We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neil B "Superb Retreat"”
Review of Coach-Hill House

Coach-Hill House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coach-Hill House
Ranked #48 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Neil B "Superb Retreat"”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed at the serviced 2 bedroom apartments and found then exellent value ,clean ,very spacious and a gem away from home.Location is ideal for a great country stroll. The apartment is tastefully decorated with all mod cons. Highly recommended..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilBrooks50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    4
    5
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
11
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We arrived super late and it was our first night in Ireland after a long travel to get there we were exhausted and a bit overwhelmed from the drive. The owner offered many recommendations which were super helpful and then even offered to drive us to town and suggested a beautiful walk home or told us how much a cab fare was from where she dropped us. The restaurant she recommended to us was lovely and we were enjoyed our stay even though it was brief. The room was nice, clean and breakfast was amazing. We traveled Ireland for 9 days and it was by far my favorite breakfast of our trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Regularly stay here while visiting cork, the rooms are big, warm & clean, nice views over the estuary if your staying at the front of the building, the staff are always more then helpful with any requests you may have(Nice restaurants/shopping/Good night out etc..), the choice of breakfast is great as you have the option to have a lie in if you want and still get your breakfast, the location is perfect too,its very close to douglas with easy access to the city and the airport also. i would recommend Coach hill house for all types of travelers

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed at Coach Hill House B&B in August and received a friendly, warm, welcome from the owners. The B&B is conveniently close to Cork Airport, and my room was clean, comfortable, and spacious (the bed was amazingly comfy). The Irish breakfast was delicious and I was advised that the ingredients are all locally sourced. As it was my first time to Ireland, the owners were kind enough to recommend places to visit and things to do and gave me clear directions. I stayed at the B&B on my first two nights and on my last night in Ireland, and will definitely be staying there again on my next visit to Cork.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

As a regular visitor to Cork, i was delighted to find Coach Hill House and will definitely be returning.
We booked a double and were shown to a very large room which had a double and a single. It was tastefully decorated, with very comfortable beds. It definitely reminded me of some four star hotels I have stayed in.
The en suite is small, but perfectly functional. Wi-fi is fast and free and there is cable tv. We found it a great place to relax after a busy day out.
The owner is a very down-to-earth and helpful person who runs a great breakfast room: delicious full Irish breakfast, and she was more than happy to make any other alternatives we wanted.
All in all a nice big house and a very good Cork welcome. I've stayed in several B and Bs in Cork and this might be my new favourite.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundancekid24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Let's start with the positives: the bedrooms are spacious and the showers work well. At 50 Euros/night/room, it is certainly budget friendly. This, however, is a house that is unloved and uncherished. It provides accommodation but is not a home.  Access from the house onto the main road is hazardous due to poor visibility. The facilities are adequate, utilitarian, but not at all the sort of establishment that one leaves resolving to return. The breakfast is self-service and continental, but not from the more generous or imaginative parts of the continent. In the hall was an electric socket that looked as if it was about to part company with the wall. There was only one towel provided in each of the rooms - further towels supplied on request - with a free-standing towel rail on which one would struggle to hang more than the one original. The bathroom was small, elderly, and tired with no gel or soap supplied for the shower, no bidet or extractor fan and no toilet roll holder. The reason that the shower tray did not drain well was not from the plumbing, but the plug of previous occupants' hair. The single waste bin was not emptied, nor the bed made other than by us, during our 3 day stay. The dressing table mirror was fixed, and suitable for those of abnormally small stature, or perhaps with more interest in their torso than the rest of their appearance.
In all, this establishment does what it says on the tin - it supplies bed and breakfast. But as for a homely and comforting experience, the reader is well-advised to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wils0ncapelrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

After a bad experence with another hotel we moved to here is a very nice place we were working nights so slept during the day and the owner (Julie) couldent do enough to make our stay as pleasant as possible overall a very nice place to stay good parking good view only 10 mins to city

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennethBergin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Douglas
Rochestown Park Hotel
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,406 reviews
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
717 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,508 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach-Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach-Hill House

Property: Coach-Hill House
Address: Rochestown Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Rochestown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing