We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Cork”
Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One night in Cork”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked the River Lee Hotel the day before we travelled, as we needed a stop off before driving to the west coast of Ireland to stay with family. The hotel is in a great spot, a few minutes walk into Cork. It has smart decor, very clean and the staff were lovely, it was a fleeting visit, <12 hours - highly recommended. We had breakfast in a cafe in town, in the English Market, called Farmgate. The English Market is in a wonderful, historic building.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatherineH655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Kathy H,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities and staff.
Your wonderful praise is greatly appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back here again to The River Lee Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,575
    701
    109
    47
    27
See reviews for
776
1,358
107
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Arrived 1/08/2014 along with a big party of family members for a wedding. It was a fabulous venue for us all to get together, the bar area Friday night was full of us having a great catch up, the staff coped with us very well & helped to make it a memorable occasion, good start to what turn out to be a wonderful weekend, did you order the weather too, 10/10 for that just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MaryMark2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear MaryMark2509,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities and staff. We are delighted you had an opportunity to celebrate a very special occasion with us. It is very gratifying to know that we exceeded your expectations.

Your wonderful praise is greatly appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back here again to The River Lee Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Would probably give a 3.5 rating. The bed and pillows were the best out of any hotel we stayed in during our trip around Ireland. The room was wonderful! However, the food at the hotel left a lot to be desired. The best word I can think of to describe the breakfast situation was messy. There seemed to be food spilled all over the tables where food was displayed, and there was tons of staff milling around, but not doing anything. After being in the room at least 15 minutes I had to get up and request coffee from the hostess, one it was brought we never had another interaction with a staff member in the room again. We also had dinner the night before in the bar area (we were told there weren't any tables in the nicer restaurant), my burger tasted awful. The waitress was very kind and offered me something else. The second sandwich I received as well as my husbands meal was average at best. Since we were there on a Sunday almost everything was closed in the town, so we couldn't find other options close by. The sad part was this night happened to be our first wedding anniversary that fell in the middle of our trip, needless to say we will be going out for a nice night's dinner when we get home to make up for the meal we had here. I hope management can get the food figured out because it is bringing down the experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear JennaD,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to The River Lee Hotel.

Thank you very much indeed for your kind praise of our beds and pillows it truly is wonderful to read that our rooms exceeded your expectations.

I am however exceedingly sorry to learn that you were very disappointed with your breakfast in our Weir Bistro and I would like to apologise most sincerely and unreservedly. We take great pride in the quality of our cuisine and in our service, and its naturally very disheartening to know that we have not succeeded on this occasion. I would like to assure you this is not the standard at The River Lee Hotel.

I am very grateful for your helpful feedback, as it highlights an area in which we can improve the standards of service.

I truly hope to welcome you back here again to The River Lee Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The rooms here are lovely, some over looking river lee. It's a bright, modern and spacious hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly and it's only a ten minute walk Into cork city centre. Breakfast buffet was lovely, lots of choice in a nice breakfast room

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinsdelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Dublinsdelight,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

It was an absolute pleasure to read how thoroughly you enjoyed your stay and to know you were delighted with the style of the hotel and the amenities that we offer.

I truly hope that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The River Lee Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just back from the River Lee where we went to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. From check in to check out everything was faultless. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a lovely room on the fourth floor, spotless bathroom with both shower and bath, and had a great nights sleep. We had a plate of deserts delivered to our room, a token from the hotel to mark our anniversary. My husband used the gym which he said was very well equipped.
It's one of the best hotels we've stayed in. I would have no hesitation in recommending it and we will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarMor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear MarMor21,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities and staff. We are delighted you had an opportunity to celebrate your special occasion with us. It is very gratifying to know that we exceeded your expectations.

Your wonderful praise is greatly appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back here again to The River Lee Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.


Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager

Warm Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Rang on a Tuesday looking for 2night reservation from the Thursday and spoke to Richard, very helpful and arranged a bookIng with no hassle. We arrived around 5pm and we were offered warm hand towels at reception. Very quick check in. We had a lovely room on 5th floor with use of executive suite. Lovely views of cork, room had everything you could need and more- espresso machine, dressing gown and slippers..... We ate in the restaurant , I had the crab for starter which was ok however I had the Tuna Fillet for mains which was amazing, the best mains I had had all week!!!!! Their raspberry tiramisu was delicious... Breakfast in such a large hotel was excellent-fresh smoothies,organic porridge, very large selection of fresh fruit. The staff at both reception and the restaurant were excellent, extremely friendly and helpful and took time to chat. We went with friends to the Liberty Grill restaurant on our second nite- well worth a visit but book first! The hotel is close to the English Market and main shopping area too. Once you stay here I don't think you would want to chance anywhere else in Cork so will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river preferably the fifth floor, king size beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anncull2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Anncull2,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had an opportunity to experience our Executive Floor.
I truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our food and especially our breakfast selection- it indeed is an array of exquisite culinary delights from local producers hand picked by our Executive Head Chef Shane O'Sullivan.

We look forward to welcoming you back here again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager


Warm Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The River Lee Hotel is a beautiful, new build on the River Lee just <5 mins walk from the centre of town. I'd definitely stay here again when visiting Cork - it's the perfect location within walking distance from town (even in heels), lovely views of UCC or the rest of town, spotless rooms and big bathroom.
- Delicious breakfast spread until 11am; very good service from the staff
- Comfortable, big bed that is actually one mattress, not two pushed together!
- Big, modern bathroom with a powerful shower - also had White Company toiletries, impressive!
- Very nice and friendly staff
- We requested a late check-out and this was no problem (complimentary until 1pm)

Room Tip: Get a room on the 5th floor for the views. We were in Rm534 which had a view of the rubbish bins unf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddlemug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear buddlemug,

Thank you for taking the time to express such kind feedback of your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.

I am delighted your enjoyed your stay at The River Lee Hotel. We have a wonderful location here in Cork. Only a 10 minute walk into the heart of the City.
I truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our rooms and designer amenities and I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Property: The River Lee
Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing