We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and warm”
Review of Emerson House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Emerson House
Ranked #27 of 60 Cork B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Spent an evening in this atmospheric little house. Eccentric decor and a warm host made for a joy of a stay. I will definitely return if I revisit the city of Cork. The breakfast was astonishing good!! Centrally located and just above the main train station, this is a great spot to stay at.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DamienSlattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

Cyril is the BEST host that I've ever met.
He is SO kind and nice; he gave us a lot of advice about new places to visit in Cork and generally around Ireland. Thanks to him we went to wonderful places that neither in our huge guide we could find.
The rooms were very clean and cosy, the bed was just perfect (and I always have problems with mattresses because of some problems at my back) and even if it's only 5 minutes walking from the city centre, it is very quiet and peaceful.
The breakfast was fantastic! We had a full Irish breakfast but also a lot of soda bread with butter and amazing jams, milk and a huge variety of cereals, a jar of orange juice, yogurts and a bowl full of super fresh fruit! Also Cyril and another guest were sitting at table with us and it was so nice to have breakfast all together, to chat and share opinions.
If you're looking for the best B&B in Cork HERE IT IS!!

Gaia and Angelo

Room Tip: You absolutely have to have breakfast there! The best Irish breakfast that we ever had! Best soda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GaiaBlandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

we spent a few days in Cork without a car but it wasn't a problem as we were within walking distance of all the best places to eat and visit in Cork.Cyril was a charming host and made us feel very welcome .

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Cyril is perhaps the greatest B&B host of all time! He seems to know everything about the area and anything he doesn't know he'll find out for you. the B&B is amazing and wonderfully decorated in antiques with a Greco-Roman motif. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. My friend and I stayed with Cyril for 4 days and had an incredible time. Breakfasts were epic to say the least and Cyril was a most hospitable host!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Natasha_A2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A comfortable house, full of interesting books and antiques. We had a lovely large room with views of the river. Breakfast was excellent. Cyril was a wonderful host. It is a short walk to town but not far. A lovely place to stay if you find yourself in Cork.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay in our spacious room with a river view in Cork! Cyril was so kind and informed us of local history, events, places to see. His breakfasts were excellent and so cozy with the nice silverware, fresh fruit, and yummy yogurt. He helped us get to Blarney Castle and to Cobh and gave us good advice on other items. It was very quiet up on Summerhill and just a 10 minute walk to the city center/trains and busses. The bathrooms are tiny - but that is what the house is. The internet worked the best of any we saw in Ireland. Definitely consider staying here when in Cork.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Europhile62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Cyril Shanahan, the host, is the epitome of graciousness and hospitality. He made us feel utterly welcome. His historical context guided our touring off the beaten track and into some fabulous adventures.

We could not have asked for a lovelier Georgian home experience, overlooking the river, among world travelers at breakfast made to order.

Thank you, Cyril, for a fabulous experience!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SFOriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Shandon
Commons Inn
Commons Inn
#20 of 23 in Cork
434 reviews
Montenotte
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Montenotte
Clon Ross Guest House
Clon Ross Guest House
#23 of 60 in Cork
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
Number Forty Eight
Number Forty Eight
#41 of 60 in Cork
77 reviews
Gabriel House B&B
#7 of 60 in Cork
574 reviews
Kent House B&B
#12 of 60 in Cork
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson House

Address: 2 Clarence Terrece | Summer Hill North, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: £31 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing