We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel & Excellent service”
Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Myself and my Partner stayed in the River Lee in February and were delighted with our experience. We chose this hotel based on the location as its extremely close to the city centre and also beside the beautiful River Lee.

Everyone from the Front of house , Restaurant and housekeeping where extremely friendly polite and accomodating with any requests.The rooms boast lovely big windows and the bathrooms are gorgeous (the comlimentry slippers are comfy too :)

Our 2 night stay was faultless and the location is excellent.The food was delicious and the breakfast had an wide selection.I am already looking forward to my next visit to Cork and staying in the River Lee again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Rosanna C,

Many thanks for taking the time to express such a wonderful review of your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.

I am delighted to read you had a fabulous time. Our team here at the hotel are our best asset. They are a wonderful friendly group and do their best to ensure each guest has a memorable and luxurious stay with us. I have passed on your comments to all the team and they were delighted to receive them!

I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not distant future.

Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,562)
There are newer reviews for The River Lee
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,958 - 1,964 of 3,562 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

stayed 2 nights in the river lee hotel cork. this is a fabulous hotel about a 10 or 15 min walk to the centre of cork. everything was excellent all very clean spacious with a choice of dining in the restaurant or bar. the staff were so friendly and helpful especially young robert in the bar. overall i would highly recomend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear William C,

Thank you for taking the time to share such fabulous feedback of your recent stay with us.

I am glad to read you had a fabulous stay. We have a great location here only a 10 minute stroll into the heart of Cork city where you will find wonderful shops, bars and restaurants. Our team here are great and try to accommodate all guest requests to ensure each guest has a great stay. I passed on your comments to Robert and all of the team and they were thrilled to receive them!

I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not distant future.

Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The front desk staff were not friendly at all. They interacted in a monotone like they were totally bored with talking to me and other customers. The ice machines have limited value and the pool is available but of limited value due to use requirements.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian&Virginia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Brian & Virginia E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay with us.

We appreciate all feedback here at the hotel to ensure we are providing guests with the service you would expect from a Doyle Collection Hotel. I am deeply disappointed by your comments of our front desk team. We will most certainly take your comments and use them as a valuable training tool to ensure all of our guests have a wonderful stay with us.

I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not distant future.

Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

this is an excellent place to stay in Cork City. good location, friendly staff and comfort are assured. the breakfast is excellent. I found dinner to lack choice. overall however the hotel is to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank love2travel5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear love2travel5star,

Many thanks for taking the time to share great comments of your recent stay.

I am delighted to read you had such a great time in Cork. We have a wonderful location here in the city only a 10 minute stroll into the heart of Cork City where you will find amazing bars and restaurants and of course some of the amazing attractions Cork has to offer.

I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not distant future.

Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here for several days. I think that is enough time for something to go wrong. But nothing ever did! The room was always clean. Everything worked. The food in the restaurant was always well prepared. The wi-fi was free and worked well; no need to re-enter your password every day, for instance. I really struggle to find anything to complain about. OK, the car park arrangement is a little inconvenient when you first arrive. There: something that could be improved upon. But that's about it. And, in addition, I want to express my gratitude to Nicole at the front desk, who arranged a repair of my rental car when it broke down on the outskirts of Cork on a Sunday when Hertz was closed. Many thanks!

The size and style of the hotel may be a bit larger and more modern and grand than some visitors may be looking for. However, I think it is very likely that if you want all the modern conveniences and functionality of 2014, you won't be disappointed in your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking River
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Armonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Armonk,

Thank you for taking the time to share such great comments of your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled to read you had such a lovely stay with us. It is great to see that everything went well during your stay and how Nicole was such a help to you in assisting with the situation with the car. Our team here at the hotel are our best asset and will do their utmost to ensure all of our guests a wonderful and luxurious stay with us.

I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not distant future.

Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and absolutely loved it. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast selection was incredible, fresh fruits, porridge, fresh breads, scones, hot buffet, absolutely everything you could possibly want and of exceptional quality. The gym and pool is also beautiful and well laid out. A great spot to explore the wonderful city of Cork, think you can tell I was very impressed with all things Cork! Would love to visit again and wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dundeetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear dundeetourist,

Many thanks for taking the time to share such great feedback from your recent visit.

I am thrilled to read you found our hotel beautiful. Our Breakfast is quite special with a fantastic selection of foods for guests to choose from whether it is a light breakfast of fresh fruit and yoghurts or a full Irish breakfast there is plenty for guests to choose from and sure to set you up for a busy day.

I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not distant future.

Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I've never stayed in a hotel and had such an easy stay. Everything went so smoothly, as soon as we got there one of the lovely reception staff greeted us and because it wasn't busy she immediately upgraded us to an executive suite free of charge. We had access to the executive lounge then as well. They are so accommodating and friendly. I only stayed for the one night but I am dying to go back again! The breakfast buffet is amazing definitely try that. Its about 10 minutes walk away from the main shopping streets in Cork and about 20 minute drive to fota wildlife depending on traffic! Just fantastic I'd love to be going back again!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Sue O,

Many thanks for taking the time to share such wonderful comments of your recent stay.

I am delighted to read you had an amazing stay. Our Executive rooms are wonderful with a fabulous King size bed, bathrobes, slippers and a nespresso machine and access into the Executive Lounge which serves tea, coffee, juices and pastries to enjoy throughout the day.

I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not distant future.

Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,112 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
Price Range: £125 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Doyle Collection, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing