We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbooking ?”
Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a great hotel. Very conveniently located in central Cork. Unfortunately, last time I was here (June 2014) I had an unpleasant surprise: I arrived in the evening from the airport, just after dinner time, and the receptionist told me that they did not have a room for me, due to overbooking. Mind that I had a reservation (with booking.com). They told me that overbooking is a normal practice for them and they offered to relocate me in another hotel (same quality) near the city center. I was tired after a long trip and protested. I did not want to leave for another hotel. Thus after some discussion they found a lower rate room for me. Clearly they also lowered the price I had at the time of reservation.
Nice hotel but strage attitudes: I will not book there next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmmlcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear gmmlcu,

We apologise sincerely again for the overbooking of our Executive rooms back in June.
Due to an internal situation we had to offer you alternative accommodation in Cork City as we were over booked on your particular room type.
However we did have alternative room types available and you kindly agreed to stay with us on a reduced rate in one of one of our Superior Rooms.
I also wish to add that this is not a very regular occurrence and while I appreciate that this is not much of a consolation to you, we do hope that you enjoyed your time in Cork.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,065 - 2,071 of 3,715 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

This attractive hotel is several blocks from downtown Cork's market and other sights. It gives the appearance of being a first-class operation, and its personnel are friendly. BUT it can't seem to get the details right. In our short stay there, we encountered a nonworking ice machine, a faulty thermostat depriving us of air-conditioning, towel shortage, and faulty safe. At an otherwise very good breakfast, we were served unripe kiwis--expensive food that went to waste. This place needs an inspector general.

Room Tip: Inspect the room before you move in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EdwardBonekemper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear EdwardBonekemper,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at The River Lee Hotel and for taking the time to post your review.

I would like to assure you that I am very grateful for your helpful feedback, as it highlights the area where we can direct our immediate attention to resolve any issues in our rooms. We thank for your kind words regarding our staff and I truly hope to welcome you back to The River Lee Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed for one night in this hotel and absolutely loved the location and the service, which was very friendly.
If you want to stay in the city centre, I will definitely recommend this hotel, the rooms are large, comfortable beds and the area itself is great.
Try to get a room in a higher floor as the views are amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pablost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Pablost,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities and staff. We are delighted you had an opportunity to take advantage of our wonderful panoramic views of Cork City and we thank you kindly for your wonderful comments regarding our customer care.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back here again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Beautiful modern hotel a few minutes' walk from Cork's charming city center. Generous windows let in light and color throughout the property. Staff was friendly. Excellent value, too. Good breakfast, and a little babbling brook outside the dining room made this hotel almost too idyllic to be true.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view - one side definitely has better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Evan F,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.

Thank you very much indeed for your kind praise of our staff and breakfast. I am trilled to read that your were so pleased with our hotel. Its always a delight to hear we managed to exceed our guests expectations.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The River Lee Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel was very nice and I have no complaints. They gave us a nice river view which we requested. I didn't use the restaurant - there are many options for eating in very close walking distance to the hotel. Beds were comfortable and it was a quiet stay. There is a safe but no refrigerator in room. Truth, Cork was a little depressing compared to other locations we stayed in Ireland. I think going to West Cork area is supposed to be nice.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank santonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear santonez,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.

Thank you very much indeed for your kind praise of our beds and amenities. I am trilled to read that your were so please with our hotel. I hope you had a fantastic time in West Cork.
I very much look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The River Lee Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Staying in The River Lee Hotel was one of the most pleasant experiences I've had for quite some time. From the time we met Kevin at the front desk to the time we checked out we couldn't have been looked after better. Within minutes of arrival we had been checked in, a dinner reservation in the hotel and a taxi organised to take us to the venue we were going to that evening.
The hotel itself is amazing. From the bar and restaurant there are beautiful views of the river and its wiers.
the rooms are luxuriously decorated and incredibly comfortable.
I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in Cork for one night or more.
Manager Ruari and his fabulous team ( Tasha in the bar, Jolanta in the dining room and Pierce , Kevin and Leanne) will really look after you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank ptrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear ptrat,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.

Thank your very much indeed for your kind praise of our staff and service especially Kevin, Tasha, Jolanta, Leanne and Pierce. I am trilled to read that your were so please with our hotel. Its always a delight to hear we managed to exceed our guests expectations.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The River Lee Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My parents and I stayed for 3 nights and it was a delight from beginning to end. Wonderful, friendly and efficient staff and the hotel tries to make you feel like a home to home visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ruben-UK-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Ruben-UK-2013,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.

Thank your very much indeed for your kind praise of our staff ad service. I am trilled to read that your were so please with our hotel that it felt like home. Its always a delight to hear we managed to exceed our guests expectations.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The River Lee Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,281 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,217 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range: £116 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing