We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money, great place”
Review of Commons Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Commons Inn
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was great. The beds and bedding were so comfortable. It got hot in the room at night, but opening the window fixed it. The TV was great, got a few channels which was nice at night. The bathroom was great, shower was clean and water pressure was wonderful. We put the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door and they left fresh towels outside anyway. The food at the restaurant was ok, but the service and staff were great. Ashley at the front desk even let us check in 3 hours early which was awesome after an 11 hour plane ride. The bus stop is right outside and it was really convenient. We will be staying here again for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105, stay there, it was AWESOME.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Many thanks for your great review Paige. I have passed on your thanks to Ashley.We hope to welcome you back to the Commons Inn again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had been staying in hotels and b and bs in Ireland for about 8 days when we booked into the commons. The receptionist got better with time but was not overly friendly to begin with. Our key card didn't work... That's because the swiper had been broken off recently and since been replaced with a lock and key but they forgot. We booked 3 rooms and one room Had a hole in the wall, the toilet seat was also broken. The rooms were spacious and great wifi. The beds were comfy and clean but the rooms were very musty smelling. At breakfast we watched 2 employees dust food off with a napkin onto the floor as well as clean tea cups with tea towels and placed them back onto tables. Our cutlery and crockery was very very dirty and we had to ask for it to be replaced. Both employees working that morning wore un ironed clothes and had stains all over their shirts. For over €96 we expected more. 2.5 km took a very long taxi ride to the city??!!! I booked this place on reviews of others on this site but sadly was disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dillmac2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Commons Inn. We are extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay here. I would be most obliged if you would email me (ashley@commonsinn.com) and let me know the date of your stay so that I might investigate the problems which you had. We have invested a lot of money and time on our service and it not acceptable that anybody should let standards slip. As you will have seen from numerous other reviews our staff have consistently been praised for their professionalism and the service they provide. We would not like to think that individual members of our team are letting down their colleagues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Always when I'm on cork I'm staying in commons. From my point of view it's perfectly located and have all what professional person can looking for. There is internet access, was small problems but now working ok. For those who need boost of energy there is amazing hot breakfast.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thanks for your review Robert. We are delighted to confirm that as part of our refurbishment programme we have upgraded our WiFi network. Residents can now access WiFi anywhere in The Commons. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I always stay in the Commons Inn when I an Cork, Why? Because it is always a comfortable, enjoyable stay.
The rooms have been refurbished to a really nice standard. The staff are always incredibly friendly and make you feel very welcome.
The bar food is great (go for the steak)!
All in all the Commons Inn of fers great value for money and a very enjoyable stay. Every Time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluedub2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Commons Inn. Next time you're here why don't you enquire about our loyalty card? You can get up to 5% credit on your purchases.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed one night in the hotel so that I could be in time for an early start at a conference elsewhere. There was ample parking and I was able to get something to eat after a long journey. The room was spacious, comfortable, modern and well appointed. Biggest asset of all were the staff who were friendly and helpful. Overall, I was very pleased especially as the room rate was very reasonable

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beanganainm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at the Commons Inn. If you are in Cork on a regular basis please ask us about our Corporate Stay program. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Commons Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Commons Inn was such a great place to be in order to spend some time in Cork. The twin room was all the time meticulously clean, the beds were extra large. As a nice detail, there were two kinds of pillows in each bed - lower and higher, so even reading in bed went well.

The staff was very friendly and really thoughtful. We even got some tips about the city and surrounding areas. Each morning the cleaning ladies were ready to give clean towels, coffee and milk.

The pub had excellent food - each day there were enough to choose from: turkey, pork, beef, fish... Nice large portions, fresh, steam-boiled vegetables, gravy. Fresh and tasty!

The room was very quiet and bed so comfortable, that a good night sleep was guaranteed.

Only minus was that the location is a bit remote and if you would like to get to the city center and do not own a car, a bus trip is required. Luckily the bus stop is close by. Hotel management could think of something to get rid of that negative side. For example they could buy a small van that could drive to the city center and back a couple of times a day, free of charge for those who are staying at the hotel.

Thanks a lot for a nice stay!

Room Tip: A room facing to the parking lot was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Sven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thanks for your kind review Sven. I have passed on your comments to our housekeepers and reception staff. We are very proud of our staff and the commitment they show in making everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Commons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I had a lovely meal in the bar with my husband and our son in the commons on Friday evening. The food was lovely and a nice selection to chose from. The service from the staff was very good they were all lovely and very helpful. It was good value for money. We have been here before and we would definitely be returning, We really enjoyed it and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinifredTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review Winifred. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you back. Don't forget to check out our early bird 2 course and 3 course meals for fabulous value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 23 in Cork
242 reviews
Montenotte
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commons Inn

Address: New Mallow Rd, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cork
#15 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range: £52 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Commons Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering convenience at affordable prices, the Commons Express Inn is an ideal place to spend your relaxing vacation, or makes as a home away from home during business trips. The Commons Express Inn is located on the New Mallow Road (formerly Commons Road), just two miles from the centre of Cork city and 4 miles from the popular Blarney castle. The nearby Blackpool Shopping Centre & cinema are a simple 10 minute stroll away. A bus stop for both the City, Blarney and Mahon Point Shopping Centre is conveniently located right outside the Commons Inn. Ample free parking is available at the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Commons Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commons Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing