We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Vigevano, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good!”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very well located, near the river, close to the city centre.
The rooms are clean and big, but some rooms are located up to the pub of the hotel so till late there could be so mich noise that you can sleep.
All the staff is kind and very nice: if you need anything, you can ask all of them.
At the end I can say: good hotel where to stay!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LauraStellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear LauraStellin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write you review and providing us with feedback. It is great to hear that our staff left such a lasting impression on you.

We are delighted that you will be returning and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Be sure to keep watch on our website for our latest special offers.

Warmest regards



Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,286
    784
    235
    58
    46
See reviews for
364
768
109
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Killorglin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

check in efficient but the lobby in virtual darkness.room nice with view down into an atrium, unfortunately not a good choice as music in bar can be heard late into the night.had evening meal in the restaurant which is really just a bar, loud piped music, 2 large screen tv's showing rugby and ended up waiting 1 hr 15 mins for main course which came badly cremated.i know there were xmas parties being looked after and the place was busy but this is a poor way to treat paying guests.I spoke with restaurant manager who invited us back again on the next night for a free meal, but once bitten was enough did not want to ruin whole weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballykissane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Killorglin,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor and providing us with feedback.

I was delighted to hear that you found our Front Desk staff so efficient and helpful.

However, I was most disappointed to hear about your delay with the food. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcoming in service which you experienced on that occasion, our Restaurant Manager & Head Chef are working with their teams to ensure this issue doesn’t reoccur. On a positive note I was delighted to hear that our restaurant manager was able to look after you both.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel Cork in the near future. Be sure to keep watch on our website for our latest special offers.

Warmest regards

Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The hotel is a short walk from the train station if you fancy it. I arrived early and was delighted to find my room was ready. Check in was efficient. The room was spacious, clean and had a nice view of the river. The staff were courteous and helpful. In the evening the bar and restaurant areas of the hotel were very busy. When I was united with the rest of my group we ate in the bar restaurant. It was ok, tasty enough but there are nicer places to eat nearby. There was live music in the bar at night, unfortunately not to my taste (an out of tune country and western band, so bad it was funny) Overall the hotel offers good value in the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mctripsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear mctripsters,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and providing us with feedback.

I would also like to thank you for your very positive comments about our great check-in service, the rooms, and our very friendly staff.

It is disappointing you didn’t like our live band, however we have different live bands playing each week on Saturday night so hopefully you will enjoy the next band during your next stay.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back again. Be sure to keep watch on our website for our latest special offers.

Warmest regards

Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Just wanted to say a quick note of thanks to all at the Clarion for hosting a super Christmas party night last night (3rd Dec '13) Our office gang hired the Penthouse suite for the night & enjoyed fab views over the city as we ate, drank, danced & were generally merry til just after midnight. Emma & Seamus were our hosts for the night - they were extremely warm & helpful & couldn't do enough for us, to help make it a great night. No queuing at crowded bars for us- they brought our drinks to us & were generally exceptionally friendly & efficient all round! The food was gorgeous too - I'd expected finger food but got lovely Thai chicken curry, followed by little miniature desserts & tea/coffee. When the penthouse party ended at 12am (there are other guests to consider after all!) - we retired to Kudos bar - where, thanks to a lovely DJ who took (with great humour) LOADS of requests from an annoying one in a purple dress- we danced till the wee hours. Couldn't recommend it highly enough. Thanks to all in the Clarion for a Christmas party to remember! 10/10!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JPGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear JPGinger,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind message of appraisal and appreciation. All our staff members read the reviews on Tripadvisor and were delighted to see such nice comments – special appreciation was passed onto Emma, Seamus, & our chefs.

More importantly I am delighted you had such a great night – singing and dancing the night away – sounds like a fantastic Christmas party.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and we hope to see you and your colleagues back again next year.

Warmest regards



Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
337 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Had a one night stay here recently and it was really enjoyable. The hotel is very centrally located close to the city centre, yet it is in a quiet area. Parking at €10 per night is directly under the hotel which makes it very convenient. the kudos bar and restaurant are located on the ground floor, and the bar is a very busy spot. There is a large amount of seating in the foyer as well as a table service for tea/coffee. We requested a quiet room on booking, but a small complaint would be that our room was over the entrance to the car park where the bins are stored. The bins are emptied very very early in the morning and we were woken early because of this. Any staff me dealt with were courteous and efficient. This is a busy hotel and one which people will return to for the location and the service.

Room Tip: Pick your room carefully as some are internal overlooking the foyer. The rooms located over the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan2004Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Declan2004Ireland,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and providing us with feedback.
It is great to hear that all our staff were so courteous and friendly throughout your stay.

I would like to apologise for the noise during your stay. We try to control as many issues as possible but certain noise is out of our control.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back again. Be sure to keep watch on our website for our latest special offers.

Warmest regards



Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

What an amazing hotel. Only a stones throw from all the shops and pubs, fantastic rooms, amazing rooms and the friendliest staff ever. The atmosphere was electric in Kudos bar and restaurant and as busy as the bar manager Ciaran was he made time to sit and chat with us. We ate in Kudos on Friday night and I was still licking my fingers the following day. Underground parking is really handy as well. Can't wait to go back again

Room Tip: A room away from the elevators is better as you don't hear any noise from people going to their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Lorna S,

Thank you for taking the time for posting such a great five star review and I hope you got all your Christmas shopping done.

It is fantastic to hear that our team impressed you so much and were so friendly. I know all the team read the reviews and they will be delighted to read yours. Thank you for your very positive comments about our amazing food, our convenient underground car park, and the overall great atmosphere in Kudos.

We look forward to welcoming you back again. Be sure to keep watch on our website for our latest special offers.

Warmest regards



Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonakilty, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Clarion on a Friday and Saturday night at the start of December. As we were arriving in the evening and going straight out on the town, I phoned ahead and I was immediately found in the system and made feel welcome before even arriving. We parked under the hotel which is very convenient and only 30 meters off Albert St. on the N27. Check in was almost instant even though the reception area was busy and we went straight to our room to drop our bags. The room was magnificently large with a massive view of the flood lit city hall, the Elysian and the river. It was beautifully decorated with couches and subtle lighting as well as the usual discretely presented facilities - mini bar etc. The window was about 10 meters wide and floor to ceiling. The bathroom was equally impressive, with twin basins and a large bath as well as a large shower. Breakfast was an elaborate buffet with the option to order extra dishes like eggs benedict etc. if required. The staff here were equally friendly, desecrate and professional. We used the gym on Saturday morning. Everything was very clean, the gym equipment was great and the staff, Lloyd and Philip were welcoming, very helpful and knowledgeable. We didn't have time for the pool and Jacuzzi but they looked equally clean and luxurious. Our check out (at the very last minute!) on Sunday took no more than 3 minutes, including verifying our parking pass.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to do business or have a city break in Cork city. Being able to walk in to the city and eat, drink or shop is a major plus. It's close enough to drop the bags back between shops!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Tom O,


Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your recent stay.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our wide variety buffet breakfast, that our staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, and especially that you got time to avail of our gym facilities. Hopefully next time you visit you will be able to spend time in our Jacuzzi and Spa.

I have already passed on all of your great compliments back to each team member. I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back again. Be sure to keep watch on our website for our latest special offers.

Warmest regards



Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,420 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,010 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cork City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cork City

Property: Clayton Hotel Cork City
Address: Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Cork)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#4 Family Hotel in Cork
#5 Business Hotel in Cork
#6 Spa Hotel in Cork
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cork City 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cork City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cork
Cork Clarion
Clarion Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing