We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place with ducks and tasty breakfast”
Review of Gabriel House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gabriel House B&B
Ranked #5 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Sleeping for us (a couple) was two single beds put together, which was uncomfortable. The ceilings were very high and overall the place was decorated nicely. Unfortunately there were several spiders (and their webs) in the high ceilings! Lots of space in the rooms. The shower was good with a huge shower head and great water pressure. The views, even from a low room, were lovely and you could see ducks out of the window. The room was very warm for May! The window opened fully (no safety latches) which was very welcome. There were a variety of options for breakfast and the full Irish was very tasty. There was lots of parking but it was a bit scary to do in a hire car as it was very tight and steep! They were okay with our late check in and had good security.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_Lucy_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel G, Guest Relations Manager at Gabriel House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our ducks are indeed a great source of amusement to the guests and staff alike.
We hope you might some day return now that you know where we are
kind regards
Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Gabriel House is easy to find, situated on a hillside in Cork, overlooking the workings of the city. The walled garden is an oasis of comfort and entertainment... Including the geese and chicken, and the herb garden. A perfect place for a relaxing glass of wine. The breakfasts here are excellent too. The best rooms go to those staying more than one night....if you are staying only one night make sure you clarify the room allocation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Recommended here by another B-and-B when they were full and was very pleased that this happened. Seeing six white ducks scratching around in the fine garden set the relaxing scene that is Gabriel House. Only stayed one night as this was a business trip but would gladly have stayed longer if time allowed. Extremely clean, large and comfortable room. Very informative and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking garden and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vpt-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights whilst on a city break to Cork. I selected this place on the basis of previous reviews & I wasn't disappointed! Typical Irish welcome; very friendly & welcoming & nothing too much bother. Rooms were very comfortable & clean & selection for breakfast was second to none. Even when we checked out we were invited back for tea before going back to the airport. I am considering another trip to Cork & I will certainly check availability at Gabriel House. Yes it is on a rather steep hill so if mobility is a problem you may need to enquire further but fortunately for me it was perfectly amenable & a very pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pb231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great service! We had large luggages, Kathleen was very kind to move us to the second floor. We were given restaurant recommendations where discounts are offered to guests. Breakfast was delicious with a range of a la carte choices. My mom had a cold so she offered a cup of hot lemon water with honey! Which really helped!! The rooms were comfortable and very clean, as was the bathroom. We were given driving directions that saved us time on our trip! Thanks Kathleen!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I travelled with 3 friends and had a perfect stay! Room was very clean and spacious especially as the 4 of us were sharing 1 room, fantastic views and beautiful garden made even more special with the ducks wandering around. Staff were very helpful and due to us having a late flight home allowed us to leave our bags for the day. Breakfast was a little slow on the 2nd day but only due to the volume of people arriving at the same time and there was plenty of toast ect to keep us going.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 which was a family room, it was very quiet and has a fantastic view of the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The staff and breakfast were great, the only downside was the B&B was located on a hill, a little too far for my three young children to walk back from Cork. Nevertheless the staff were great, they invited my kids to feed the chickens, helped me print out my boarding passes.... They were great!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,691 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,777 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#10 of 23 in Cork
968 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gabriel House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gabriel House B&B

Address: Gabriel House Summerhill North | St. Luke's, Cork T23 X963, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: £55 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gabriel House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gabriel House Bed and Breakfast in Cork city is a beautiful period guesthouse, set in an elevated position overlooking the habour area. Located close to both bus and train stations it is a 10-15 minute walk down to the centre of the city. Gabriel House dating from the early 1900's has been lovingly restored,aspiring to its former glory. With 10-foot ceilings, feature staircase and many original features it is not difficult to imagine this impressive house as it was in its heyday! Our South facing sun terrace compliments extensive gardens and a vegetable garden, fruit trees with greenhouse produce to provide for breakfast needs.Featured in the garden are rabbits,canaries with our hens and ducks producing fresh eggs daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gabriel House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabriel House Hotel Cork
Gabriel House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing