubt and I'm deffo planning my next trip I can't wait!!!! I hope this review helps ye in making up your mind is where to stay as its top quality!!!! Can't wait for my return!!! Thank you mark and clarion staff for our best weekends away and see ye soon again... Tanya.... Xx :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reagankian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Had a fantastic time here. Mark at Reception was very welcoming and so accommodating. We loved the spa and the views. Bar food was delicious. Can't wait to come back :)

Room Tip: Ask if suites are available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louonemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

We're travelling through Ireland and choosing different types of accommodation each night (using Trip Advisor advice of course!). Well while in Cork we plumbed for the modern comfortable hotel.
Upon checking in we asked for an exterior room (as people have advised on here). Unfortunately we were told that they were busy and none were available. I subsequently found this hard to believe as the hotel was very quiet (a Monday in April).
The room facing onto the atrium is just that - a room whereby for privacy you have to close the blinds. Generally fine (although the bathroom was beginning to look tired) but I have to say not as good as other hotels and B&B's we've stopped at in Ireland.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Whitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

booked the Clarion for a long weekend. Has been a few years since id been to Cork. Travelled down on a friday evening. Found the hotel handy enough but took a few drives around the block to find the underground car park, its down a side street beside the hotel. On arrival reception staff were efficient and friendly. Our room was on the 6th floor, well designed and had a beautiful view overlooking the river Lee and Cork city. We did not dine at the Clarion as choose to walk into the city as its just a 5 minute walk away and has an excellent choice of restaurants at good prices's. Cannot fault the Clarion, its an ultra modern Hotel within walking distance to Cork city centre

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamC192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cork City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cork City

Property: Clayton Hotel Cork City
Address: Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Cork)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cork
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Business Hotel in Cork
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cork City 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cork City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cork
Cork Clarion
Clarion Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing