We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic room, quality is similar to motel 6 in the states”
Review of Commons Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Commons Inn
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Room reeked of stale cigarettes. Was a good value though, 60 euro with hot breakfast. Parking was plentiful, staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shooosho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Commons Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2010

Don't go into this with high expectations after all its a small Inn, located at the side of the main road about 15 mins walk from cork city centre. For €60 we got a spacious, ensuite, clean room with two double beds, Tea/Coffee making facilities, Hair Dryer. The Bar is old fashioned but busy. You are required to pay on arrival which doesnt always leave a good impression.
If your looking for clean,cheap accommodation this place is perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Ignorant Manager / management.
Trouble on the premises (However Guards arrive fast).
Children do not appear to be welcome.
Dusty blankets.Musty smell.
However the employed staff are very appear to be very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VEasy2please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

We stayed here recently following some very positive feedback from friends of ours. We were visiting the city for a family wedding. Our experience of this hotel was extremely enjoyable. We ended up extending our stay for a further few days as a result of this. This hotel had a very personal feel to it, with a number of family members directly involved in the day-to-day running of the business. They were all very friendly and after becoming familiar with them, we were made to feel like part of the family ourselves!! One of the nicest hotels we have stayed in for many a long year and could not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel is was centrally located between Cork and Blarney with a bus stop either way practiacally outside the door. The staff were very pleasant and helpful reception was manned at all times. We were there for a family surprise party the bar and food was very good. The full Irish breakfast was very good plenty of it and filling lasting the day! The room was very comfortable and spacious with all expected amenities. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnafarr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

We spent three nights, at first nervously because of reading earlier reviews. We were very happy - very warm welcome and cheerful staff. Room was large, tidy, clean, with 2 double beds. Shower, no bath. Breakfast included, self help buffet and large irish served. Road side had traffic noise, so ask for quiet room. Lots of parking. Decorative order very decent - painting going on during visit. Recommend for good value.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank johnaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

We chose this hotel from an Ireland hotel book we had with us. It appeared to be a nice property in the book, however when we arrived we found it to be a very old property. The parking lot is not paved or in some areas it has broken concrete. The lobby had broken furniture. Obviously the owners have never refurbished this hotel.

Our rooms were tolerable. At least they were clean.

It has a huge bar, which appeared to be very nice, but on the night we were there, the bar was packed due to a soccer game on TV.

The location is outside the busy city centre. It is on the road to Blarney, which was convenient as we went there for both breakfast and dinner. The Lemon Tree and Mackeys are both excellent restaurants in Blarney. I would recommend them highly and a nice quiet place to dine as Cork is very busy and a difficult city to drive in.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WDMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,644 reviews
Montenotte
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commons Inn

Address: New Mallow Rd, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cork
#15 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range: £55 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Commons Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering convenience at affordable prices, the Commons Express Inn is an ideal place to spend your relaxing vacation, or makes as a home away from home during business trips. The Commons Express Inn is located on the New Mallow Road (formerly Commons Road), just two miles from the centre of Cork city and 4 miles from the popular Blarney castle. The nearby Blackpool Shopping Centre & cinema are a simple 10 minute stroll away. A bus stop for both the City, Blarney and Mahon Point Shopping Centre is conveniently located right outside the Commons Inn. Ample free parking is available at the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Commons Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commons Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing