We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay”
Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Kobe, Japan
2 reviews
“comfortable stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

came to cork for business, and this lovely hotel provide all the essential facilities that i would ask for. Friendly staff helped to arrange me a taxi that i had nothing to worry to catch my flight at dawn. Would recommend anyone who has a fuss with super-clean toilet, guest room and decent facilities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MT82jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear MT82jp,

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities and staff. Your wonderful praise is greatly appreciated and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back here again to The River Lee Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,575
    702
    109
    47
    27
See reviews for
776
1,359
107
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Delighted with my stay over the bank holiday weekend in August. We got an upgrade to the 5th floor, our room was nice, lovely view and complementary access to a lounge on that floor with free tea, coffee and treats. The staff were so lovely and professional. Breakfast was delicious and though we didn't have dinner there other guests food looked very tasty. Bar has an extensive cocktail and wine menu. There is free parking and wi-ii and when checking out we were offered complementary water for our journey home. It's the little touches that make a difference. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sibh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Sibh83,

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities and staff. I'm delighted to read you enjoyed your August Bank Holiday weekend with us and you had an opportunity to experience our Executive Floor.
Your wonderful praise is greatly appreciated and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back here again to The River Lee Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My family of 5 (4 adults and 1 teenager) stayed at the River Lee Hotel for 2 nights recently. The hotel was modern and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The restrauant menu was exceptional. Our compliments to the chef and wait staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mcdon0259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mcdon0259,

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities and staff. It is very gratifying to know that we exceeded your expectations.
Your wonderful praise is greatly appreciated and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back here again to The River Lee Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

As a repeat guest at this hotel I had been looking forward to staying here again. The last time we were in Cork we were unable to reserve a room as they were fully booked. Indeed this time we had to stay our first night at another hotel also.

We arrived early at the hotel as we were in town and had plans for the afternoon. The hotel stored our luggage until our rooms were ready. When we checked in later in the day the problems started. We had requested 5th floor rooms but were told those were not available (my husband was here on business and we wanted on the executive floor for the business and lounge access). They gave us rooms on the 4th floor but would not provide lounge access on the 5th floor. This wasn't much of a problem other than the attitude we received from the young lady working the front desk. She was snide and had extreme attitude. When I picked up our luggage she asked if we wanted a cab called and I reminded her we were just checking in. She rolled her eyes and said it was very unusual to have someone store luggage before checking in. I reminded her that if a rooms not ready it's difficult to put it in our room. Upon going up to the room, the key cards didn't work. Going down yo the desk again, she'd informed me not to store the key cards with our cell phone or credit cards. I reminded her we had just checked in, no storage involved. Her attitude definitely made me have one too, we definitely were not friendly to each other at this point. This one person has influenced my feelings and rating on my stay, one staff person can affect how you view a hotel. If she had been friendly or even helpful I probably wouldn't still be angry over this 24 hours later. She's the only person in my multiple visits to a Cork who has not been friendly and welcoming.

Upon unpacking in the room I found it to be very dusty (see picture). Not a light dust layer but a long term no dust area on the night stand. Even the next day it was apparent they didn't actually move the lamp to dust but dusted around it.

We've stayed at this hotel multiple times and it may be the last time for me. While the Clarion is older, it is well located and they don't seem to have staff with bad attitudes. Plus the rooms were cleaner. I'm hearing there will be a River King (or is) and we may try it as I expect we will be back in Cork on business.

I will say the food at the restaurants is excellent as is the service provided in them.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Rhonda L,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel. I must say I was deeply shocked to learn of your experience on check in. I can honestly say we take our feedback very seriously as we follow up with complaints as soon as they arise. I understand you spoke with Helena our Front Office Manager on check out who assisted you with your complaint.

We truly try our very best to accommodate all requests however our Executive Floor is very popular and quiet often it is fully booked up. On this particular occasion we were completely sold out of all our Executive Rooms and access to the Executive Lounge is exclusive for guests on the Executive Floor.

I would like to assure you that I am very grateful for your review and I sincerely hope to welcome you back again to The River Lee Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This has to be the best hotel in Cork. Upon check-in, the 2 families I was traveling with cancelled their reservations in other hotels IMMEDIATELY, and snagged the last 2 rooms at the River Lee. It is a modern, sleek and beautiful hotel that makes you feel pampered and comfortable immediately. We had drinks and snacks at the outdoor restaurant/bar and even took advantage of access to the pool/health club immediately next door. Its only drawback is not being in central Cork, but rather tucked away on one side of the city, but all the modern comforts are worth the extra walking/taxis required. Highly recommend! Twitter & Instagram: @kmptop10

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmptop10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear kmptop10,

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities and staff. It is very gratifying to know that we exceeded your expectations.

Your wonderful praise is greatly appreciated and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back here again to The River Lee Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Simons Island
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I loved this hotel! The room was wonderful and so very comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful. All the staff were exceptionally helpful and nice and the food was absolutely wonderful!! The breakfast was superb and I looked forward to it each morning. The chef is excellent! I thoroughly enjoyed staying there.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventures60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Adventures60,

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities and staff. It is very gratifying to know that we exceeded your expectations. I will certainly pass on your wonderful feedback regarding our staff and I'm sure they will join me in thanking you for your kind words.

Your wonderful praise is greatly appreciated and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back here again to The River Lee Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great all round experience for family vacation in Cork area. Staff is very helpful. Rooms are spacious and modern. Breakfast buffet on Sunday was excellent. The location is within easy walking distance of the city center. Underground parking is a plus. Well equipped gym. This was our second stay and we hope to return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank IrishBiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear IrishBiker1,

We truly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our hotel facilities and staff. It is very gratifying to know that we exceeded your expectations.
Your wonderful praise is greatly appreciated and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back here again to The River Lee Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Property: The River Lee
Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing