We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”
Review of Commons Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Commons Inn
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed for one night with a school group and had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. Room was a touch dingier than others we stayed in, and my daughter had no hot water for a shower in the evening (morning showers were fine). Opening the windows didn't offer much in the way of cooling the room.

Pros: Dinner was good, and both the pub and restaurant were busy, suggesting that's not a fluke. I'm sure breakfast would have been better if we were not in a group, but this was the only hotel on the tour that provided a cold breakfast as part of our stay.

Cons: Noise--constant door slamming and voices in the hall until late hours. Really the fault of inconsiderate guest and not the hotel, but be aware of the issue. No lift for some of the older members of our group staying on the second floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank mshund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, General Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.We are sorry that you had some issues during your stay.We are in the process of refurbishing all our rooms and we expect to have this completed shortly.
In relation to your comment regarding breakfast I think that this is an issue that you should raise with the tour operator that you traveled with. We were not asked to provide a cooked breakfast and had we been requested to provide a cooked breakfast you would have seen for yourself why we have received so many good reviews for our breakfast.
In relation to the noise in the corridor we have a policy of keeping all groups in the same area of the hotel. Therefore it is unfortunate but any noise that was made was by members of your own tour.
Thanks again for your review and we would be delighted to welcome you back, perhaps on a different rooming basis, when you could experience what we have to offer to the fullest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    125
    63
    29
    22
See reviews for
115
132
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We booked this hotel to break a long car journey and arrived in the late evening. It would be unfair not to recognise the many positives of this clean, bright and generally welcoming establishment but it could be so much better with some management attention. A distinct lack of general maintenance was the most obvious factor, particularly in the bathroom e.g. no overhead bracket for telephone shower, no sink drain plug, extract fan not working, no pull chord on shaving light, loose toilet seat etc etc. The bed-head assembly had been "repaired" recently with many sharp panel pin heads left unprotected above the surface. This non-smoking room had visible signs of abuse with cigarette burn marks on many surfaces. All it would take is for the housekeeper to view the room as if through the eyes of a patron, so that issues such as these are eradicated. We also had the inconvenience of what appeared to be a live singing rehearsal or audition process taking place in the next room from early morning. Given the hotel occupancy was not at all high, perhaps the allocation of room beside such an activity was not he best idea, particularly since the sound transmission between rooms was not as contained as one would expect. Finally, breakfast was served in a great environment but the selection available was very limited (condiments, juices, sides etc etc). We would book again but would expect better next time..

Room Tip: Request room away from meeting rooms and main road if you need uninterrupted sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hi Brendan. Many thanks for taking the time to review The Commons Inn. We are sorry that your stay didn't reach the standard that we would set ourselves. We are currently in the process of refurbishing all our rooms and we expect to finish this process shortly. We would be delighted if you would contact us when you are coming back to Cork and we will show you the same experience that we are getting such good reviews for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was great. The beds and bedding were so comfortable. It got hot in the room at night, but opening the window fixed it. The TV was great, got a few channels which was nice at night. The bathroom was great, shower was clean and water pressure was wonderful. We put the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door and they left fresh towels outside anyway. The food at the restaurant was ok, but the service and staff were great. Ashley at the front desk even let us check in 3 hours early which was awesome after an 11 hour plane ride. The bus stop is right outside and it was really convenient. We will be staying here again for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105, stay there, it was AWESOME.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Many thanks for your great review Paige. I have passed on your thanks to Ashley.We hope to welcome you back to the Commons Inn again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had been staying in hotels and b and bs in Ireland for about 8 days when we booked into the commons. The receptionist got better with time but was not overly friendly to begin with. Our key card didn't work... That's because the swiper had been broken off recently and since been replaced with a lock and key but they forgot. We booked 3 rooms and one room Had a hole in the wall, the toilet seat was also broken. The rooms were spacious and great wifi. The beds were comfy and clean but the rooms were very musty smelling. At breakfast we watched 2 employees dust food off with a napkin onto the floor as well as clean tea cups with tea towels and placed them back onto tables. Our cutlery and crockery was very very dirty and we had to ask for it to be replaced. Both employees working that morning wore un ironed clothes and had stains all over their shirts. For over €96 we expected more. 2.5 km took a very long taxi ride to the city??!!! I booked this place on reviews of others on this site but sadly was disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dillmac2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Commons Inn. We are extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay here. I would be most obliged if you would email me (ashley@commonsinn.com) and let me know the date of your stay so that I might investigate the problems which you had. We have invested a lot of money and time on our service and it not acceptable that anybody should let standards slip. As you will have seen from numerous other reviews our staff have consistently been praised for their professionalism and the service they provide. We would not like to think that individual members of our team are letting down their colleagues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Always when I'm on cork I'm staying in commons. From my point of view it's perfectly located and have all what professional person can looking for. There is internet access, was small problems but now working ok. For those who need boost of energy there is amazing hot breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks for your review Robert. We are delighted to confirm that as part of our refurbishment programme we have upgraded our WiFi network. Residents can now access WiFi anywhere in The Commons. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I always stay in the Commons Inn when I an Cork, Why? Because it is always a comfortable, enjoyable stay.
The rooms have been refurbished to a really nice standard. The staff are always incredibly friendly and make you feel very welcome.
The bar food is great (go for the steak)!
All in all the Commons Inn of fers great value for money and a very enjoyable stay. Every Time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluedub2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Commons Inn. Next time you're here why don't you enquire about our loyalty card? You can get up to 5% credit on your purchases.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed one night in the hotel so that I could be in time for an early start at a conference elsewhere. There was ample parking and I was able to get something to eat after a long journey. The room was spacious, comfortable, modern and well appointed. Biggest asset of all were the staff who were friendly and helpful. Overall, I was very pleased especially as the room rate was very reasonable

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beanganainm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at the Commons Inn. If you are in Cork on a regular basis please ask us about our Corporate Stay program. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Commons Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,358 reviews
Douglas
Rochestown Park Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commons Inn

Property: Commons Inn
Address: New Mallow Rd, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cork
#15 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Commons Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering convenience at affordable prices, the Commons Express Inn is an ideal place to spend your relaxing vacation, or makes as a home away from home during business trips. The Commons Express Inn is located on the New Mallow Road (formerly Commons Road), just two miles from the centre of Cork city and 4 miles from the popular Blarney castle. The nearby Blackpool Shopping Centre & cinema are a simple 10 minute stroll away. A bus stop for both the City, Blarney and Mahon Point Shopping Centre is conveniently located right outside the Commons Inn. Ample free parking is available at the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Commons Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commons Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing