We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wicklowyetti” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commons Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Commons Inn
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wicklowyetti”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed in the commons last weekend have to say myself and the wife enjoyed our stay we where made very welcome on arrival by greg. Staff where pleasant . Yes the rooms are quite dated your energy awareness in the rooms needs to addressed guys I think you are aware of this don't need to say more! Bus service route 215 cork city/blarney is outside the hotel runs on the hour good service if you want to get around. Bar, is very spacious no problems in seating locals are very friendly. Would definitely be back thanks Guys/girls

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinny n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Apologies for not responding to your kind review earlier. Thank you for your comments. We are working on the areas mentioned in your review and we hope that all our rooms will have been upgraded the next time you stay with us. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    122
    59
    27
    21
See reviews for
111
127
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Read reviews before staying and must say was rather put off.However this is the cheapest hotel we have found in Cork City and there is good parking.The public rooms are very spacious,very large,very modern.The staff are incredibly friendly and nice to see are Irish.Had gone to a function and when we went to bar free sandwiches appeared.The place was packed and everybody having a good time.This was the second time we stayed,first time had unmodernised room which although spacious was tired and would not want this room again.This last time had a modernised room and it was fab.Huge beds,lovely linen,trouser press etc etc.Large double walk-in shower.Carvery was excellent value on our first trip and the restaurant 3 course meal for 20 euros on this last trip is great value.Close to Mallow/Limerick road.Good value .

Room Tip: Ask for modernised room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millymollymandyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Many thanks for your review.
It's important to us that a balanced view is given so that people can make an informed decision on where to stay.
Once again many thanks and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Traveled from Sydney with my wife and had a very pleasant stay. The room was large and comfortable and the food was great. The receptionist Laura went out of her way to accommodate us, printing out maps and advising on us on local facilities. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Many thanks for your review.
It's important to us that a balanced view is given so that people can make an informed decision on where to stay.
Once again many thanks and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed at the Commons Inn last week, and contrary to previous reviews, we had a very enjoyable stay. Our Room had two double beds, was very comfortable, and I had the best nights sleep in a long time. Dinner in the bar was excellent. Greg was a charm, very knowledgeable and couldn't do enough for us. Good location for visiting West Cork and Cork City. Doesn't have a pool, but we knew this before booking, so no problem.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TippGirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Many thanks for your review.
It's important to us that a balanced view is given so that people can make an informed decision on where to stay.
Once again many thanks and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and the rooms are large and fairly well equipped, two double beds which were very comfortable. Very good sleep quality.

All rooms are well positioned away from the bar and restaurant. Needs a lot of TLC with the furniture and the decor is a bit dated.
The bathroom is a little basic and could do with more shelf space and a freshen up.

The place is a family run business (linked to my extended family) and has a warm and friendly welcome.
The bar is very spacious and has a good selection of alcohol and has a friendly feel to it as well.
We only used the restaurant for breakfast but this was excellent and served with a smile, Full Irish is highly recommended.

We ate in the bar for Sunday roast lunch and this was really good with a choice of veg and meats and started at 12.30 through to 4.30. Even though the bar was very busy with the lunches, you never waited long to be served.

The hotel is well positioned for Cork and you can easily walk into the City in 30 minutes. Blarney is in the other direction. There is parking at the hotel so if you are driving so this is ideal.

The Commons is in need a lick of paint here and there and but dispite this, the hotel has a good, friendly vibe and that makes the difference for me. The staff on reception / bar / restaurant are courteous and warm and this will always win me over.

Room Tip: All rooms are well positioned away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shezza42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Myself and my wife had dinner and spent the night, rooms were mouldy, and the food was revolting. The owner who I was talking to was exceptionally rude, and made us both very uncomfortable. I will most definitely not be going again. A waste of good money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We had a function here. The stairs were filthy, doors hadn't been cleaned in weeks and the toilets were disgusting. Tea/coffee was cold - we had to order more. We had asked for biscuits as people travelled far - no biscuits! We asked for them again and when they came they were the tiny coffee biscuits. Receptionist was not helpful, but in fairness I think she was trying to do everything. Bar food seemed to be good, according to others, but I couldn't try it the place was so dirty.

It is convenient, but my God is it dirty.! I would really not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmmmhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Douglas
Rochestown Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commons Inn

Property: Commons Inn
Address: New Mallow Rd, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cork
#10 Family Hotel in Cork
#15 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Commons Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering convenience at affordable prices, the Commons Express Inn is an ideal place to spend your relaxing vacation, or makes as a home away from home during business trips. The Commons Express Inn is located on the New Mallow Road (formerly Commons Road), just two miles from the centre of Cork city and 4 miles from the popular Blarney castle. The nearby Blackpool Shopping Centre & cinema are a simple 10 minute stroll away. A bus stop for both the City, Blarney and Mahon Point Shopping Centre is conveniently located right outside the Commons Inn. Ample free parking is available at the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Commons Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commons Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing