We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quality hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A quality hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a really good hotel in every respect and, despite the apparent high cost, the value for money is very good. Parking is complementary, so this and other "perks" offered as you stay make it good value.
Finding the hotel by car is a challenge, but the coordinates given work well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Richard H,

Thank your for posting your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back here again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,441
    669
    100
    46
    25
See reviews for
737
1,286
99
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Limerick
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very warm welcome by professional staff. Beautiful room with lovely view of the river. Abundant breakfast with lots of fresh food to choose from.
The only thing to improve is the portion size of the food in the bar. What I got didn't reflect the price.
Over all a very good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Barry E,

Thank your for posting your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back here again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband & I stayed here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Upon arrival, Deirdre at reception was so friendly and helpful and even offered to upgrade our room. From the moment we arrived, every staff member that passed us or looked after us always greeted us and they were all so friendly and helpful. We had bar food for lunch on the terrace overlooking the river - beautiful setting and the food was amazing! Our room was really clean with great bathroom, walk-in shower and a large bath tub. Would highly recommend this hotel - great location too being only few minutes stroll in to the city centre. I honestly havent seen staff this friendly in a long time, it is really refreshing to see this and we will definitely be returning. Deirdre especially was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NL789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear NL789,

Thank your for posting your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities. I will certainly pass on your wonderful feedback to Deirdre who I'm sure will join me in thanking you for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back here again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have just returned from Cork with my wife and 2 children having stayed here. We were treated amazingly and enjoyed every last minute of our stay. Its the little extras that make this hotel stand out. Sky sports in all rooms. Bottles of water in the fridge. Ice buckets for the ice machines on every floor. The wonderful staff who went that extra step to ensure that your stay is perfect. The location is a short step into the city. The breakfast in the River Lee is by far the best breakfast that my wife and I have ever experienced in any hotel. EVERYTHING you want is there, we were blown away with the quality and choice available. This hotel is ranked at number 3 in Cork. This cant be true, this hotel is number 1. The only minor issue we had was the price of the drinks in the bar, almost €12 for 2 drinks is a bit pricey, in saying that we had our kids with us so we weren't going to over indulge alcohol wise.. Dont think about booking here, just do it

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stranded_in_kilcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Stranded_in_kilcock,



Thank your for posting your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities and we are delighted you enjoyed our little treats from check in to check out.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back here again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
162 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My son and I stayed here for one night. I was a little worried the hotel would not be child friendly but my concerns were ill founded. The level of service was excellent. The room is very well furnished with a great view of the river. The glass elevators were a big hit with my son. The swimming pool and fitness club next door were very high quality. The restaurant was very good quality also. Breakfast was quite expensive which was the only downside although the selection of continental and cooked breakfasts were top grade. Overall very good stay we would stay here again when in Cork.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Colin M,


Thank your for posting your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back here again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We couldn't find anything to fault at this hotel. On arrival we were upgraded to a wonderful room with every possible facility and comfort but we have no reason to doubt that standard rooms would have been just fine too. But even setting aside the quality of the room it was the staff who really made the whole experience so particularly pleasing.
We are vegetarians although some hotel restaurants do in our experience sometimes seem unprepared for such eccentricity the River Lee was able to present a full vegetarian menu instantly and was also very willing to adapt certain dishes to individual taste. We stayed for four nights and wished we had been staying longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Raymond F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Raymond F,

Thank your for posting your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities and staff. We are delighted your culinary needs were satisfied and we appreciate your acknowledgement of our vegetarian menu.

We look forward to welcoming you back here again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Irrespective of ratings this is the best hotel in Cork, Ireland's second city.
From the moment you meet the friendly, informed and and efficient reception staff you will find a hotel that cares about its guests.
Do not leave without trying the breakfast and the all-day dining in the bar will keep you going until the wee, small hours.
If you fancy a hotel in Dublin, London or Washington DC you could do worse than stay with the group - The Doyle Collection.
You will be hooked, I am !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear ghook,

Thank your for posting your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our friendly and efficient staff. We are delighted you enjoy our culinary delights at breakfast- a perfect way to start your day.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back here again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Property: The River Lee
Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing