We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we had hoped”
Review of Coach-Hill House

Coach-Hill House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coach-Hill House
Ranked #48 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Let's start with the positives: the bedrooms are spacious and the showers work well. At 50 Euros/night/room, it is certainly budget friendly. This, however, is a house that is unloved and uncherished. It provides accommodation but is not a home.  Access from the house onto the main road is hazardous due to poor visibility. The facilities are adequate, utilitarian, but not at all the sort of establishment that one leaves resolving to return. The breakfast is self-service and continental, but not from the more generous or imaginative parts of the continent. In the hall was an electric socket that looked as if it was about to part company with the wall. There was only one towel provided in each of the rooms - further towels supplied on request - with a free-standing towel rail on which one would struggle to hang more than the one original. The bathroom was small, elderly, and tired with no gel or soap supplied for the shower, no bidet or extractor fan and no toilet roll holder. The reason that the shower tray did not drain well was not from the plumbing, but the plug of previous occupants' hair. The single waste bin was not emptied, nor the bed made other than by us, during our 3 day stay. The dressing table mirror was fixed, and suitable for those of abnormally small stature, or perhaps with more interest in their torso than the rest of their appearance.
In all, this establishment does what it says on the tin - it supplies bed and breakfast. But as for a homely and comforting experience, the reader is well-advised to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wils0ncapelrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

After a bad experence with another hotel we moved to here is a very nice place we were working nights so slept during the day and the owner (Julie) couldent do enough to make our stay as pleasant as possible overall a very nice place to stay good parking good view only 10 mins to city

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennethBergin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Overall this place wasn't bad at all. We didn't see much of the host family but here are my positives and negatives:

POSITIVES
-nice view of the water and in a very nice area
-very clean facilities
-great breakfast

NEGATIVES
-staff was very "hands off" dealing with us; no real conversation or friendliness that made us feel welcome
-outside the city center by quite a bit so its a drive to get back to Cork City

OVERALL
Everything was nice and tidy - if you want a B&B that leaves you alone most of the time and has clean rooms I'd go here. If you want a B&B that has friendly staff that make you feel welcome I wouldn't go here again - which would be our case. We went to Ireland for an experience, not a business trip.

Room Tip: we did the family room - if you have snorers DON'T get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdean08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We are a family of 3 persons. We stayed 2 weeks during July and August 2012. We had a large, quiet and confortable room equipped with a large TV screen and with wifi. We enjoyed to have the possibility to eat in the dining room whenever we wanted. The staff was very friendly with us. The rate was reasonable. We would have liked to have access to a washing machine (even if we had to pay for it) but globally we were satisfied with our stay in Coach Hill House.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chatel1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Lovely big rooms. Very disappointing breakfast consisted of a choice of cornflakes, muesli or rice crispies and a couple of slices of white toast. No other options available not even wholemeal bread.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YHTAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Stayed over Christmas. The location was very convenient and the room was nice and large with good lighting and good views. There was plenty of parking and free wireless internet access. However we did have a number of issues. The room smelled quite badly of mildew. We were told that the rooms would not be cleaned on the 25th or 26th of December, which we could live with. But our room was in fact only cleaned once during our 7 day stay. The heating was either on full blast which made the room too hot, or off completely which made the room freezing. The shower made a terrible noise and finally broke completely so we had no shower on our last day. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellots23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I have been working in Cork for two days a week since September and I am delighted to have found this b and b. There are many things that set coach hill apart from other places I have stayed. Firstly, there is a large carpark which is well lit and very safe. You also have a choice of either a full Irish breakfast or a continental breakfast which is great when you are staying in a place for a while. The rooms are bright, warm, spacious and newly decorated. The beds are so comfy that I struggle to get up!! I have to also mention the couple who run the b and b, they are very friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend coach hill to anybody traveling to Cork for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACummins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 59 in Cork
1,430 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,713 reviews
Country House B@b
#9 of 22 in Cork
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach-Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach-Hill House

Address: Rochestown Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Rochestown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: £82 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coach-Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing