We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of care and attention”
Review of Commons Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Commons Inn
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“In need of care and attention”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed in Commons for one night on a trip to Cork. The hotel is located on the main Limerick road, so forward looking rooms may be noisy. However, we were given a room at the back of the hotel, so slept without any problems. However, the hotel is a little dated and could do with a little care and attention to improve it. The rooms are spacious and not bad, but the corridors badly need a lick of paint. Much more could be done with this hotel, but its just not quite there yet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbrian2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thanks for your review Brian. We are delighted to tell you that our refurbishment program is nearly finished and the corridors are presently being dealt with. We would be delighted to see you back at some point in the future so show off our new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    128
    66
    31
    22
See reviews for
116
137
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The room looked nice but within a little while we realized what was lacking: the linens were rough on top a firm bed, there was not refrigerator, no clocks, the tea pot was dirty and wet from it's last use, the windows have no screens an no was to prop open, and the wood lining is chipped and out dated.
Everything in the city is a bus ride away. The only thing to walk to is a McDonalds and you have to walk along a busy and dirty highway. We have 3 more nights here and I'm not looking forward to it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tayleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, General Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thanks(!) for your review Tayleur. We are sorry that you haven't enjoyed your stay here at The Commons Express Inn.
Whilst we endeavour to meet everyone's expectations it is obvious that "you can't please all the people all the time".
If you had enquired at reception our staff would have been delighted to inform you of local facilities that are all within easy walking distance (10 minutes). For example "Planet Leisure" , which has bowling, snooker, pool, and a full fitness centre is 5 minutes away whilst Blackpool Shopping Centre is 10 minutes away. Here you have shops, restaurants, multi-screen cinema etc.
In relation to our rooms we are currently refurbishing all our bedrooms but even our new look rooms will not contain "refrigerators" or screens on the windows( which , by the way, would be illegal under Irish Fire Regulations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Thanks for a brilliant stay
Staff very friendly, room excellent, (except for room entry system) lovely food, great menu, at very good prices.
Bar friendly and relaxed with enjoyable entertainment
Overall excellent 3 night stay, hope to visit again

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bondp007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Having booked this online the only thing that disapponted me was the position directly on a busy road. We have been travelling all over Ireland and staying in both B&B's and hotels with 2 children. So we always need a family room and of course we are having breakfast for 4 people. The hotel is simple but I found the rooms to be clean and in good order. It is not not new but the staff were incredibly helpful. After the first night of sleeping in a room at the front which was very noisy I asked the next morning if we could change to one at the back and within an hour we were able to do so. I can undertand people feeling perhaps disappointed but it all comes down to what you pay for something. I have to say that I think for the 108 euros which the 4 of paid for room and breakfast it was more than adequate if not somewhere you would want to spend all your holidays but for a night or two really not bad. Again I have to stress how kind the receptionist Grace was and how helpful at all times.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionac2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Many thanks for your review. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about the location of the road but as you can imagine there are also benefits for most of our customers who are driving. We are very easy to find, you don't have to negotiate Cork's traffic system, we are the main bus route and there is free parking.I have passed on your very kind comments to Grace and we hope that we might see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Spent one night here in July. The price is low but frankly so is the quality. The room was big but musty. The hallway carpets desperately need to be cleaned. The staff serving the breakfast were surly. But to be fair, the beds were good and the bathrooms were modern and clean. The location is far from downtown, but getting there is easy by car. If all you need is a cheap place to crash, this is a good spot. If you are looking for something nicer within walking distance of the town centre, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with friends as we were in Cork to see Paolo Nutini recently. Rooms were very impressive for the price we paid, clean and well maintained. Prior to going to the gig, we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant/bar. Food we received wasn't too bad but we had to wait 40 minutes to be served. I understand that freshly prepared food takes longer but still, we felt it could have been quicker. All in all, we were happy with our stay and would definitely consider the Commons again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cormacca87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay (and Paulo Nutini!) and hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel by default and I am so pleased we stayed.I had booked 2 rooms- one with disabled facilities atThe Blarney Wollen Mills hotel and was told on arrival that the lift to the room was out of order since that morning. My parents had a lovely spacious room on theground floor in The Commons Inn. The receptionist who had started that day was very pleasant and offered to help us in with our bags. I was given a spacious room also across from my parents. The night porter told us to contact him if we needed anything. I had not known of this hotel and I was very pleasantly surprised to find very modern bright rooms with tea and coffee making facilities and flatscreen television. The carpets perhaps could do with being replaced. The hotel is really convenient to Cork(10 mins) and also to Blarney. We would certainly stay again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are the quietist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valc456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for your very kind review. I have passed on your comments to our colleagues. We are nearly finished refurbishing our bedrooms and your rooms have yet to be completed. We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
717 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,409 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commons Inn

Property: Commons Inn
Address: New Mallow Rd, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cork
#15 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Commons Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering convenience at affordable prices, the Commons Express Inn is an ideal place to spend your relaxing vacation, or makes as a home away from home during business trips. The Commons Express Inn is located on the New Mallow Road (formerly Commons Road), just two miles from the centre of Cork city and 4 miles from the popular Blarney castle. The nearby Blackpool Shopping Centre & cinema are a simple 10 minute stroll away. A bus stop for both the City, Blarney and Mahon Point Shopping Centre is conveniently located right outside the Commons Inn. Ample free parking is available at the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Commons Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commons Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing