We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Clarion Trumpet may call but we'll try elsewhere next time in Cork”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Clare, West of Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Clarion Trumpet may call but we'll try elsewhere next time in Cork”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

First impressions aside we enjoyed our stay at the Clarion. When my spouse and I were checking-in the credit card transaction took a moment longer than normal to process; the reception person asked if we were sure we had enough credit! Call me prickly but I was affronted!! I did explain to her that it was uncool to insult a guest at the first point of contact. We had a room with a view of the city over water, and a balcony too, very nice indeed. The thing is, some hotels are so welcoming you never want to leave; happy to enjoy the facilities on offer, etc. The Clarion is not one of those hotels. It's a great place to stay if you've come to enjoy the city, but lolly-gagging around the hotel is not too much fun. The pool was nice and clean but nowhere to sit or hang out; just get your exercise and get out is how it feels, and don't stop for the jacuzzi or you'll be washing the chlorine off your skin and swim wear for at least 24 hours. The Kudos restaurant seemed a good place for lunch but we actually found it poor value and not very authentic, though the waitress was excellent. If you want to dine at the Oyster...well just ask Paulo Tulio, he loves it. All nationalities work at this hotel so it has quite an international feel, which is appropriate in a city like Cork.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room so you can enjoy gazing at the City over the river/canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Fiona W


I'd like to thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for sharing your experiences of your visit.

It always gives me great pleasure to know that our guests enjoyed their bedroom and the great view of the River Lee and City Hall. I'd like to thank you for your thorough feedback, all of which I have taken on board and will be promptly addressing. These improvements would not be possible without the constructive feedback from our guests, so I thank you for highlighting these points. I do apologise for manner of which your pre-authorisation was taken on check in, both myself and the front office manager Suzanne are currently addressing this. In regards to a place to sit in the pool area, we do have a space for sitting between the Jacuzzi and the sauna however, it may not be so obvious. I am absolutely dismayed to hear you didn't find Kudos food authentic as our chefs are of Asian origin and I sincerely apologise for the dissatisfaction this must have caused.

Thank you for your compliments on our Kudos Bar staff and the Oysters cuisine, it will be a pleasure to pass on your kinds words


Once again, please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Clarion Hotel again and I'd ask you to contact my Guest Relations department directly when you choose to do so, as they can personally oversee your visit. guestrelations@clarionhotelcorkcity.com

Kind Regards,
Darragh Brady

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,286
    784
    235
    58
    46
See reviews for
364
768
109
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Excellent customer service from the minute I booked this hotel! Special thanks to Marjorie in reservations for sorting us with a room that was suitable for us!
Room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable! Location is excellent, very close to restaurants, shops etc.
We used the swimming pool and was very clean.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay- thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Sinead P

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review from your recent stay with us in Cork City, its a delight to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

I must say I am truly delighted to read your fantastic review. Thank you for your kind words about Marjorie, she is a credit to not only the reservations team but the entire hotel team it will be a delight to pass on your kinds words to her.

I am pleased to hear that you found our beds comfortable and that you really enjoyed your overall stay with us. It would be an honour to welcome you back to the Clarion Hotel in the not too distant future


Kind Regards,
Darragh Brady

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was our third stay at the Cork Clarion. As with previous stays, it was pleasant and very enjoyable. Staff were efficient, polite and helpful. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable.

The Clarion is located well, close in to the centre of Cork, many nice restaurants, pubs and sights.

We will definitely stay at the Clarion again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear David B


Many thanks David B for sharing your experience of your return stay. It is wonderful to hear form our returning guests.

Thank you for your very kind comments on our hotel bedroom and the city center location, and of course the staff. All our staff pride themselves on their ability to provide a friendly service and I am happy to hear that you found everyone your encountered during all stays accommodating and polite. It will wonderful to welcome you have you staying with us again


Warm Regards,
Darragh Brady

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed for 2 days the rooms are large and clean the spa and pool are excellent
We had breakfast, buffet choice very nice good variety
All in all would stay again. It's close to the town centre and it's easy to walk around
The city

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grm2445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear grm2445


Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review from your recent stay with us in Cork City, its a delight to know you enjoyed your two night stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you regarded the leisure facilities as excellent. Thank you for your compliments on our buffet breakfast, we know how important is it to start the day with a good meal. It will be a pleasure to inform the entire team of your positive feedback.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel Cork.

Warm Regards,
Darragh Brady

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is THE Second BEST hotel in Cork after Hayfiled Manor! Comfortable bed and nice river lee view. Please also try Sea Oyster Restaurant which is inside the hotel. Saturday night is very busy and vibrant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SatishJha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear SatishJha


Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review on our hotel, and indeed for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Cork City.

We are delighted that you regard the Clarion Hotel so highly. Thank you for your wonderful comments about our guest bedrooms and of course Oysters Seafood Restaurant, we are privileged to have Oysters Restaurant in the hotel. Head Chef Alex Petit's (recently awarded membership of “Euro Toques”) has created the menu from locally sourced and seasonal produce from the English Market and Skibbereen, Co Cork.

You described a typical Saturday night perfectly as 'vibrant' with Live music in Kudos Bar, I'm delighted that you had the opportunity to take it all in.


Once again thank you for your wonderful review and I hope to have welcome you back to Cork City in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Darragh Brady

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were very impressed with this hotel. The location is Great. Within walking distance to everything. We were there on a Saturday and they had live music in the evening. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful. Would stay there again if we go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Valerie P

I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review following your recent stay at the Clarion Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us in Cork City, especially the live music in Kudos Bar which we have every Friday and Saturday night. Your compliments about our friendly team are most greatly appreciated. It is always a pleasure to have our hardworking team recognised. The entire team will be thrilled to hear such great feedback. Its truly rewarding to know you will stay with us on your return stay to Cork.

Looking forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back - be sure to keep an eye on our hotel website for upcoming special offers

Warm Regards,
Darragh Brady

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Fairly typical hotel. Unfortunately, when we stayed there, there was an ongoing convention held at the hotel. Our room's window overlooked the main lobby area and sounds from the convention-goers leaked into our room. Other than that it was a lovely stay, great location near the waterways.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Katherine M

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Cork and indeed for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the location of the hotel over looking the River Lee. We recently had a large convention - as our conference and event center is located in the building next door I do hope the disturbance you experienced was minimal and we do apologise if this caused any discomfort during your stay.


Once again thank you for your feedback and I do hope we get the opportunity of welcoming you back to Cork soon - perhaps mention your preferred bedroom location and we'd be delighted to assist.


Warm Regards,
Darragh Brady

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,418 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,010 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cork City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cork City

Property: Clayton Hotel Cork City
Address: Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Cork)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cork
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Business Hotel in Cork
#6 Spa Hotel in Cork
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cork City 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cork City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cork
Cork Clarion
Clarion Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing