We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location excellent breakfast rooms very comfortable”
Review of Commons Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Commons Inn
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Ideal for overnight stay in cork
my room was spotless my room very comfortable I t was great value and I will definitely stay again commons inn is in Great location. My rate included breakfast which was very good. Staff were lovely

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Commons Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed in the Commons on a business trip last week. Got my booking through a Group on deal so it was great value to begin with which included B&B and main course . Arrived to a very nice receptionist who quickly checked us in. Corridors a bit dated as was the furniture in my room but wow it was huge with two big double beds with beautiful fluffy duvets and very comfortable. Also a flat screen tv and bathroom had a huge shower so they can be forgiven for the dated furniture and paintwork. A little uplift and it would be super. The bar is big too and we had our dinner in there. Because our deal was for two persons and there was only one in each room we made enquiries at the desk regarding getting our starter free. Daniel our waiter came over and informed us that there was no problem at all and he was so pleasant and helpful it made our stay there extra nice. He explained the menu and the wine list and could not have been more accomodating. Full marks to Daniel! He also told us it was Bingo nite which we stayed for and won €50 so all in all very enjoyable stay. Breakfast was fast, hot and scumptious!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 562Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food and accommodation and that you were a winner in our fun bingo session. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We took advantage of a midweek break two nights B&B and one evening meal. On arrival we were greeted by friendly helpful staff and without any fuss we were in our room within ten mins. A nice airy family room, with all the facilities one requires. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and again service was incredibly friendly and efficient. Overall we can't praise this establishment enough. It was truly a home from home and we felt at home due to the lovely friendly staff. Well done to all concerned and many thanks for our lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank i2dayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Many thanks for your very kind review. We are delighted that we made you feel so comfortable and this is, as you point out, due to our colleagues working in all areas of the Hotel. We take huge pride in all our staff and their ability to make all customers feel comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in Cork again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A very comfortable stay. The rooms have been redecorated since I last stayed and look really well. The staff are all very nice and the bar food was fantastic. I would have no qualms recommending the Commons Inn

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluedub2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Many thanks for your kind review. We are working hard at the moment to finish upgrading our rooms and we hope that the majority will be completed shortly. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Commons Express Inn when you are back in Cork again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed in Commons in for a very keen price which included dinner and breakfast at this years National Kettlebell Championships. The staff were really friendly, the room was large, clean and cosy and the food was exceptional for the price. We had breakfast, carvery and main dinner in the evening and everything was nicely cooked and very tasty.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cianfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to have hosted the national kettlebell championships and we hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Went to watch the irish rugby match with family on Saturday, bad result but a lovely meal. Prepared by Patrick, and served by lovely happy Daniel. Nothing too much to ask for!! We will call again, as the banter was also good!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Public Relations Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal. Follow us on facebook to find our latest menus and deals. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

last minute break to cork . the rooms are slightly dated but they were clean and we had a huge room for the family. we had dinner in the restaurant and we were blown away by how GORGEOUS it was... if i had one complaint is we couldnt adjust the heating in our room and it was very hot.

Room Tip: room 217 is huge!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 376barbara_ann376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and particularly the food here at The Commons Express Inn. We are currently refurbishing all our bedrooms and we hope that you will like the changes next time you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,646 reviews
Montenotte
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commons Inn

Address: New Mallow Rd, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cork
#15 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range: £55 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Commons Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering convenience at affordable prices, the Commons Express Inn is an ideal place to spend your relaxing vacation, or makes as a home away from home during business trips. The Commons Express Inn is located on the New Mallow Road (formerly Commons Road), just two miles from the centre of Cork city and 4 miles from the popular Blarney castle. The nearby Blackpool Shopping Centre & cinema are a simple 10 minute stroll away. A bus stop for both the City, Blarney and Mahon Point Shopping Centre is conveniently located right outside the Commons Inn. Ample free parking is available at the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Commons Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commons Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing