We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family accomodation”
Review of Brookfield Hotel

Brookfield Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brookfield Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Cork
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Our family of 5 stayed in the apartments here for 3 weeks. The apartments are basic but they provide a great alternative to a hotel room as there is great space and the facilities onsite are good. The location is central enough, there is a bus stop just outside which gets you into the city quickly, close to the Wilton Shopping center and to the roads leading to the south and west of the city. One bed matress was not in great condition but it was changed when we highlighted this, also the oven was not workign properly but this was also fixed when we notified the office. More attention to these items before they rent the apaprtments would gve them a higher rating but overall we were very happy and will use them again

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank kieranmc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed in this apartments/hotel for 7 nights last year. First impressions were very bad. It looked like any ordinary apartment complex. Then we noticed all the rooms in the apartment had locks on each door. It was then we realised that this was Student Accomodation during the school year. The apartment had been only a quick clean. There was a lot of bits of dust on all surfaces. Some furniture broken but not unusable.
We stayed in the Jennings apartments which were supposed to offer views of the river. All we got was large overgrown bushes.
We went over the first night to the Hotel Bar to enjoy the Entertainment. I counted 5 other people beside us. This was one of the busiest nights - Saturday night. It got worse from there. The entertainment was either televison or Karaoke.
There was Kids club which our kids went to. They enjoyed it but they were only 2 of 5 kids.
The Games Room was Tent outside the front of the Hotel. The advertised Tennis Court (grass) was overgrown and needed a good cut. No net anyway.
We eneded up just using it as a base. No atmosphere at all!!
Just before we left we spotted a Planning Application Notice on a Tree on the main driveway. They were seekin Permission to change the Hotel to a Nursing Home. It looks like they had already started to downgrade the place.

I only have 7 days holiday a year and I was really looking forward to this holiday. But we all agreed never go near this place again!

To add insult to injury - The Brookfield sent me out Booking Forms this year without any prompting. No other documents with it only the forms. It felt as though they just expected that after one week sdtaying with them we would return every year. Never Again!!!

Room Tip: If staying take the ordinary apartments - cheaper than the Jenninhgs Apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TelDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

we stayed here for 4 nights and selected it because of the leisure center and play area for kids. The weather in Ireland cannot be trusted and we thought its best to stay in an hotel with activities for kids so that even if we can't go out because of the rains, the kids can enjoy in the hotel itself. So this hotel served that purpose. The leisure center is the swimming pool, the water is on the colder side. Good to take ur own towels, water proof nappies for kids and swimming caps if u don't want to pay for these at the counter. There r activities every night at the restaurant which was really good way for the families to relax and spend time. There were magic shows, karoake, DJ music etc. there is Kids activities during the day from mon-fri but didn't check that out. Bus stop is just outside the hotel gates. If u r visiting Fota animal park, then the bus will take u right outside Kent station. which is a big help. Also, cork university is walking distance. The breakfast is good value for money. But no lunch is served as restaurant and bar open only at 6 p.m. So we had to go out for lunch or buy sandwiches from the shop just inside the hotel gates. The food served is delicious. The menu is the same everyday , but you can try different things every night . The reception is at the first floor so it was difficult for me as I was suffering from a terrible knee pain. There are lifts but its hidden from view. So better to ask at the reception. we were at the 3rd floor. and it was only after navigating that i found there was a lift to the ground floor after passing through a maze of doors. But it shouldn't be a problem for people without any joint problems. Kids can have a good time in the play area. Checkout time is 12 pm and we were not able to use the swipe card after 11:30 am nd had to call a staff member for help. Also since u get only one swipe card, if one member is using the leisure center (where they need the card) , the other person has to be without electricity. But maybe u can request for 2 cards. Only regret is that we should have taken our laptop for the trip as they provide free Wi-fi which would have helped us to check things online. I feel the hotel should advertise this.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irelandshootingstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

we are a family of two adults and two chldren of 9 and 8. we went the third week of august and we really enjoyed the time we spent. There are a lot of activities for children in the club. You have to pay for leave them, as it works as a summer camp.
room was big enough and clean, with two bathroom. For us these bathroom weren´t clean enough, and in one of them the shower doesn´t work

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank equemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I stayed in this hotel with my partner and our 1 yr old baby. The hotel itself is small and rooms are fairly dated. Upon arriving I got the impression that the hotel isn't very well staffed, however the few staff that were there were extremly helpful and appeared to be working very hard. The price of the hotel was reasonable however the a la carte breakfast wasn't anything to write home about (quite amall) but there was plenty of cereal and juice available at a buffet table. The hotel dining room/ bar opens at 6 o clock which is very annoying if you are trying to grab a quick bite to eat during the day if you are looking after a baby. Food in the hotel is resonably priced and very tasty. Don't expect fancy dining this restaurant is all about home cooked quality, the steak is very good and at 20euro not expensive compared to other hotels around.
Hotel location is ok however it is NOT within walking distance of the city centre if you are anything other that an avid walker, forget about walking it with children. The leisure centre is quite good, 25m pool with a lide for the kids (and adults!) and the gym is well equipped. There was a kids club apparently available but I did not see much activities going on. I did notice a kids disco in the evenings which looked really good for the little ones.
Rooms are small especially if you have a cot to put in there and the decor is dated. The TV however was the most annoying thing. They must have something wrong with their wiring as it kept losing signal and I checked with other guests and this seemed to be happening to everyone but the front desk denied all and said the service was perfect on their end. There is no internet service unless you bring your own laptop.
Overall this is a good hotel for families with kids between 3 and 10. I wouldn't see this as a couples hotel at all. Reasonable value for what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cashel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

we stayed here for 1 night me and my friends!!its in a nice quite location family run hotel!!this hotel would be more suited for family or old couples who wouldn't like something to hesitate but is not far from the city really at all taxi are quick!Also their not someone on reception full time but their a phone at it and you ring the number to get to get service but their prompt at it!
The hotel is spotless and also the rooms but just needs to be modernised to keep in date with other hotels but are quite spacious!The beds are comfy but have to say my bed their was a spring coming up threw it that's was an issue for me but was clean which is important!
Breakfast next morning was good but service a little slow some of my friends had full Irish small but i guess it depends on the person appetite the rashers could of been cooked more,but it was tasty!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridgetjones_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

This hotel is in an excellent location close to Cork city centre. There is an fantastic leisure centre including outdoor hot-tub! With free parking, internet access, good bar food and friendly staff it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPRDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Shandon
Commons Inn
Commons Inn
#19 of 23 in Cork
445 reviews
Country House B@b
#10 of 21 in Cork
3 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield Hotel

Address: Brookfield College Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Cork
Price Range: £71 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Brookfield Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing