We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay ,”
Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Lovely trip to cork for friends birthday and to see imelda may , great concert , fab weather , went to bailey pub after concert and hotel was a short walk home , hotel room was so comfortable with lovely blackout curtains so we could sleep in after dancing all night , room so quiet and comfortable bed , breakfast was on till 10.30 .so no panic in morning , super service , great coeliac choice , lovely choice of foods , short walk into town to spend a few euros in the sales , soo handy

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Oonagh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Oonagh B,


Thank your for posting your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We are delighted you had a wonderful relaxing stay with us and you enjoyed Live at the Marquee and of course the wonderful weather.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back here again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,562)
There are newer reviews for The River Lee
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,010 - 2,016 of 3,562 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 22 June 2014

When I opened the curtains I got a surprise - it was a whole black patch outside instead of a nice view (of either the river or the city). Outside was the black roof top with wires! I paid 200 Euro for a triple room (without breakfast) but the view had to be compromised. The only saving grace was the friendliness of the lady staff at check-out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear A Tripadvisor Member,

Thank your for taking the time to post your review of The River Lee Hotel.

We truly appreciate good and bad feedback as it helps us to improve our guests experience and I'm sorry to hear your room allocation was not to your satisfaction.

Thank you kindly for your kind comments regarding our Front Office Team. We do hope to welcome you back here again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

First a disclaimer...this is a hotel we work for work (at the University) ... but we are so fortunate to have such a beautiful hotel nearby for conference speakers, guests etc. We have used it several times and everyone comments all the time how beautiful it is, with its great location beside the river, its light filled rooms and its great staff and catering. The breakfast is delicious - a range of standard and more interesting options - and everything just works very well alround.I have stayed here a couple of times also and it really is to be highly recommended for all purposes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Ursula,

Thank your for posting your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities. We are delighted you enjoyed our location and amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back here again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I could not begen to say how wonderful our stay has been. The staff is the best and friendly. We fell in love with a young Weir lounge staffer named Robert. If you need anything they are right there to help you. And the restaurant has the best food we have had in Ireland yet. The room is spotless and they are always asking if you need anything. We will defiantly stay here when we return.

Room Tip: Room 520 was quite.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Penny P,

Thank your for posting your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities. I will certainly pass on your wonderful feedback to Robert.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back here again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a lovely room overlooking the river. Everything was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The staff were excellent, anticipating our needs, e.g for an umbrella and there was a particularly good vegetarian menu.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJF270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear VGF270

Thank your for posting your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back here again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is my no. 1 hotel in Europe to stay in.
Staff are the friendliest, rooms are most comfortable and roomy, the entire hotel and it's grounds are spotless, and the breakfast is the best I have ever had.
Both bar and restaurant food are SO good, and the service is brilliant too.
Free secure underground parking, and a fab pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. I didn't use the gym but I had a look and it is very well equipped.
Cannot wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Jennifer H,


Thank your for posting your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back here again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Booked as a birthday present for my Partner. On check we were upgraded to a Deluxe Room. The room was excellent. We ate in the Weir Restaurant each evening of our stay. The food was excellent & the staff friendly & took time to speak with guests

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brenda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Brenda U,

Thank your for posting your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back here again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,112 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range: £125 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing